Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Simple things that could make cork city better?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 418 ✭✭jack923

In what way would you enhance the city in realistic terms?

A luas style tram would be ideal but too costly for the footfall we have.
    more flowers/potplants/green areas?
    more soulless mccabe/montgomery/cantillon pop up pubs??

The coke bikes have been a great addition. the cycle lanes are a bit of a farce though.

plenty of threads on the the events centre/ pairc.

What does cork lack that other european cities might have?
    an angel of the north in newcastle type statement or piece commissioned to bring further tourism?
    a millenium eye style wheel perhaps?

Perhaps im thinking too large. maybe just a shop tennant for the kylemore cafe in merchants quay, the north main street dunnes to be taken on by someone and quills and other shops on pana to be rejuvanated.

Maybe also fix the bloody pot hole on grand parade.
    The north main street volunteers have admirably gone about their business of bringing life, love and attention to a dilapidated area. thoughts on other ways and means this can be built on? (other then phoning Neil about the bins...)

<SNIP> Cop on, and don't post here again

• Registered Users Posts: 18,292 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

FrStone wrote: »
    A proper big park. Fitzgeralds is too far away and anyone who has ever tried to sit in Bishop Lucey park and have lunch will know it's full of junkies and winos.

While I agree there is a lack of green space in the city, it's hardly a simple fix is it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,278 ✭✭✭mordeith

Lyaiera wrote: »
    What decade are you living in? I knew of one serious Goth in Cork in 1998. The last Goth night (and it didn't just play Goth music) ended with the closing of Henry's.

It's all about the emos

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

mordeith wrote: »
    It's all about the emos

There's no emos either. Seriously people, study your subcultures.

Edit: And that's to say there aren't many internationally recognised subcultures extant in Cork. There's definitely some claim to a subculture by teenagers, but subcultures need a lot more than teenagers to grow and survive, because teenagers most often grow out of subcultures. At best most teenagers could be described as forming some sort of tribe that's related to a broader subcultures.

There's definitely been strong subcultures in Cork. Henry's was hugely influential, with tons of people going through it and a strong Rave based subculture developing. There's good evidence that a rock/metal subculture has been strong in Cork at various points over the past thirty years, although its currently on the wane it may rise again to be significant. There's some punk/anarcho subculture although it's mostly hidden, and it'll stay hidden for another bit with the closure of Cork Community Printmakers (I think that's what it was called, the BYOB(or cans) place that ran gigs.)

There's definitely what could be theoretically considered Irish subcultures, but they're really just facets of Irish culture. There's a strong art community in cork, but that's exactly what it says it is, a community and not a subculture.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭cgcsb

no it has a tourist population 17 times the size of cork. It makes it worthwhile.

are you saying that only tourists eat in restaurants and cafes?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭Bacchus

cgcsb wrote: »
    are you saying that only tourists eat in restaurants and cafes?

I think she/he is (quite obviously) saying that tourism contributes significantly to the customer base of restaurants and cafes and therefore is a factor in why more Dublin businesses have outdoor seating that Cork.

I also think that space is a bit of an issue. Many footpaths outside cafes/restaurants don't allow for outdoor seating. There's still a good few places though that have it... even if it's just a few tables.

• Registered Users Posts: 540 ✭✭✭BUNK1982

A proper big park. Fitzgeralds is too far away and anyone who has ever tried to sit in Bishop Lucey park and have lunch will know it's full of junkies and winos.

A simple fix in that case would be a better Garda presence on the street in and around the city centre?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,311 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Fitzgerald's Park is fine, it attracts a better class of wino.

They don't call the other place the 'P*ss Park' for nothing.
    Having a Garda presence just moves the problem elsewhere, temporarily.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭valoren

Take a cue from the Empire State Building and it's lighting program.
    The building is lit by requests to raise awareness, honour events, or advertise.
    Think the Google Homepage doodle.

The same could be done for the City Hall, the Elysian, County Hall et al.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,311 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

valoren wrote: »
    Take a cue from the Empire State Building and it's lighting program.
    The building is lit by requests to raise awareness, honour events, or advertise.
    Think the Google Homepage doodle.

The same could be done for the City Hall, the Elysian, County Hall et al.

They already do the lighting thing with City Hall, I assume the councillors decide the colours/event.

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭cardinal tetra

BUNK1982 wrote: »
    A simple fix in that case would be a better Garda presence on the street in and around the city centre?

Bulldoze the north side.

Where exactly would this park go? Would you like it constructed from hopes, dreams fluff and pixie dust???

• Registered Users Posts: 635 ✭✭✭ngunners

The simplest thing I'd like is water fountains (with drinking water) in Fitzgerald Park and the Lee Fields. Wrote an email to the council about it but no response...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 470 ✭✭Joe Musashi

Post deleted

Stay out of this thread, if you can't contribute something relevant to the conversation.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,440 ✭✭✭goochy

Post deleted

Do not post in this thread again

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 470 ✭✭Joe Musashi

goochy wrote: »
    SNIP

Don't post in this thread again