Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2016 - Mod Warning Post #6863

• Registered Users Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

bangkok wrote: »
    he is right footed, can play anywhere in the forward positions.

our team will be built to suit mkhitaryan i believe

Ibrahimovic

Martial
    Mkhitarya
    Lozano/Rashford

that front 3 behind Ibra.......Fast young players, cant wait for next season

Why buy a player who impressed as left winger and play then as right winger. Also I'm sure he won't be starting regularly if we sign him. Looks like one for the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

GK David de Gea

Position Player

DF Phil Jones

DF Paddy McNair

DF Marcos Rojo

GK Dean Henderson

FW Memphis Depay

MF Jesse Lingard

MF Juan Mata

DF Matteo Darmian

FW Anthony Martial

DF Donald Love

FW Wayne Rooney (captain)[169]
    DF Axel Tuanzebe

MF Adnan Januzaj

FW Marcus Rashford

DF Chris Smalling (third captain)[170] DF Regan Poole

MF Michael Carrick (vice-captain)[171] DF Tyler Blackett

MF Daley Blind

DF Cameron Borthwick-Jackson

MF Ashley Young

MF Andreas Pereira

FW James Wilson

MF Sean Goss

GK Sergio Romero

MF Joe Rothwell

MF Ander Herrera

MF James Weir

DF Luke Shaw

FW Will Keane

MF Antonio Valencia

DF Joe Riley

MF Marouane Fellaini

GK Sam Johnstone

MF Morgan Schneiderlin
    MF Timothy Fosu-Mensah

DF Guillermo Varela

DF Ro-Shaun Williams

MF Bastian Schweinsteiger
    DF Eric Bailly

FW Zlatan Ibrahimović

our current first team squad, that will definately be trimmed, i expect mata to be gone by end of next week, Ibra is taking no 8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Headshot wrote: »
    I thought he had brains, I was quite wrong

Ah come on!!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

GK David de Gea

Position Player

DF Phil Jones

DF Paddy McNair

DF Marcos Rojo

GK Dean Henderson

FW Memphis Depay

MF Jesse Lingard

MF Juan Mata

DF Matteo Darmian

FW Anthony Martial

DF Donald Love

FW Wayne Rooney (captain)[169]
    DF Axel Tuanzebe

MF Adnan Januzaj

FW Marcus Rashford

DF Chris Smalling (third captain)[170] DF Regan Poole

MF Michael Carrick (vice-captain)[171] DF Tyler Blackett

MF Daley Blind

DF Cameron Borthwick-Jackson

MF Ashley Young

MF Andreas Pereira

FW James Wilson

MF Sean Goss

GK Sergio Romero

MF Joe Rothwell

MF Ander Herrera

MF James Weir

DF Luke Shaw

FW Will Keane

MF Antonio Valencia

DF Joe Riley

MF Marouane Fellaini

GK Sam Johnstone

MF Morgan Schneiderlin
    MF Timothy Fosu-Mensah

DF Guillermo Varela

DF Ro-Shaun Williams

MF Bastian Schweinsteiger
    DF Eric Bailly

FW Zlatan Ibrahimović

our current first team squad, that will definately be trimmed, i expect mata to be gone by end of next week, Ibra is taking no 8.

That's not first team squad, that's first team plus U21 squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Juan Mata is a God. I won't have a bad word said against his beautiful self. :cool:

Giggsy11 wrote: »
    That's not first team squad, that's first team plus U21 squad.

dea gea
    romero

Darmian
    Jones
    Smalling
    Bailly
    Blind
    Rojo
    Shaw
    Fosu Mensah
    Valencia
    McNair
    Varela
    Borthwick Jackson
    Blackett

Carrick
    Schneiderlain
    Schweinsteiger
    Herrera
    Fellaini
    Mata
    Depay
    Young
    Lingard
    Perieria
    Januzaj

Rooney
    Martial
    Rashford
    Ibrahimovic
    Wilson

That is basically our first team then, mkhitaryan to be added to that and looks like Lozano.

Mata out along with 1 or 2 others i would think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

adox wrote: »
    Wouldn't be too upset if Mata goes. Seems like a lovely fella and all but has been hugely underwhelming in his time at Utd. Overpaid for him at the time and if the stories are true, under selling him now, especially in today's market. Nothing new with Utd though on that front.

Will believe it when I see it though.

We had a rubbish history getting value from sales. Considering Mata is clearly surplus to Mourinho requirements, makes it tough to really milk it.

So weird how Real get such high fees for their surplus players, yet we rarely ever get worth.

M!Ck^ wrote: »

Mick...don't ever post Richard Keys as a source for anything, ever...please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭bmcc10

Will Depay be kept?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

bmcc10 wrote: »
    Will Depay be kept?

Will it rain next week?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Pickpocket

Kobe248 wrote: »
    Messi is just as arrogant as Ronaldo and Zlatan

I admit that I don't get to see much Spanish football these days, having got rid of Sky, but I never remember Messi being as petulant or arrogant as Ronaldo on a pitch.

There were times when a Madrid player would score and you could see it in Ronaldo's face that he wanted it for himself, maybe because he was in a better position or on a hat-trick or whatever. Then there's his 'gamesmanship' on the pitch. I never seen that type of thing in Messi.

In what way is Messi as arrogant as Zlatan, for example? We're all well aware of Ibra's quotes and his self-styled legendary status, but have you any examples from Messi?

By the way I'm not trying to catch you out here or anything. I'm genuinely interested in where that criticism of Messi stems from.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

jayo26 wrote: »
    Will it rain next week?

giphy.gif

Will Depay be kept?

I'd hope so. He's clearly a talent.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Bild claim: Mkhitaryan will get an €8 million signing on fee, will get €12.5 million a year and cost €40 million.
    Sport Witness think Dortmund leaked it to the paper.

• Ah lads come on, he has to have a life. We can't expect people to put their lives on hold just because of their profession.

I had the same response when Rory Mcilroy injured his ankle close to the majors. Its a shame, but it was just an unlucky incident.

No I get that.

I'm annoyed simply because I wanted him fit for pre-season and now he's at risk.

*Edit* Apparently he was stung by a Jelly Fish
    Sounds like something that would happen to my great m8 Phil

• TheDoc wrote: »
    Mick...don't ever post Richard Keys as a source for anything, ever...please

I apologize :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Will Depay be kept?

I hope so. He's young and took a while settling into a new league. He was developing a great understanding with Shaw before Shaw's injury. I'd like to see that brought back when appropriate. I think he could still come good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,830 ✭✭✭Cookie_Dough

No I get that.

I'm annoyed simply because I wanted him fit for pre-season and now he's at risk.

Why was he in a neck brace then? :eek: Hopefully he makes a speedy recovery, it can't have been nice

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

No I get that.

I remember this from Friends...pee on the stung area to counteract the sting...looks like he was stung on the head :pac:

MagicIRL wrote: »
    I hope so. He's young and took a while settling into a new league. He was developing a great understanding with Shaw before Shaw's injury. I'd like to see that brought back when appropriate. I think he could still come good.

You'd forget about Shaw almost, having him back will be a huge boost to the squad. He was flying last session before the injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,997 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Rooney, Depay, lingard, fellaini, young, Valencia. All players who would be in competition with Mata and besides Rooney the others are half the player he is.

Pickpocket wrote: »
    I admit that I don't get to see much Spanish football these days, having got rid of Sky, but I never remember Messi being as petulant or arrogant as Ronaldo on a pitch.

There were times when a Madrid player would score and you could see it in Ronaldo's face that he wanted it for himself, maybe because he was in a better position or on a hat-trick or whatever. Then there's his 'gamesmanship' on the pitch. I never seen that type of thing in Messi.

In what way is Messi as arrogant as Zlatan, for example? We're all well aware of Ibra's quotes and his self-styled legendary status, but have you any examples from Messi?

By the way I'm not trying to catch you out here or anything. I'm genuinely interested in where that criticism of Messi stems from.

Messi once spat in another players face, once spat at real madrid bench, spat at mourinhos feet, refused to be substituted in a game, hand picked Barcelona coach Martino for both Barcelona and Argentina, openly defied guardiola at a team meeting, refused to turn up to training nearly causing mutany with Xavi and Iniesta having to get involved and save luis enrique from the sack, tax fraud, fell out with players over not passing the ball including David Villa but he was Blatters pet so was all blown under the carpet etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

I still can't believe he got player of the tournament at Brazil. FIFA definitely bending over backwards to protect the likes of Messi.

yep he was embarassed going up to collect it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Manutd_4life

Food poisoning leading to him fainting. Nothing serious it seems. I'm sure he'll be grand

Rumours linking us with Ruben Neves ! Absolutely FM hero! Make it happen!

• v3ttel wrote: »

:P WTF

Food poising now?

A neck brace is required for a sick stomach!

:P WTF

Food poising now?

A neck brace is required for a sick stomach!

Maybe he got whiplash from violent vomiting. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Seemingly they saying he faint due to food poisoning so maybe he did bang his head. He is OK now though Manchester United have said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,595 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

TheDoc wrote: »
    Rumours linking us with Ruben Neves ! Absolutely FM hero! Make it happen!

OJogo are reporting it in Portugal.. IIRC they were the crowd that report rojo to us before everyone else.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭Cotts72

astradave wrote: »
    OJogo are reporting it in Portugal.. IIRC they were the crowd that report rojo to us before everyone else.

Lozano and Neves....Football Manager heroes..all we are short now is Eder Balanta! Neves and Pogba would seriously boost the midfield ranks. Seen us linked with Lass Diarra also today

Cotts72 wrote: »
    Lozano and Neves....Football Manager heroes..all we are short now is Eder Balanta! Neves and Pogba would seriously boost the midfield ranks. Seen us linked with Lass Diarra also today

haha Mourinho building the ultimate real life FM team.

Quadruples for the next four years !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,006 ✭✭✭beno619

TheDoc wrote: »
    We had a rubbish history getting value from sales. Considering Mata is clearly surplus to Mourinho requirements, makes it tough to really milk it.

So weird how Real get such high fees for their surplus players, yet we rarely ever get worth.

Its not clear at all. Its just an assumption based on what happened at Chelsea.

Which is the same "logic" journalists are using to write transfer stories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I think we buy another few yet.

Few will have to go

I hope Mata is not one.

Please Don't Go
    I want you to stay

Well M.E.N reporting Zlatan is NOT getting Mata's number. Nothing really mentioned it the story but one can live in hope that he's staying or will at least be given a chance.

Edit: he's a link to story but no sources mentioned http://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/sport/football/man-utd-ibrahimovic-shirt-number-11562562

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,640 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

What the F is that about?

He gets stung by a jellyfish while suffer on holiday, therefore he is an idiot?

FFS.

This is confusing me

why does he need a neck brace and a bandage around the head if he was stung by a jelly fish.

And now its food poisoning?

This is confusing me

why does he need a neck brace and a bandage around the head if he was stung by a jelly fish.

Maybe he was eating a jellyfish while balancing on one leg and fell.The jellyfish poisoned him and the fall injured him :D

This is confusing me

he fainted from food poisoning the story reports and the neck brace was for precaution

Messi once spat in another players face, once spat at real madrid bench, spat at mourinhos feet, refused to be substituted in a game, hand picked Barcelona coach Martino for both Barcelona and Argentina, openly defied guardiola at a team meeting, refused to turn up to training nearly causing mutany with Xavi and Iniesta having to get involved and save luis enrique from the sack, tax fraud, fell out with players over not passing the ball including David Villa but he was Blatters pet so was all blown under the carpet etc etc

The tax-fraud doesn't interest me because it's endemic but the rest of that represents a damning indictment of his personality, and of Barca as well for letting him forget his place within the club.

In fairness I had heard about one incident of spitting before but I didn't realise he flexed his authority to such an extent.

He obviously has (or had) a keen sense of what he's worth to Barcelona. It's a shame they didn't call his bluff. That clip of Enrique is hard to watch. He looks powerless.

I hate that type of thing and it's why players like Ibra concern me (although I'm not suggesting he's ever done anything similar). United have always had big personalities within the club, but it feels like that energy was always dealt with in the correct way. Or maybe Fergie just kept it under control. I dread to think of a United player throwing their weight around the club like that, no matter who or how good they are. Some of the rumours about Rio and Giggs during the Moyes era really pissed me off, notwithstanding the fact that it must have been a horrible period within the team. I think we were spoiled with Ferguson for so long. All of the mutinies seemed to happen at other clubs. I wonder how we'll react as fans if one of our future superstars starts pulling stunts like that? Refusing to substituted, etc. I'd like to think he'd be out on his ear.

Anyway, thanks for that. My little Leo has a few skeletons in his closet.

This is confusing me

To be honest I felt the statement was accurate enough in stating they would be investigating. While it "looks" like Smalling, doesn't appear overly conclusive.

If that was Smalling photographed they could just be clear about it. Or he himself could be.

I'm not seeing why this is a deal anyway.

This is The Sun level of interest
    England flop stung for second time in a week

And regarding Messi, he is a little snake. No one should be taken as surprised by it. I thought Rooney was bad holding us to ransom until I read about what Messi has done at Barca and in the Argentinian squad.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

Messi on Alexi Sanchez "Considering how bad you are, I've no idea how you cost so much," and, "Stop shooting so much and give me the ball."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

So he got food poising by eating a Jelly Fish, fainting and damaging his neck !!:pac:

syngindub wrote: »
    So he got food poising by eating a Jelly Fish, fainting and damaging his neck !!:pac:

While surfing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭bmcc10

zorro2566 wrote: »

All the talk last season how he was so mature already with his family and how Fergie would have loved him, One year with Giggs and it's all gone downhill.

He has two brothers, apparently. I'd say the one with the ugliest girlfriend is breathing a sigh of relief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,006 ✭✭✭beno619

Pickpocket wrote: »
    In fairness I had heard about one incident of spitting before but I didn't realise he flexed his authority to such an extent.

I hate that type of thing and it's why players like Ibra concern me (although I'm not suggesting he's ever done anything similar). United have always had big personalities within the club, but it feels like that energy was always dealt with in the correct way. Or maybe Fergie just kept it under control. I dread to think of a United player throwing their weight around the club like that, no matter who or how good they are. Some of the rumours about Rio and Giggs during the Moyes era really pissed me off, notwithstanding the fact that it must have been a horrible period within the team. I think we were spoiled with Ferguson for so long. All of the mutinies seemed to happen at other clubs. I wonder how we'll react as fans if one of our future superstars starts pulling stunts like that? Refusing to substituted, etc. I'd like to think he'd be out on his ear.

Anyway, thanks for that. My little Leo has a few skeletons in his closet.

What video of Enrique ?

I think a lot of the stuff written about Rio & Giggs over Moyes has been disproven ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Mikeyt086 wrote: »
    The_Kew_Tour pulled you up on the last part of your post, but I feel compelled to pull you up on the first two, which are equally if not more ridiculous.

Never got the Mata love.

Really?

You don't understand why one of the single most ****ing interesting players in the sport of football today,who above all else genuinely cares about the history of the club he plays for, who regularly engages with his fans via a number of mediums to talk about his love for the city of Manchester and it's many interesting historical landmarks, and his love of music, vintage cars, and other sports, who writes a weekly blog allowing fans a view to his thoughts as a footballer for Manchester United and signs off with 'hugs'... Gets a lot of love?

You don't know why fans love a player who is completely and utterly adorable in his friendships with other members of the squad, and has the most calming voice ever spoken in a post match interview, and has GQ dress sense to match his perfectly groomed hair and beard in a sea of ****e haircuts and those sweatpants with a massive saggy arse, and represents Manchester United like an absolute gentleman who never speaks out in the press and actively despises the agents that are ruining the modern game?

You can't fathom why a player who above all else is a technically brilliant footballer who showcases a touch smoother than a galaxy caramel, an eye for a pass, and a tasty dead ball, who while, granted, he hasn't lived up to potenital we all believed he possessed since signing, has scored in some of our very biggest games since his arrival at the club?

Whatever about not being too high on him yourself, to say you don't understand why others have taken to him is baffling.

No significant contribution for his price tag.

Bollocks.

Firstly, we overpaid for him because we were utterly desperate having shown ourselves to be utter amateurs in the transfer market, to hold that against him is, again, baffling. We also overpaid for... The vast majority of our signings since Dwight Yorke.

And as for no significant contributions? He scored the ****ing equalising goal in an FA Cup final we went on to win in extra time not 6 weeks ago!!

He also created an unforgettable moment at Anfield with a sublime acrobatic goal, his second of the game, in a 2-1 win... Not to mention the major role he played in that purple patch of form that ensured our top 4 finish last year.

He's scored 21 Premier League goals in 86 games for us. That's a goal every four games, and then he has assists to factor in too, all the while considering that he has only played a handful of games in his best position, never playing in a system that suits his style of play.

Has he been as good as I thought he would be when he signed him? No.

Has he been a very valuable player to have these last two and a half years? Yes.

Has he been a joy to support as a fan? More than I could have ever imagined.

Did your post need such a drawn out response? No, but I haven't posted here in ages and I used to do this ****e all the time so I said **** it, don't disrespect Juan with a throwaway comment.

How do I feel about him potentially being sold? I'm fine with it. If he can't get first team football and Jose doesn't want him around, he deserves to play, I hope he goes to Real Oviedo to be totally honest but I know that's not likely.

Will I miss him if he leaves? You bet your ass I will. No other player gives back to the fans as much as he does, and no other player gives me the feeling that he genuinely cares for the history of the club, apart from Patrice Evra.

Plus he arrived to sign in a ****ing helicopter.

dcfc44c2fce17472570b638a0542a3e5.png

There aren't a lot of footballers like Juan Mata. I'm glad we have him but would wish him well if he were to move on.

Hugs,

Mikey.

Thank you for taking the time to make your post.