Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

City centre traffic mad due to Challenge Triathlon [Sunday 26th June]

• Registered Users Posts: 12,147 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

I don't think anyone is actually complaining about the closing of a road. It's the lack of notification that's the issue. I was aware of the event taking place but had no idea of the road closures. I went into town about 7pm and it took about and hour to get from oranmore to Eyre square.

Can anyone point out what page of this week advertiser the details of the event, the route and the road closures are on?

Twas in the Independent about a month ago, half a page at least if i remember right, also signs on the Monivea Road, College Rd and Dublin Rd.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,952 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Twas in the Independent about a month ago, half a page at least if i remember right, also signs on the Monivea Road, College Rd and Dublin Rd.

The Galway Independent - have you got any readership figures for that, vs the Advertiser?

As I recall, the few signs around said "Advance notice - road closure" - but everything else on them was too small to read from the bus and from cars. People who did stop to get closer and read them tell me that they just referred to a website.

There were also some basic traffic management things which should have been done and would have made a difference - eg diverting all inbound buses at GMIT to go thru Ballybane, Liosban and Bohermore.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

.. As I recall, the few signs around said "Advance notice - road closure" - but everything else on them was too small to read from the bus and from cars. People who did stop to get closer and read them tell me that they just referred to a website.
    Tis a disgrace and to think Galway is highlighting bilingualism as a key differential in its ECC2020 bid. :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

Were people expected to cut it of and hold it for a month or more?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

The Galway Independent - have you got any readership figures for that, vs the Advertiser?

As I recall, the few signs around said "Advance notice - road closure" - but everything else on them was too small to read from the bus, and thus I guess from cars. People who did stop to get closer and read them tell me that they just referred to a website.

It was in the advertiser a week or 2 ago, a national paper and they had detailed maps on the website. As has been said, it is only 1 day. Yes advance notification boards shud have been up but if the council didn't insist than, they should have. It was the first year of the race. I did it and was very thankful not to have to deal with impatient motorists towards the end of the cycle, when I was getting tired. There was a lot of things they cud have done better but racing in my home town was fantastic. I would rather have the opportunity to do it here where it benefits the city as a whole despite the 1 day of inconvenience, than it be hosted somewhere else. They will learn and hopefully come back next yer better organised. To be fair it was nothing like the level of disruption for the Ironman here a few years ago. City was shut down for the day.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Hadn't it been for the soccer match I doubt we would have had this thread at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

It was in the advertiser a week or 2 ago, a national paper and they had detailed maps on the website. As has been said, it is only 1 day. Yes advance notification boards shud have been up but if the council didn't insist than, they should have. It was the first year of the race. I did it and was very thankful not to have to deal with impatient motorists towards the end of the cycle, when I was getting tired. There was a lot of things they cud have done better but racing in my home town was fantastic. I would rather have the opportunity to do it here where it benefits the city as a whole despite the 1 day of inconvenience, than it be hosted somewhere else. They will learn and hopefully come back next yer better organised. To be fair it was nothing like the level of disruption for the Ironman here a few years ago. City was shut down for the day.

I'm not sure I'd agree with that. I remember the last ironman and it was well run. Plenty of notice of road closures, in fact I think there was even a letter into the homes affected. Also the route for the ironman was much less disruptive. Didn't it keep away from the city centre?? My memory of it was something like salthill for the swim, the cycle ending in nuig and the run to salthill.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,147 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

As I recall, the few signs around said "Advance notice - road closure" - but everything else on them was too small to read from the bus and from cars. People who did stop to get closer and read them tell me that they just referred to a website.

There were also some basic traffic management things which should have been done and would have made a difference - eg diverting all inbound buses at GMIT to go thru Ballybane, Liosban and Bohermore.

I do have readership figures alright and interestingly I've graphs of those who read it versus those who didn't and then went to town yesterday. Or maybe not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭joeKel73

This was a great event for Galway, the first Challenge Family event in Ireland. There was a good field of professional atheletes competing. It brought thousands to the city for the weekend - this was most noticable on Friday evening as a lot of athetes registered and were carrying their Challenge Galway backpacks. If you looked into any cafe and restaurant you'd find a few. You could also spot all the cars with bike racks outside B&Bs and hotels.

I did the half-Ironman distance yesterday and there was great support all along the route. It's a pity the weather didn't play ball, the visitors didn't get the best view of the west.

The city should embrace events like these and encourage them to grow into a big annual event. It's also a great event for young people to get inspired and encouraged into sports (unlike the annual Race Week that takes over the city for 5-7 days).

All that said, despite the event being scheduled for over a year, a lot of the general public didn't seem to be aware of it and even less so the associated road closures. I had contacted the organiser of a market along Cladagh Quay to confirm they knew that road was closing, and the hadn't heard of it. I actually logged on to the forum last night just to confirm the standard "how dare they distrupt my regular schedule" thread had been posted.

It seems the traffic plan and road closure requests were very late getting to the 3 councils. They have to then advertise the plans for a couple of weeks and await feedback before meeting to approve/reject. I suspect Challenge Galway couldn't put up road closure signs until this process was complete and they had a final draft of the plan. In the end they put up generic "Advance Road Closure Notice" signs with a link to a website they could update.

Hopefully this is run again next year and they get their traffic plans submitted early and post large infomative signs on every affected road. They'll also need to review their advertising approach, maybe some large billboards around the city and a big launch event a few weeks beforehand.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

I completely forgot this was on, and spent over an hour on a bus in from Doughiska yesterday. Watched the first half of the match on the phone along with a bunch of Polish and Irish folk, good craic. Considered getting off and asking one of the triathletes cycling past for a crossbar into town, but thought they might consider that a bit cheeky!
    Dublin Rd was absolutely gridlocked, I couldn't believe that none of the car drivers stuck in it would consider turning around and going an alternative route. I'm sure they weren't all heading for destinations along the Dublin Rd, many would have been heading into town or across town - Monivea, Tuam roads or down to Bothar na sTreach would all have been much better options. If people used a bit of common sense the major route affected wouldn't have been half as bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭flazio

gifted wrote: »
    Yeah your right...they did nothing...just stood there and watched people going around in circles and circles and circles.....but your right...they did nothing. ....
    Well what were you expecting? Motorcycle escort through the athletes to your destination? The Guards were on orders to keep the athletes safe. Nothing more. If you had politely asked for advice rather than throwing a tantrum they probably would have helped steer you if they could. If not, you should have noted their shoulder numbers and reported to their officer in charge.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,952 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Zzippy wrote: »
    Considered getting off and

You couldn't have if you tried: the drivers were under strict instructions not to let anyone on or off along the tri-route.

Just to be clear, I'm not anti events in the city. I accept that living in the inner city means I face traffic congestion, night-time road works outside my bedroom window, hours of listening to Rock the Docks and such like.

But I'm totally opposed to inadequate publicity. I'm starting to get more than a bit annoyed with the amount of things that I've experienced lately with no prior notice.

And I make no apologies for giving out about inadequate traffic management when better alternatives existed.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,898 ✭✭✭gifted

flazio wrote: »
    Well what were you expecting? Motorcycle escort through the athletes to your destination? The Guards were on orders to keep the athletes safe. Nothing more. If you had politely asked for advice rather than throwing a tantrum they probably would have helped steer you if they could. If not, you should have noted their shoulder numbers and reported to their officer in charge.

Considering it was a garda traffic division vehicle he was standing next to, I fully expected him to be up to speed on the traffic disruption all around him....however, I'll be sure to keep a look out for the " keep athletes safe" garda vehicle the next time.

I'm all for these events taking place, the more the merrier....I also fully expect a professional approach to the traffic management plan....not the sloppy hap hazard way that took place last Sunday.

flazio wrote: »

Considering it was a garda traffic division vehicle he was standing next to, I fully expected him to be up to speed on the traffic disruption all around him....however, I'll be sure to keep a look out for the " keep athletes safe" garda vehicle the next time.

"The main responsibility of Garda Traffic is to significantly reduce the incidence of fatal and serious injuries and improve road safety."
    http://www.garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=1368

• Registered Users Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

You couldn't have if you tried: the drivers were under strict instructions not to let anyone on or off along the tri-route.

Well our driver clearly didn't heed any such instructions, and tbh he would have been lynched if he refused to let people off. Traffic was at a standstill so it was perfectly safe to do so. I got off early and walked up Bohermore myself.

• Registered Users Posts: 249 ✭✭yaledo

I went with family to the docks to cheer on the athletes. The finish line was hidden from view, in a cordoned-off area which we were told was not open to the public. Surprised & disappointed, we turned around & went home again.

Congrats to the athletes who took part - an amazing achievement.

It feels like the organisers just didn't bother engaging with the people of Galway. Very poor form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Yardleys Lavender

If only there was this much chat about the Challenge before hand, every body would have been wise to the traffic diversions!

From my own point of view the signs out in Oranmore that read about checking out a website to see what was going on was a bit lazy on behalf of the organisers - surely if they just posted up "This road will be closed on Sunday because of such and such" would have granted people enough info to re-route their journeys. I'm not going to remember when I get back home to check out their event.

A few people partaking in an endurance event effected a lot of people who didn't but they also have their own lives to live.

yaledo wrote: »
    I went with family to the docks to cheer on the athletes. The finish line was hidden from view, in a cordoned-off area which we were told was not open to the public. Surprised & disappointed, we turned around & went home again.

The finish was very much open to the public. When and where did you go?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭youngrun

If only there was this much chat about the Challenge before hand, every body would have been wise to the traffic diversions!

From my own point of view the signs out in Oranmore that read about checking out a website to see what was going on was a bit lazy on behalf of the organisers - surely if they just posted up "This road will be closed on Sunday because of such and such" would have granted people enough info to re-route their journeys. I'm not going to remember when I get back home to check out their event.

A few people partaking in an endurance event effected a lot of people who didn't but they also have their own lives to live.

Plenty of info in press free papers and on city council web and social media
    Agree more signs should have been out
    But people need to inform themselves as well about what's going on , its your city
    There were several thousand in town for this between competitors and family and Galway benefits from events like this economically and publicity and tourism wise from what I can see
    Will do well to have it on again so I guess people complaining will get their wish and go back to driving the roads they want into town every Sunday .

• Registered Users Posts: 341 ✭✭jam83

endagibson wrote: »
    An interesting perspective. I take it this applies to all events equally, yes? Don't care what it is, the roads must stay open at all costs.

I admit that was heat of the moment yesterday. I didn't realise the triathlon was as big as it was.
    Main issue as already pointed out was the shoddy info.
    New events are always more than welcome in Galway and I think that we do embrace everything very well, like the food festival in recent years.
    There were great local reactions to the Volvo Ocean race weeks and they were new to the city. But everyone had a heads up beforehand.
    Hopefully if the triathlon is here next year, a bit of OTT blanket coverage will make everyone aware, and nobody can complain if they're stuck in traffic.
    We all know what to expect during the arts festival and especially race week, so if a new event is well flagged beforehand, then all good.

• Registered Users Posts: 249 ✭✭yaledo

J o e wrote: »

Went to Dock Rd & Queen St at about 8pm. It took us a while to figure out where the finish line actually was. Since there were no stewards around & no signage showing the way, I tried asking a few other spectators. One spectator told me the finish line was only open to competitors and their friends & families.

There was lots of space to watch the triathletes running laps around Dock Rd, so we stuck around for a little while to cheer them on.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,445 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Don't forget there's another festival on the Docks this weekend guys. Shouldn't really affect traffic though.

yaledo wrote: »
    J o e wrote: »

Went to Dock Rd & Queen St at about 8pm. It took us a while to figure out where the finish line actually was. Since there were no stewards around & no signage showing the way, I tried asking a few other spectators. One spectator told me the finish line was only open to competitors and their friends & families.

There was lots of space to watch the triathletes running laps around Dock Rd, so we stuck around for a little while to cheer them on.

There was an arched entrance into the village up by the Harbour Hotel end. There were food stalls, tents, stage (used for Rock the Docks) and a big screen (used to show the rugby and soccer).

But I can see why it wouldn't be obvious that the entrance was there if approaching from town, I drive or cycle around by Lough Atalia every day so was familiar with the setup. It was better craic along the road anyway, not much buzz at the finish. The athletes heading out on another lap needed the support more than those finishing too! :p

Hard to know if this event will go again given the huge training commitment and limited market once you do one will you go again ?? . Maybe the half will or an Olympic type tri might get general public interested and work around the salthill area

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭endagibson

told him i had three kids at home and no way of getting to them
    Were your children unsupervised?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭J.pilkington

endagibson wrote: »
    Were your children unsupervised?

1. How is that your business
    2. How is this relevant to this discussion
    3. Why do you need to know
    4. Are you a member of the Internet police

youngrun wrote: »
    Hard to know if this event will go again given the huge training commitment and limited market once you do one will you go again ?? . Maybe the half will or an Olympic type tri might get general public interested and work around the salthill area

There is definitely a market. These distance races are regular events in other cities. You might have noticed some of the full distance athletes with tattoos marking each event they've completed.

A good chunk of the half-distance participants might also make the jump up to the full distance.

There were a good few teething issues from the athletes point of view too, which might put some people off - there's a 300+ post thread on that over here;
    http://www.boards.ie/b/thread/2057443455

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Moo Moo Land

I was a marshal on the full ironman cycle route. I have to see that organisation was chaotic. Is this event coming back next year?

I don't know if that decision has been made yet. Challenge Family have a "TBC" placeholder for the event in "June 2017".

http://www.challenge-family.com/challenge-galway/

I was a marshal on the full ironman cycle route. I have to see that organisation was chaotic. Is this event coming back next year?

Same thing on the run route no marshals at all at key junctions including the turn left onto South park and at Spanish arch . Not good enough . Several went wrong . Apparently loads of marshals pulled out on the day. I guess you have to pay people to do it properly , volunteers are thin on the ground over a full day at this .