Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2016 - Mod Warning Post #6863

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Lads.

In less than twenty four hours, Jose Mourinho will lead United out as manager.

That still hasn't quite sunk in yet :o

• Registered Users Posts: 33,755 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Lord TSC wrote: »
    Lads.

Thank God for that, the way the world is gone, we need something to distract us.

It will be good to see who he plays...

Maybe 3M in behind a striker...
    ........Wilson/Keane.......
    Memphis...Mata...Micki

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Lads.

I've actually never been so excited for a pre-season game. Be mental seeing him on the sideline. Also looking forward to see what shape some of the players are, and get a feel for what our formation will look like.

A lot of assumptions about 4-2-3-1, wouldn't be surprised to see his Chelsea MK1 4-3-3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

I'm in Manchester tomorrow. Flying out at 6:10. Match is in Wigan. Could just about catch it. Do I get a ticket?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,850 ✭✭✭Julez

I'm in Manchester tomorrow. Flying out at 6:10. Match is in Wigan. Could just about catch it. Do I get a ticket?

The old Jimmy would have, that's all I'm sayin'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

RobertKK wrote: »
    Thank God for that, the way the world is gone, we need something to distract us.

It will be good to see who he plays...

Maybe 3M in behind a striker...
    ........Wilson/Keane.......
    Memphis...Mata...Micki

Surely he will play Ashley Young up front....

Oh yhhhh lvg is gone woooohoooooo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Anyone else going for the Southampton game?? Can't bloody wait have it all booked first time going over in 3 year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

I will cry if Blind is anywhere near centre back next season.

I'll be astonished if Mourhino picks him there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Julez wrote: »
    The old Jimmy would have, that's all I'm sayin'.

You've convinced me :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭Thibus

Is the match being televised tomorrow on the regular sports channels or mutv only?

Thibus wrote: »
    Is the match being televised tomorrow on the regular sports channels or mutv only?

MUTV only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,949 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Nani's unveiling at Valencia was unique

https://twitter.com/FootballVines/status/753940200313778176

• Registered Users Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭NoviGlitzko

Mars Bar wrote: »
    As soon as I see capoeira I think of this guy:

latest?cb=20131031210219&path-prefix=en

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭Thibus

MUTV only.

Ah nuts. Thanks for letting me know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

adox wrote: »
    I will cry if Blind is anywhere near centre back next season.

I'll be astonished if Mourhino picks him there.

Why? He was very good there last season

I always get confused by the disparity between views of how Smalling and Blind got on last season. One is lauded as a top level talent and our best player of the year, and the other seems to get a metric tonne of criticism for not being good enough. For me, the two (along with the defensive mindset from the bench) were close to the same level, in that they could (as a unit) be very defensively sound and they could also both make decisions that led to goals.

Not saying Blind was top class, mind, but then I don't think Smalling was either (I think our defense was "good" because often we had 8 or 9 men defending, which made the center backs look better than they were). Just that they should really get similar levels of praise and criticism, given that they were a defensive unit together for 90% of the games last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I always get confused by the disparity between views of how Smalling and Blind got on last season. One is lauded as a top level talent and our best player of the year, and the other seems to get a metric tonne of criticism for not being good enough. For me, the two (along with the defensive mindset from the bench) were close to the same level, in that they could (as a unit) be very defensively sound and they could also both make decisions that led to goals.

Not saying Blind was top class, mind, but then I don't think Smalling was either (I think our defense was "good" because often we had 8 or 9 men defending, which made the center backs look better than they were). Just that they should really get similar levels of praise and criticism, given that they were a defensive unit together for 90% of the games last season.

Its simply an assessment of which would be better without those 8/9 players helping them out. We can see that Smalling is a better defender than Blind, call it opinion if you want but to me its clear, so if we need defenders in a team that will hopefully be attacking more, that won't have 10 men behind the ball, then I'd have far more faith in Smalling than Blind.

Of course Jose won't be totally gung ho either but the point still stands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

bangkok wrote: »
    Why? He was very good there last season

I don't think he was. He's not a CB. Jose has said already he will play "specialist" players in positions.

I really hope the days of Blind at CB, Rooney in CM, Ashley Young as CF are well and truly behind us and I believe they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

Mars Bar wrote:
    Nani's unveiling at Valencia was unique

Jaysus above
    The mad basket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,621 ✭✭✭caviardreams

Totally agree that Blind at CB is far from ideal, and we should be aiming for a world class CB as first choice. But I do think he is a good option there as second choice and it's a long season, with the potential for injuries and suspensions.

His intelligence and passing brings a lot, even though he lacks pace and height. I certainly would not be terrified seeing his name on the teamsheet at CB against a good tranche of mid-level teams. Would much rather see him start at CB over Rojo for example.

Lord TSC wrote:

That's the boy TSC

Smalling started like a house on fire but got gradually worse as the season went on to the point Daley was better at the end of the season

Smalling ended the season like the Smalling of old... liable to a brain fart at any point and almost cost us the fa cup.. og v everton and sent off in the final...

If that's our first choice and central defensive lynchpin we may all give up... the only difference between Mike and Jones is Mike stays clear of injuries

Just my tuppence worth

• Registered Users Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭Korat

It's a new dawn, it's a new day, it's a new life for Manchester United.

Feeling good. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Lovely touch whatisname

Its simply an assessment of which would be better without those 8/9 players helping them out. We can see that Smalling is a better defender than Blind, call it opinion if you want but to me its clear, so if we need defenders in a team that will hopefully be attacking more, that won't have 10 men behind the ball, then I'd have far more faith in Smalling than Blind.

Of course Jose won't be totally gung ho either but the point still stands.

Not going to disagree. I'd be happier with Smalling & A.N.Other as our starting line up, and I'd agree he is a better defender overall than Blind (especially since Blind really isn't a defender).

My point is...Its not so much that people rate Smalling as better than Blind, but that the two seemed to get placed on extreme ends of the spectrum to each other (one being considered for POTS, the other seemingly having the popular opinion that they should be sold, not just benched but outright dispensed of), when I think that their performance over the last season were far closer to each other's than such a divide implies. The two, to me, went hand in hand last season so I find it odd that there's such a massive, massive disparity between how the two are looked at in the context of the last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,205 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

I thought Blind was our player of the season last year.

Crazy to get rid of a player like him who can do a job in numerous positions.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,752 ✭✭✭Thepoet85

Lucas Hood wrote: »

Martial for me. Can't wait to see what he can do this year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭irishchris

Thepoet85 wrote: »
    Martial for me. Can't wait to see what he can do this year :)

Memphis for me this season I reckon. People will scoff at me for it but under Jose I hope he is given the time to show his quality

• Registered Users Posts: 441 ✭✭hogandrew

Lucas Hood wrote: »

If he's willing to sit on the bench and be moved around like that. To develop as a player he could do with nailing down a position but players like that are very important if you can keep hold of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

From Philib De Bruin,he did this via periscope rather than a tweet.In fairnessto him,he seems to have good contacts and gets a good bit spot on.
    Pogba will be done in next one and half week barring something out of the ordinary. (just like reports today about raiola setting a deadline of 1 august for future to be sorted
    United will try to sign matuidi no matter who is sold
    Bastian to leave to go back to germany, januzaj, wilson, pererra to go on loan,Young mata,valencia,fellaini fighting for futures
    Sergio romero to leave, rooney to start season on bench and may be sold if he causes problems in media as he has many friends(Basically casillias him, i think most united fans will be happy with that)
    Jones considered important and Mourinho thinks he can get him fit, it is his last chance this season.
    Depay. darmian also get last chances. Mata may stay if no suitable buyer for atleast 25 million not found.He will be squad player

To add to this:

- Fee for Pogba is for his potential, he's not the finished article. Also he is not 'desperate' to join United but has agreed to.
    - Schweinsteiger will leave because he is no longer physically capable of playing in a Mourinho midfield.
    - Mata might leave but is not an 'easy player to sell'. If he stays he won't be a starter.
    - Januzaj has a 'horrible' attitude. Was very rude to some fans apparently.
    - Rooney could lose captaincy. If he does he expects Rooney to get 'nasty' with his leaks. Rooney is a big negative for the dressing room if he is not happy. High potential of clash with Mourinho who expects total loyalty from players.
    - Tuanzebe will be in the first team squad and get some game time.
    - Another 2-3 players might come in after Pogba but they won't be big signings and it's dependent on who we sell.

• Registered Users Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

Rooney to start season on bench and may be sold if he causes problems in media as he has many friends(Basically casillias him, i think most united fans will be happy with that)
    Rooney could lose captaincy. If he does he expects Rooney to get 'nasty' with his leaks. Rooney is a big negative for the dressing room if he is not happy. High potential of clash with Mourinho who expects total loyalty from players.

José ain't ****ing about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,621 ✭✭✭caviardreams

That comment re Januzaj could make sense and explain LVG shipping him out on loan so suddenly.

Who is De Bruin and why should I believe him? (Genuine question. I want to believe him)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,652 ✭✭✭✭Sand

If last season taught us anything it is that Rooney is finished as a first team player at a top level club. Either he sits quietly on the bench, tries to play his way back into the team and collects his cheque at the end of the week or he packs his bags and goes. I was worried Jose might not feel secure enough to bench Rooney in his first season, but the noises coming out of the camp sound encouraging.

• Registered Users Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Delboy5

I was just about to post about de brun too, has had lots right in the past on united and has excellent contacts...

Pogba is coming home....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,460 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

So if Rooney is expected to be trouble and won't be a first choice, why wait?

Get rid now.

Outstanding young man,is our Luke!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Mars Bar wrote: »

That is actually gas. Fair play to him for agreeing to do it. He's probably still on cloud 9 after winning the euros..... Maybe even a bit drunk :)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

DrPhilG wrote: »
    So if Rooney is expected to be trouble and won't be a first choice, why wait?

Get rid now.

Jose: "Ed get me China on the phone"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

Mourinho said in his first press conference that he doesn't think Bailly is ready for the Premier League yet. Andy Mitten said when he was signed that his sources said Bailly was signed for the future and that Utd would also be in for another center half.

That's not what he said. He said there was a question mark over if he was ready to make an impact on day one and also with the expectations of a club like United, and it was up to Mourinho to help him remove that question mark.

That doesn't translate into "not ready for the Premier League" IMHO. What I took from that is "don't expect miracles straight away". Why would we spend £30m on a player to sit on the bench? He's not going to improve picking splinters out of his arse.

Unless Bailly has a disasterous pre-season, we buy another CB, or we have injuries, I can't see Jones starting regularly at CB. I might be totally wrong about that...

Jose: "Ed get me China on the phone"

Chinese window shuts tonight so wouldn't get hopes up there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

If Rooney can't get on board with being a squad player he needs to be chucked out before the season begins.

https://twitter.com/guardian_sport/status/754061892839174144

Mahrez wants to leave Leicester,should we go for him despite having Micky in the team now?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,366 ✭✭✭Robson99

zerks wrote: »
    From Philib De Bruin,he did this via periscope rather than a tweet.In fairnessto him,he seems to have good contacts and gets a good bit spot on.

Really hope what he is saying about the dead wood and trouble maker is true. If it isn't happening Jose way then move them on and freshen up. Can see Rooney, Janazuai, Depay, Fellani, Mata, Young, Rojo and Schweinstiger gone before the end of next summer

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Mahrez wants to leave Leicester,should we go for him despite having Micky in the team now?

Mickey Ryan can play in the No 10 role, Ricky Maher can play on the right

• Registered Users Posts: 4,366 ✭✭✭Robson99

Yes because Mata and Janazuai have no future under Murhino and Mahrez is a better player for the right than either of those

MUTV will be FTA between 12.30 and 1.30 tomorrow before kick off in the Wigan game.

Ibra
    Martial - Mkhitaryan - Mahrez
    Pogba - Matuidi
    Shaw - Smalling - Jones - Darmian
    De Gea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,652 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Ibra
    Martial - Mkhitaryan - Mahrez
    Pogba - Matuidi
    Shaw - Smalling - Jones - Darmian