Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tell us about your new improved government regulations compliant cycle part II

• Registered Users Posts: 3,113 ✭✭✭mr spuckler

It is very extremely close out there. I was in behind a bus this morning on O'Connell Bridge, when it moved off it blasted out a ton of black smoke and covered me. I was right in line with the bloomin' exhaust.

I had the joy of a bin truck passing me out 3 times, each time resulted in him going no further and me having a stretch of cycling behind the truck on a warm day :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

good god, it's muggy out there this morning. i dialled it back a bit on the commute but still arrived into work in a lather.

at one point on the way in, just south of the east link, a cement truck braked hard in front of me for no apparent reason. it was only a second or two later i realised why, he braked to avoid running over a foolhardy squirrel.

Just reminded me of this old classic

562411d9d3785.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

https://www.strava.com/activities/1608255178

When you're on the threshold of near exact perfect stats, you gotta do what you gotta do :pac::o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 480 ✭✭ewc78

I'm not a cyclist really, more of a runner. Only have a cheapo Carrera road bike from Halfords. Got a notion today to go for a cycle as I've been thinking about incorporating cycling into my Marathon training as a form of cross training. Anyway I cycled around the Phoenix Park and really really enjoyed it. Cycled about 30km and averaged 25kph.
    Found the hills around Military Road and Upper Glen road a lot harder on a bike than running up them!
    If I continue to cycle more I will probably upgrade the bike.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,353 ✭✭✭positron

ewc78 wrote:
    I'm not a cyclist really, more of a runner. Only have a cheapo Carrera road bike from Halfords. Got a notion today to go for a cycle as I've been thinking about incorporating cycling into my Marathon training as a form of cross training. Anyway I cycled around the Phoenix Park and really really enjoyed it. Cycled about 30km and averaged 25kph. Found the hills around Military Road and Upper Glen road a lot harder on a bike than running up them! If I continue to cycle more I will probably upgrade the bike.

It's a slippery slope, before you know you will be cycling at every opportunity at the cost of running. :)

My wallet misses my running days :D

• Registered Users Posts: 16,750 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Spin to drop one bike to LBS while collecting race bike from LBS....

Expensive times these days....

I went into town for pints last night and used a Dublin bike, while trundling along the seat post dropped and I had a huge moment on Westmoreland Street. Gas for anybody watching, the seatpost clamp had broken

• Registered Users Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

ewc78 wrote: »
    I'm not a cyclist really, more of a runner. Only have a cheapo Carrera road bike from Halfords. Got a notion today to go for a cycle as I've been thinking about incorporating cycling into my Marathon training as a form of cross training. Anyway I cycled around the Phoenix Park and really really enjoyed it. Cycled about 30km and averaged 25kph.
    Found the hills around Military Road and Upper Glen road a lot harder on a bike than running up them!
    If I continue to cycle more I will probably upgrade the bike.

You could go for a bit of a swim too and join us on the Dark Side...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭saccades

60km hungover commute home... Really didn't enjoy it.

Even avoided the big hill to save myself 100m of climbing.

Just hope I'm ready for the W200.

A very pleasant and slow 55k up to the Viewing Point and back through Glencullen. A friend had a pretty rough week so this was just the tonic to help her feel a bit better. She grinded her way up the hills like a trooper and is already asking when she can go up there again!

https://www.strava.com/activities/1612807681#

• Registered Users Posts: 6,312 ✭✭✭secman

Headed to Kilmuckridge and out on to main road to Castlebridge and on towards Wexford town, took left turn for Curracloe, average at the turn was 27.5 kph, back coast road to Blackwater, Kilmuckridge and home, avg ended up 27.5 kph... 57.5 km covered. Headwind out and tailwind coming back... but same AVG ?
    Lovely evening out there and that meandering rolling coast road is lovely in this weather.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭triggermortis

After 7 weeks of a course I got my overdue commute into work. My shift times have changed slightly and I wasn't impressed with the amount of traffic, but I can live with it. I'd rather have been going for a spin on the good bike, but this was better than nothing :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭Felexicon

47.1km this morning. Went from Swords > Rush >Skerries >Ardgillan > Balrothery and back to Swords on the R132
    Average Speed 26.3

Lovely morning for it but my God that hill up to Ardgillan is a bollox.

Did have a strange incident when a man shouted at me from his car that I was invisible.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,609 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Felexicon wrote:
    Did have a strange incident when a man shouted at me from his car that I was invisible.

Maybe he was shouting at someone beside you........who you couldn't see!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,148 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Lovely 14km off-road jaunt around the edges of the Peak District this morning; taking in a climb over Houndkirk moor, down onto the Devils elbow on Blacka moor for some downhill Gnarr, followed by a climb back the other side of Houndkirk moor (and what a sh1t of a climb it was ... ) followed by ripping it downhill through Lady Cannings Plantation, back to the pub car park, and then home just in time for the start of the UCI DH round at Fort William live on redbull.tv

• Registered Users Posts: 970 ✭✭✭rushfan

Felexicon wrote:

How did he see you then????

• Registered Users Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

Just over 90km club spin in glorious sunshine @29kmph

these days are the reward for going out in the winter

One scary moment when some idiot just pulled out in front of us. Lots of heavy breaking and fish tailing. Luckily nobody came down

Yeah, really felt the benefits of killing myself for the last 3 months today.

80km, 900m of climbing and a decent 28kph.

And I feel good. Headed to deep into SW Wicklow on roads I'd never seen before in perfect weather.

Waterford Greenway... Burnt as f**k

• Registered Users Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Justwinginit

Kilbeggan 100k... Done:-D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭pjmn

Did 15km this evening out around Donore. Heat still getting to me and was melting the whole way :o

I've also got a serious case of range anxiety now due to the imminent arrival of a new wee one !!!! But was told to get on my bike was I was driving herself mad.

That felling an evening like that when you have stuff on your mind and get out of town and you stop hearing traffic like theres been a button pressed to turn it off is unreal. Was 20 minutes before I met a car and all I could hear was the bike, the leaves rustling and the birds.

155km, 2,000m elevation down the Military Road as far as Glenmalure, then up to the miners village, down to Rathdrum, up backroads to Roundwood and down to the coast and back home. Proper mountains to the sea stuff. Magical day, bloody shattered now!

https://www.strava.com/activities/1615644828

https://www.instagram.com/p/Bjk797Mg0Cw/

• Registered Users Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭Felexicon

Did 15km this evening out around Donore. Heat still getting to me and was melting the whole way :o

I've also got a serious case of range anxiety now due to the imminent arrival of a new wee one !!!! But was told to get on my bike was I was driving herself mad.

That felling an evening like that when you have stuff on your mind and get out of town and you stop hearing traffic like theres been a button pressed to turn it off is unreal. Was 20 minutes before I met a car and all I could hear was the bike, the leaves rustling and the birds.
    Best of luck with the new arrival man!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,762 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Down at home in Waterford for the weekend, so brought the bike with me. Had a hankering to do a decent spin around the Comeraghs.

Headed out from the city towards Carrick on suir then on to kilsheelin. Headed over the bridge there, continuing towards clonmel. Turned left then for Tickincor - jaysus in the heat it was a brute. Took a lot out of me.

Continued on towards Rathgormack, and on to Lemybrien. Turned there for home along the N25.

112km done, about 1100 m of climbing and and average of 26.5km. Headed to dunmore east in the afternoon to take a swim and bathe my weary legs.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,142 ✭✭✭nilhg

Tom Crean 600 weekend, last year I was invited to participate in a charity cycle commemorate the exploits of Tom Crean and to raise some funds for charity, we went from Naas to the South Pole Inn in Annascaul, it went off very well so this year the lads decided to raise the bar a little and do an out and back....

Saturday, an early start, 2.45am alarm to eat a bowl of muesli and drive to my mates house to park up before cycling in to Naas for the grand depart towards Kenmare (this year's spin was to Tom Crean fish and wine, run by Tom's granddaughter Aileen. We rolled out at 4.00AM and made steady progress on the road to reach Kenmare by about 6.30. It wouldn't be Kerry without a downpour for the last 25km but that was made up for by the Garda escort into the town and the flags, bunting and speeches by some local dignitaries.

A quick shower, nice meal in Aileen's restaurant, a quick glass of wine left me ready for a good sleep.

https://www.strava.com/activities/1612687938

Sunday, more civilised this morning, up at 5.30 to pack up, breakfast at 6 before any necessary adjustments to the bikes were made meant we were on the road shortly after 7, I have to say I wasn't looking forwards to the long drag up out of Kenmare towards Rathmore and on into North Cork but the legs felt good and we made good time, because we were a little later on the road we slightly adapted the route to cut a few hundred meters of climbing so once we got back on to good open roads we made decent progress and even with a few detours to make up the distance we arrived back into Naas shortly after 9PM yesterday evening, where friends and family were waiting, all that was left then was the spin back to collect my van and home for a shower and a good sleep.

https://www.strava.com/activities/1615712056

The best part of the weekend it that at the time of writing we have over 10K raised for two very deserving charities with some more to come hopefully.

Last thought, you can say what you like about local politicians but the difference in road quality between South Kerry and North Cork is eyeopening.....

Nipped out for a handy 45km, teaching a newbie on the old N11 how to ride in a group and other tips ready for the ROK.

Gorgeous morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,284 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

I sometimes tire of living and working in dublin and look into moving abroad again...but days like today make you realise what is on your doorstop as a cyclist. Being able to get out of the city centre into wilderness in about half an hr is fantastic. Up the military road to laragh and round wicklow gap to blessington and back, it was absolutely glorious and the strangely quiet traffic wise (cyclists and drivers). Id say i saw less than 30 other cyclists all day, outside the city.

105k, 4h 10m, 1 iceberger in Laragh, 4 tan lines on my limbs.

https://www.strava.com/activities/1617048066

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 49,495 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

only just got out for a very flat 42km this evening - a unplanned trip to the vet put paid to my planned cycle yesterday morning.
    beautiful evening for it anyway.