Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tell us about your new improved government regulations compliant cycle part II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

My Strava keeps failing to record rides, or recording them as 0km. I assumed it was my phone screen that was the problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 246 ✭✭Takca

Question for you experienced riders my strava seems to be all over the place has this happened to anyone before ? E.g. was riding with someone the other day and our times / average speed were way off it logged an extra hour for me

We're ye stopped for an hour? maybe the other rider had auto pause enabled and you don't?
    Also it had me at average speed in a ride 2 weeks back of 53km /hr ... While the other riders were 25km. strange.

but autopause wouldn't explain this

Chuchote wrote: »
    My Strava keeps failing to record rides, or recording them as 0km. I assumed it was my phone screen that was the problem.

Did it update recently? My partner had issue with her's for a while where the settings would reset after each update. Think it was either the GPS or Battery saving settings on the phone that was the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

Did it update recently? My partner had issue with her's for a while where the settings would reset after each update. Think it was either the GPS or Battery saving settings on the phone that was the problem.

The phone? No, don't think so, though these phones are always bloody updating. It's been behaving eccentrically generally - resetting the tones so the tone I use for text becomes the one I use for rings, etc. Apparently a problem with that particular model.

• Registered Users Posts: 396 ✭✭joxerjohn

I hadn't been doing much cycling so started commute to work this week as it's Bike week and I had been threatening to commute for ages but always found some reason not to do it. Commute is 28km round trip, Sallins to Newbridge.

I had all kinds of questions that were putting me off, what to wear ? leave change of clothes at work? shower facilities ? what bike to take? did I need a new bike ? rain gear needed, etc. etc.

In the end I decided to just cycle in my work clothes, suit trousers and shirt with a high viz rain cycle jacket and see how I got on. I leave my shoes and a suit jacket at work. I also fitted a pannier for carrying extra stuff I need, laptops, lunch etc.

It is working out well, I am feeling it a bit in the legs today but I am hoping that it will become easier if I stick with it. With regard to the clothes I think a fresh shirt once I arrive at work is all that's required as I was steaming up a bit in the jacket !

Today is day 4, so far so good, I should make it to the end of the week !

• Registered Users Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭funnights74

West Cork 150 From Clonakilty. What used to be the West Cork 200 was rejunivated a few years ago with a new starting point. A super tough course around the south west coast with many many climbs and throw into the mix a handy breeze. Went around with a bunch from carrigaline in brilliant conditions, spectacular scenery is the only way I can put it. I tanked out near drinagh but was happy enough to hang on that long. 150.2 Kms with 1,600 feet of climbing, rolling time 5.54. If only all of our days out were like this.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭kerryscoob

West Cork 150 From Clonakilty. What used to be the West Cork 200 was rejunivated a few years ago with a new starting point. A super tough course around the south west coast with many many climbs and throw into the mix a handy breeze. Went around with a bunch from carrigaline in brilliant conditions, spectacular scenery is the only way I can put it. I tanked out near drinagh but was happy enough to hang on that long. 150.2 Kms with 1,600 feet of climbing, rolling time 5.54. If only all of our days out were like this.:D

Must admit a superior sportive to many that are being organised these days. From the grub, to scenery, tough roads!
    Great value, when I look back at last weekends W200 and compare the 2... Tour of West Cork by a country mile..
    Those Carrigaline girls know how to ride their bikes!

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭Hauki

202km with just under 1600m of climbing and with avg of 25.0 kph.

Absolutely massive day and massive ride. On a days like this I actually like Ireland :p

https://www.strava.com/activities/1041282568

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭Seanmk1

Chuchote wrote: »

Try checking your power saving function, this normally causes problems.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

I have a big smiley head on me, I like life. Not sure what it is, but in general I like it.

I went out on the bike this afternoon, it was lovely, tough as I did a lot of tough climbing, but lovely when it was done and put in the memory bank. What's the saying, Pain is temporary, regret is forever?

You can see my ride here: https://www.strava.com/activities/1041193157

Piperstown by two was tough, but manageable, what with certain knee issues.

My bike looks lovely.
    10epy80.jpg

I got up at 5am to go out and ride my bike, but I couldn't. I had the usual battle, that one that a lot of people don't understand.

Imagine a young child in a playground surrounded by other young kids, getting dogs abuse, "you're fat", "you're stupid", "you're useless", you're this and your that, well that what depression is like.

Your brain hates you.

Like it really hates you. From the time you wake up, until the time you manage to go to sleep.

It's your own brain FFS, it's you.

Depression is not being all sad. I for one was from the kick up the ass school tbh.

I get up at 4:45am every morning btw. And I always have the same mental battle, getting run over awhile back didn't help, but I use it as an excuse.

I don't have any answers or solutions for anyone, but feel free to PM if you are not in a nice place.

We can cycle somewhere, or just talk :)

You'd a better day than us Solider, got 10km down the road this evening and stopped for 99's the fat so and so's we are :o

Glad herself made that call and not me, wasn't happy chappie in the heat but pride is still intact :D

EDIT: To thumb my noise at unknown soldier, the 2 bikes involved in operation 10km go for 99's this evening likely cost 10% of the bike porn you posted so thats lots of 99's we can afford to stop for vs you :P

Seriously though, I've had/have my battles too, worst thing about about depression is when you're in the horrors you usually actually know you're depressed and you simply don't give a ****. It's cruel bastard of an affliction that unfortunately you can only manage individually, there's no magic cure all :(

• Registered Users Posts: 6,293 ✭✭✭secman

Finally headed out yesterday afternoon about 2:30 pm , it was seriously hot by then . Headed to killenagh, ballycanew , left on to the road to wexford, at ballyedmund decided to head for boolavogue, The Harrow across to Ferns. Still planning the route at this stage as we had a South , South West wind decided to head into it... to Enniscorthy and towards Wexford town. Ran out of fluids so.stopped in Oilgate to replenish.. jeez it was hot. Onwards to wexford town, kind of didn't mind the wind at this stage, cooling effect :).Took the coast road back, curracloe , Blackwater, Kilmuckridge, at this stage im nearing 90 km, the" sure you have to do the ton" territory . Around to Ballygarrett and home... tired and out of fluids again .. 101km avg 26kph on the nose. I do suffer in the heat.....

• Registered Users Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

I cycled 10km today. With an average of 19.1kph and 35 metres climbed.

It was my first spin since my collision. I'm still nursing a concussion so need to keep the HR below 120 (hence the low average).

I felt a bit stiff on the bike. I was on my good bike because the other one still needs fixing. I panicked a little when I was faced with the same situation that I crashed in (someone turning right across me).

But sure lookit, back on the bike. I can build it up from here. Doing the 120 tour of Clare in July. That can be my new goal.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,484 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

McNally Swords CC 100k Two county challenge today. It was great. Everyone was so friendly, food was great, weather was great. The group I was in stayed together and waited for anyone trailing. I much preferred it than other sportive where everyone guns it from the start.

The only bad thing was the idiot impatient and dangerous drivers out there today. Some very close passes. Obviously that was not the fault of the CC.

My legs felt great too even after spending the last couple of days hiking 50k on the Tain Trail across the Cooley Mountains and back.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,332 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Did the Ox Mountain 4 passes sportive today. Went too hard early on and made up for it towards the end. Had a very unorganized group with one or two eejits who kept flying off up the road only to hurtle out the back as soon as the road pointed up, then whizz past again two minutes later. I bit my lip but a few others passed comment.... Anyway I stuck near the front and did a bit too much only to realise near the tea break that the majority of the gang were only doing the 60 so they could well afford to gun it.
    After the tea break I ended up doing about 45 km solo and that really fkd my legs by the time I hit the Ladies Brea. I fought like hell to keep the cramps away, not stopping because if I stopped the two legs would have seized. When a group caught me with 5 km to go I was delighted to hang on. Despite the pain, I really enjoyed the spin.
    The weather was lovely, the sun stayed in but it was around the 18-20 for most of it. Scenery was stunning ( not that I'm biased but it passed my homeplace). Marshaling and food were great, a big spread with loads of Pasta, fruit, sandwiches, cake and biscuits and energy bars.
    131km with 1176m climbing in 4:29 @29.2kmh average and a pile of imaginary strava trophies and medals.
    https://www.strava.com/activities/1042672618

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,750 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

I get up at 4:45am every morning btw. And I always have the same mental battle, getting run over awhile back didn't help, but I use it as an excuse.

I've been fighting a chest infection the last four weeks and find myself getting up about the same time following a bout of coughing. I use all sorts of little tricks to get myself up and out early morning as a result. Nice cycling gear left beside the bed, no other clothes handy, and everything on the bike ready to roll. Make sure that the spin ends with nice descent, so the last memory of the spin is always a good one and the excruciating climbs leading up to it are lost in the subsequent euphoria. Set the coffee machine going before I leave. Take a couple of nice shots for later in the day as a reminder how great it was, etc.. Sure, its our brain, but nothing to say we can't fúck with it slightly once we have an agenda. :)

Nothing spectacular cycling wise for me this weekend, 30k yesterday taking in Pucks Castle lane, Murphys lane and Enniskerry, and another 25k today over Cruagh and back via Kilternan. Still feel weak as a kitten and kicking myself for not going to the doc and getting an antibiotic weeks ago. Will go back to early morning stuff next week, midday sun was a killer.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Mercian Pro

Missed the Swords sportif as I was too knackered after a Dublin to Galway cycle yesterday. Glad to hear it went well as a few people put a lot of work into making it happen. Managed to make it down to the Dublin Cycling Campaign Liffey Cycle which was a bit of fun but didn't have great numbers.

On the Galway cycle I was guiding a group of seven who were fundraising for cancer research at Beaumont Hospital. They were a fantastic bunch, of mixed experience and ability, but all pushing themselves well beyond anything they had done before. We kept to secondary and lesser roads all day and saw beautiful parts of Ireland I may never get to again. We had a westerly wind wind that sapped the energy but at least kept things cool in the heat of the afternoon. Overall, 211km in 10:12 moving time so an average of 20.7 kph.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,719 ✭✭✭✭dahat

A4 Munster Road Championship today, 2 got away but never knew.

I turned for home and felt good in second wheel so went for a long Sprint and oh so nearly made it with a club mate nabbing me on the line for 3rd with another club mate in 5th, a good day but disappointed this evimg tbh.

Legs are good so gotta find some another target now.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭positron

Got out of the house around 6:30 am to attempt my longest ride so far.. 100k.

And I have to say there's nothing as lovely as getting out really early on a nice summer morning like todays. Absolutely no traffic on roads, you pedal along the regional and local roads enjoying the beautiful countryside and playing games spotting various wildlife - hares and hedgehogs mostly. And cows. This morning, I was watching a field full cows resting (too early for them to start grazing I suppose) and a few of them were actually watching me back - just lying there and head and ears tracking me going by. Bliss.

Anyway, Drogheda-Castlebellingam- bit of sightseeing run around in Dundalk (nice town I thought), back via Blackrock, Annagassan, Clogherhead enjoying the amazing views. Bike developed creaky bottom bracket issues around Annagassan - it got progressively so bad walkers were jumping out of the way, dogs taking off etc as I get closer to them. When I got to Drogheda, trip meter read around 90 km, so quick run to Oldbridge and back had me home with over 100k on the clock. I was pretty wrecked but last week felt worse (probably combination of hills around Naul, rain, wind and not having enough fuel - fixed it this time around with orange juice, banana and two breakfast bars).

Over all, 4h 45m of sightseeing, first 100k in the bag & bike back in Halfords for new BB.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Done the 97 km tour de Burren cycle yesterday,very nice day for it except for a nasty near collision with a paddywagon tour bus.bus overtook me at speed on a narrow part of the road coming down at the back of the cliffs of Moher.was going full speed and the bus overtook me with less than a foot gap.he was so close my bike wobbled in the wake and i nearly came off.would love to know if anyone had any similar incidents with this companies busses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭thelawman

104kms in 3hr 40, a tad over 28kph, left later than usual and felt better for it, did a loop from Naas down to Kilkea Castle and back, was great just to be out, haven't much mileage in the legs this year,

IMG_1769_zps7e9bceed.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 534 ✭✭✭lissard

Tootled up to Glencree this afternoon and had the road all to myself - one absolutely glorious day. According to my Garmin it was about 25C leaving Bray but 30C up on the Military road. I've have been in serious trouble last week if it had been that hot.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

smacl wrote: »
    I've been fighting a chest infection the last four weeks and find myself getting up about the same time following a bout of coughing.........

.....Still feel weak as a kitten and kicking myself for not going to the doc and getting an antibiotic weeks ago. Will go back to early morning stuff next week, midday sun was a killer.

Now that you mention this I have been stughling the last 4/5 weeks. I have a cough, not too bad, but the main symptom is no energy on the bike. Legs ache at moderate effort and can't push it. So all I am doing is cycling to work and zero else hoping I will kick it but it's still there! Ruining my summer of cycling!!!

I need to go to the doc too.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

dahat wrote: »
    A4 Munster Road Championship today, 2 got away but never knew.

I turned for home and felt good in second wheel so went for a long Sprint and oh so nearly made it with a club mate nabbing me on the line for 3rd with another club mate in 5th, a good day but disappointed this evimg tbh.

Legs are good so gotta find some another target now.

Still a good result. Well done!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,987 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

..My bike looks lovely....
    Indeed it does and would be even lovelier if you ditched that awful bidon and got a black 500ml one (or two). :p:D

PS - well said on the 'battle' bit. Someone very close to me goes through the same battle on a regular basis. ;)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,750 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Out the door for 4:40 this morning and still dawn managed to get up before me. Climb up cruagh in the mild early morning was so much nicer that yesterdays heat, and the empty hills were a pure joy. Nice to be hitting the fast descent before the insects had woken up, though playing slalom with the sheep kept the pace down. A bit over 20k at a very leisurely pace with no greater plan than being on the bike in the hills before the days work.

420220.JPG

• Registered Users Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭Whyner

Morning,

Got out yesterday for a few hours and made the most of it. Up Bohernabreena so I could take a turn I've driven past so many time - Ballyfolen Rd. Gave up golf to get into cycling and there was nice views of my old club from this road. On towards the Lake Drive as I wanted to have a pop at the Wicklow Gap. Was in Hollywood last week but legs weren't up for it. Felt better yesterday. Not sure I completed the full 'Wicklow Gap' though as I came from the Lake Drive and not Hollywood. The descent was spoilt as I got stuck behind some cars

Decided to skip Glendalough Green and try out The Dome, just outside Roundwood. No one was there when I popped in but the lady said she was open, life-saver. Absolute gem of a spot. She's super friendly. She refilled my bidons after I scoffed some coffee and cake. Was lovely chilling out there for 10 mins while she painted. Home via Kilmac and Enniskerry

A proper Father's day, 115k and 1600m up - https://www.strava.com/activities/1042796268

• Registered Users Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭triggermortis

Didn't get out yesterday after Saturdays Ataxia ride, but as I start night shift tonight, I had some quiet time so headed out to loosen the legs.
    I thought I was taking it easy as I didn't feel too energetic at first, and definitely was tired at the last small hill towards Skerries, but I got a PR going up Howth!

https://www.strava.com/activities/1044071801

Stopped off in a couple of shops to see about getting new wheel bearings sorted, so that was another bonus as I'm sure it'll be done soon.
    69.5 Km @ 27Khm

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

First time I've had an accident. About 30 mins ago some idiot parked on st Stephens green opened his door into the bike lane I was in and sent me flying. Leg quite sore and bruised and elbows. Lucky I didn't hit my head. Perfectly good jeans ruined. He didn't offer anything and I didn't get his deets, I wasn't thinking straight. But thank you to the man who came over and offered me the use of his office to check injuries and have a glass of water. Ouch :(