Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best hangover cures?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Fruit, and second sleep.
    I cannot understand how people can mow into pizzas, left over takeaway, greasy fruit and fizzy drinks. On top of a hangover? Barrrrrrf!!!!

Chop up an apple, Banana, some grapes, strawberries, and some frozen yogurt/Greek yogurt over it, and go back to bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

I always had a massive appetite after a night out but found it prolonged the suffering, what I found worked best was to try and get out of bed as soon as I woke up and go for a walk

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

One thing that tends to have a positive impact on me is that I try and sober up before I fall asleep.
    So you've gone far too hard at the booze then just wait up drinking the water for a half hour, re-thinking your life, googling how to join the priesthood etc. If you go to bed and fall asleep rather than pass out into a booze coma it's gonna stand to you a little better in the morning.

I never tried the dioralyte. That sounds like a runner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Anyone else find drinking vodka it seems to make you drunker as you sleep?
    So when you fall asleep your drunk but when you wake up you're paralethic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I always found that a good feed from the chipper after the pub and drink plenty during the night and you'll be grand the next day.

Failing that, just keep drinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Being serious...Diorolyte with a pint of water, preferably before bed but still good in the morning. Hangovers are essentially dehydration, with the above specifically designed to combat that

Was gonna post this too. I tried it last weekend after a big party and it worked a treat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

Nurofen, eggs and bacon. And coffee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,467 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

star bar and a strawberry yop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

salmocab wrote: »
    star bar and a strawberry yop

used to cure with yops or strawberry milk until one day i combined a yazoo with a sausage sandwich.

projectile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭scdublin

Bacon sandwich if you can stomach it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Ginger biscuits for the rolling stomach

Honey for the headache

Water painkillers & sleep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Walter H Price

a chicken fillet roll and more drink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

jaysus - I've tried all of these cures at one point or another and nothing seems to work.

I could go out tonight and drink 20 pints and wake up a bit tired tomorrow or I could go out tonight and drink 5 pints and spend tomorrow puking like a mofo and clutching the jax crying like a baby (and as I get older it lasts into the late eve now too ). 2 weeks ago I had a few beers and was puking so bad I puled all the muscles in my stomach retching. Last Friday I went for a good few, drank a fairly decent mixture of things and was up at 8 as fresh as a ( fairly old ) daisy.
    I never know which I am going to get and I cannot for the life of me figure out what the difference between 0 - and the mother of all hangovers is.

But what I was really here for is a cure when I am puking- anyone any clue for the man who simply cannot hold anything down when they have a hangover ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭mimimcmc

My fave cure is about 24 hours sleep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Story Bud?

Yesterday there was absolutely no cure whatsoever. Ruined an otherwise perfect weekend by going overboard on Saturday night and into the wee hours of Sunday morning. Was so so so sick all day yesterday and felt like someone was squishing my brain in a vice grips. Thoroughly enjoyed the five hour drive home in the back of a pick up truck too. Worst day ever.

If it's just a hangover headache, then a bottle of corona is just the ticket - rarely drink the stuff otherwise but works great as a curer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭SlipperyPeople

Big sandwich, solpadeine and back to sleep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭CantonasCollar

A sachet of Tesco recovery powders and 2 paracetamol before bed usually prevents a hangover. If I have gone a bit OTT with the beer then a McDonald's is also required

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Drink insane amounts of water when you get home. I drink about 2 litres when Im home, and then bring some more upstairs to drink if I wake up with dry mouth in the nighttime .Absolutely zero hangover ever. Drinking the water is horrible but its worth it overall I think. Drink it lukewarm by putting some hot water in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Different things work for different people. Normally water before bed. Tablet in the morning with coffee and a fry up within 60 minutes of waking up will solve things for me. A bottle of coke if things are bad.

Unless I have had redbull-vodka the night before.....if that has happened then I am beyond saving.

One thing I can't do when I'm hungover is drink tea. And I drink a fcuk ton of tea every other day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

Shower, fry, tea, joint. If that fails more alcohol, preferably Bavaria.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

A good mass.

Went home after work yesterday evening and I made a chocolate sundae and watched 4 episodes of Game of Thrones. Mother of jesus the ice cream was unreal. Definitely helped with day 2 of the hangover.

never drinking again and all that jazz....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

wakka12 wrote: »
    Drink insane amounts of water when you get home. I drink about 2 litres when Im home, and then bring some more upstairs to drink if I wake up with dry mouth in the nighttime .Absolutely zero hangover ever. Drinking the water is horrible but its worth it overall I think. Drink it lukewarm by putting some hot water in

I know water helps to a certain extent, but surely this has you up all night p*ssing?
    I don't think there is any cure except drinking less and drinking slower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Maxi Twist tub of ice cream and a packet of buffalo Hunky Dorys later on washed down with a bottle of Rock Shandy!

kfallon wrote: »
    Maxi Twist tub of ice cream and a packet of buffalo Hunky Dorys later on washed down with a bottle of Rock Shandy!

So like it has to be that particular ice cream? Do other flavours of Hunky Dory's work? What if I had lemon instead of Rock Shandy??? Is this all you have to eat for your hangover to be completely gone??? Even if I was drinking till 3am and in work at 9am that morning??

Seriously why do people post this nonsense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

So like it has to be that particular ice cream? Do other flavours of Hunky Dory's work? What if I had lemon instead of Rock Shandy??? Is this all you have to eat for your hangover to be completely gone??? Even if I was drinking till 3am and in work at 9am that morning??

Yes that particular ice cream, then those exact crisps and lemon won't work, it has to be Rock Shandy cos the combination of all 3 releases so many endorphins in me that my hangover is completely gone....in seconds!

But you wouldn't know that, cos you're not me. And you have no idea what works for me either. So why don't you just take your opinion and shove it up your hole....thanks :)

I know water helps to a certain extent, but surely this has you up all night p*ssing?
    I don't think there is any cure except drinking less and drinking slower.

I drink an awful lot of water and now I can hold a lot of water in my body. When I was younger I wanted to be healthier or some **** so I thought drinking pints and pints of water would help, I would be pissing every 20 minutes at the begining of this water binge but your bladder must expand eventually or something. Or maybe I can hold more cause Im older now but I could drink 2 or more litres of water without pissing for hours now, one of my many talents:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

I drink an awful lot of water and now I can hold a lot of water in my body. When I was younger I wanted to be healthier or some **** so I thought drinking pints and pints of water would help, I would be pissing every 20 minutes at the begining of this water binge but your bladder must expand eventually or something. Or maybe I can hold more cause Im older now but I could drink 2 or more litres of water without pissing for hours now, one of my many talents:pac:

Back on topic please!

Its tips for hangover cures! expand your bladders,guys

My bladder seems to be getting worse as I get older. I can't even look at a glass of water without needing to p*ss these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

Its tips for hangover cures! expand your bladders,guys

Lol sorry I was just joking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Original Hula Hoops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Tilikum

A beer.

This is without doubt the best cure. Two or three pints are you're good to go again.

will ya relax the kacks there Mr Crayfish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Why do you get so wound up about it?

Anyway, you're a medical man, what's your brilliant cure?

Why do you get so wound up about it?

Anyway, you're a medical man, what's your brilliant cure?

Well, there is no cure. So I do get wound up when people say things like a Moro bar and a can of Fanta. How could that fix poisoning your body for hours? Also this subject comes up every few months on boards and it's the same ridiculous responses. And also I feel like sh*t still from Saturday night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

There's no cure but there are things that make you feel better. For me it's just drink a sickening amount of water in a short space, eat something, and wait an hour or two and start to feel much better. It's not a 'cure', it's about getting to a point where you feel OK.

Different things are obviously gonna work for different people. I know someone who swears the secret after a heavy session is a vitamin c tablet before bed. :rolleyes:

But if it works, placebo or otherwise....

And also I feel like sh*t still from Saturday night.

You should try having a moro and a can of fanta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭MrMojoRising

Story Bud? wrote: »

Or a twix and a Lilt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭BetsyEllen

First things first, brush your teeth - get rid of the god awful taste in your mouth

Then:

Nurofen
    Sex
    McChicken Sandwich
    Coke with lots of ice
    Twister ice lolly
    Lucozade Original
    Lots of pillows to prop you up in bed whilst you watch some crap film on TV

Story Bud? wrote: »

I should try giving up drinking forever which I was doing well with for a while!

You and me both dude.

I like having a few pints though, I really do.

For me I think the best way to alleviate the worst of the hang over symptoms has always been to jump into the sea for a swim. Colder the better.

Which worked great when I was in college since I was much closer to the sea.

Now I live a bit further inland so it's less of an option - which is maybe part of the reason(s) I do not drink so much these days.
    talkto wrote: »
    So jealous of all those people who claim to have their hangovers cured by eating junk food.

Back when I did have a lot of hang overs I do remember Rancheroes being the junk food of choice for getting something into me. They seemed to be the easiest thing to stomach during even the worst retch-fest of hang overs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Well, there is no cure. So I do get wound up when people say things like a Moro bar and a can of Fanta. How could that fix poisoning your body for hours? Also this subject comes up every few months on boards and it's the same ridiculous responses. And also I feel like sh*t still from Saturday night.

If threads about cures for a hangover bother you, you probably shouldn't have clicked on a thread titled best cure for a hangover. Unless you just wanted to be offended. Wait...is THAT the best cure for a hangover? A little tantrum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

A can of Tanora and a Caramac. Seriously, it works.

I never heard of those products. Are they barbiturates of some kind?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 carlo5

Swimming pool and lots of water (to drink).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

kfallon wrote: »
    Nerdlingr wrote: »
    Original Hula Hoops
    Or a twix and a Lilt

please tell me what level of nancy ass drinking session does a MaxiTwist or packet of Hula Hoops cure the hangover from ?

We are talking about an grown ups booze hangover right ?
    Or are we discussing what yer mammy gives you on the way home from creche if you get a sugar crash before she tucks you in?

RobAMerc wrote: »
    please tell me what level of nancy ass drinking session does a MaxiTwist or packet of Hula Hoops cure the hangover from ?

We are talking about an grown ups booze hangover right ?
    Or are we discussing what yer mammy gives you on the way home from creche if you get a sugar crash before she tucks you in?

Oh lads look at this big boy who can drink seventeen pints, a shoulder of whiskey, and three jaegerbombs and can only be cured with a trip to A&E, and IV, and a stomach pump.

He's a real man.