Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SQL table overwriting data

Options
  • 03-07-2016 10:00pm
    Registered Users Posts: 6,487 ✭✭✭

Hi everyone I am a relative SQL newbie and I am updating an existing SQL database. I added a new table and my data is being stored however only on row 1 (so the data is constantly overwritten).

Anyone know what I might be doing wrong? The table has 3 columns which are start time end time and tank name.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 552 ✭✭✭sbs2010

kingtut wrote: »
    Hi everyone I am a relative SQL newbie and I am updating an existing SQL database. I added a new table and my data is being stored however only on row 1 (so the data is constantly overwritten).

Anyone know what I might be doing wrong? The table has 3 columns which are start time end time and tank name.

What is the statement you are running - the statement that you think should be inserting but you're finding is updating the single row?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,487 ✭✭✭kingtut

sbs2010 wrote: »
    What is the statement you are running - the statement that you think should be inserting but you're finding is updating the single row?

I'm sorry I don't fully understand what you mean by a statement?

If it helps I am using Factory talk transaction manager to grab data from a PLC and then storing it in SQL.

For example I would expect the SQL table to look like:

Row 1: 11:00 11:30 Tank 1
    Row 2: 14:00 14:20 Tank 5

but all I see is one row of data so based on the above example my table currently shows

Row 1: 14:00 14:20 Tank 5

• Registered Users Posts: 22,317 ✭✭✭✭Esel