Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Society Castlemartyr

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Thanks Kevin, long drive it is so!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Ben1977

charlieIRL wrote: »
    Lads, have done some right good damage to my knee and am waiting to see a specialist to see what surgery is needed (torn cartilage and MRi showed I have a 9mm cyst on top of my tibia, wtf did that come from?!!) Am able to get around with it strapped up but standing for anything more than a minute is painful.

Tomorrow might be my last round of golf for a long time, so anyone who has played the course before, do you think I'd get around with a buggy without too much strain? Really want to go, even with the long spin down.

Ouch Charlie, good luck with the recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

dwd wrote: »
    You can leave your bike in my drive, it'll save Dr.R having to do 2 pick ups!

Can you make sure to pm me your address :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭dwd

RoadRunner wrote: »
    Can you make sure to pm me your address :pac:

done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Lads how long down from Dublin airport to there. By car.

We are teeing off from 12 for about 30 minutes I guess ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Ben1977

Fixde only an extra 20 minutes from Fota

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

Fix it took me 2 3/4 hours from the city centre

12:10 until 12:40

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Think it took us just over 3 hours yesterday but I took it handy and we went on a few detours

How are the pints going down there lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Macker1

Enjoy the day folks......Looks like a smashing course from Kevin's pictures.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Off to bed, gonna be a long day!!

Only 14 of us today, here are the tee times.

12.10 recycled paulos53 Break80
    12.20 Roadrunner Dr. Rieux dwd
    12.30 ssbob CharlieIRL Seve OB slingerz
    12.40 GolfGraffix ballyk doublecross Fixde Pitchmark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭OffalyMedic

Have a great day today guys! Sorry I won't make it but I must go win a captains prize for myself! Who ever is making the trip it's well worth it, have played the course a few times and its very enjoyable!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭a post punk

Enjoy the day lads, it's a really nice course in the summer time bring plenty of balls...... I'm enjoying the holidays here in the Canaries just heading to the pool now! Sorry I couldn't make the home course golfgraffix after bringing an outing down south for us specifically, looking forward to seeing the scores.

Great day lads .

Thanks to Bally , J and double cross for a very relaxed round.

Fair play to Bally turning up after playing 18 in the morning.

I'm still struggling with my own game. But still loved the course , weather and 5 or 6 good shots I hit.

Will play course again.
    The drain was only thing you needed to know.

11 is probably on odd /poor hole maybe.
    Maybe you actually should try clear drain and go right after a good drive.

Nice to see J as a single figure player and no limits for doublecross as he does everything well.

Thanks again. Hope to get a bit of form back for end of season.

No way I'm using them pro vs for the moment.

Any scores.......who won ?

I think it's fair to say that today was a success.

A big thank you to Breffne for the reduction in the green fee and some nice little prizes.

A big congrats to the winners

1st with 42 was Dr Reiux
    2nd with 38 was Doublecross
    3rd with 38 was SeveOB

NDP DWD
    LD Fix

2's Roadrunner

Had great fun with Doublecross, BallyK and my good buddy Fix. Some good golf from all of us, double was as consistent as ever.

My own game was ok, out in 20 and back in with a tired 12, two birdies and some OK golf.

I loved the course, you really had to pick your away around it, quite strategic. Was agreeing with Fix about the 11th until I got chatting with the pro and he gave me an inside to how to play it, simply its a 3 shotter, drive down the left as far as you can go, rescue or what ever is your 190/200 club to the right and your 50 yards looking at the pin.

Thanks to all who made the trip and hope to see a bigger turn out next month in Esker.

J

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭dwd

Really enjoyable day, fantastic course which I really enjoy and was well worth the spin down from Dublin. Big thanks to Dr.Rieux & Roadrunner for a really enjoyable round and congrats to Dr.Rieux on the win who played very steady all day.

Again, big thanks to Golfgraffix and the rest of the committee to organizing another great event

My tee to green golf was actually pretty good after a 2 month break, with the par 5 11th being a highlight, lovely 3 wood, the a nice lay up 6 iron and 80yrd lob wedge to about 3ft, but I couldn't buy a putt all day, I guess I had at least 6 or 7 3 putts and 1 or 2 4 putts :o

I also got to try out my new camera with a high speed mode on the 14th which is cool:

Dr.Rieux (not his best hit all day, but ended up short and right of greenside):

Roadrunner (slight pull into the greenside gorse):

and myself (lovely strike straight into the front bunker lip and then back into the bunker :)):

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Dr.Rieux

I, perhaps not surprisingly, really enjoyed the day yesterday. Played the best golf I've ever played in my life, and had great company with dwd and Roadrunner all day.

Roadrunner was on for a great score if it weren't for scratches on 14 & 17. dwd was hitting a cracking 2 iron all day, but his putting was letting him down unfortunately.

Cheers J for organising and for the cracking prize. Have been bringing it around to the folks and in laws to show it off :)

Dr.Rieux wrote:
    Cheers J for organising and for the cracking prize. Have been bringing it around to the folks and in laws to show it off

My curiosity is peaked....... What was the prize?

Macker1 wrote: »
    My curiosity is peaked....... What was the prize?

A Jack ball. Which will be put in a case soon hopefully.

Full list of results here, dont pay too much attention to the handicaps I have not gotten around to editeding them yet.

Castlemartyr Results

Scoring was quite good, back 9 as much tougher.

Front 9 averaged 20 points and the back 9 averaged 14 points.

See you all next in Esker Hills

J

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Sounds like a great day was had by all.

Apologies for the late drop out, but unfortunately family circumstances overtook things. Was a weekend I hope I never have to go through again.

Will see you all soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

Dr.Rieux wrote: »
    A Jack ball. Which will be put in a case soon hopefully.

Still curious...what the hell is a jack ball ? :D

alxmorgan wrote: »
    Still curious...what the hell is a jack ball ? :D

http://thegolfauction.com/mobile/lotdetail.aspx?inventoryid=1720&seo=personal_jack_nicklaus_golf_ball

So definitely a nice piece of golfing memorabilia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

Ah, very nice.

Well that was another superb golf course. Well chosen GG, and thanks again for all the hard work in the organisation. I know it's not easy, so good job. I played it when it first opened, maybe 7 or 8 years ago now, so remembered nothing of the place! The course looks intimidating with all the long hay to be seen from the road, but in fairness, it is quite fair. A short course, there for the taking, but definitely a bit of knowledge will give a great advantage. I thought the tee boxes were a little hairy, but overall the condition is excellent. The clubhouse looks cool, very modern and trendy, but it is not until you are coming down the 18th and turn around the dogleg that you completely "get it". Class.

I got there early, on Thursday for a family mini break. We took a house inside the old castle ruins which was very nice. So 4 nights there and came home last night. Started with a practice run out on Friday at Fota with a few other boardsies, and played some solid golf when I figured out I should be leaving my driver in the bag. I have been playing awful stuff this year, but after some lessons, I could feel my game was so close, good shots mixed with some bad luck... but promising. I was hitting my driver the best I have ever done for 3 or 4 weeks and then wallop.... no golf for a week, no range to hone the adjustments and my last 3 rounds it has become a disaster again. So it was nice to actually play a friendly round on Friday and practice with my 3 wood. I hit it so well (with 1 poor strike that I got away with) Ssbob put a request in to the committee to have it destroyed before the main event. :eek:

No such luck though and I had the pleasure of Charlie & ssbob on Saturday for another very enjoyable boards outing with the usual torture, agony, despair and of course craic. Best of luck to Charlie in his recovery, I hope it will be sooner rather than later that we see him back on a golf course. The 2 boys played some solid golf on Saturday, fell apart a bit on the back 9, but it was nice to have ssbob there to guide us around the place. I wouldn't have shot the score I did without him.

I hit my 3 wood pretty well most of the day with a few exceptions which I was luckily able to recover from. 1 of which was on the 16th when I hit my drive out on the 17th fairway. I had to go up and survey the line and then hit a perfect approach, only to discover that I had gotten the line wrong and went about 30 feet right of the green with a poor lie that resulted in a double. Finding gorse on the 8th hole left me with no option but to take a line of sight drop to then pull the arse out of my approach. Luckily it was a par 5, so time to recover and found a 6. Other than those 2 bad holes, I had 4 3putts, one of which was an inexcusable shocker of no more than 18 inches on 11 and my miss on 9 from about 3 foot was as equally poor especially as the other 2 lads showed me the line in. All in all though, the 2 days, I was pretty hot with the short stick (once I got to grips with the slow pace of the greens) some good lag putts, some nearly dropping and some nice clutch 10 - 15 footers, probably the best of which was about 18 foot on the long par 3 14th to save a par after finding the bunker off the tee. Sprayed my final tee shot off to the right and unsure. Provo was straight down the middle and my 3 wood was about 3 yards ahead of ssbob who thought he might have chance of claiming the LD, only to be beaten by fix coming down in the last group. I found my first ball though and a half decent lie in the right rough with about 220 to the pin, figured a lay up with 6 iron would be the sensibly play. I played possibly my best shot of the day, only to see the dam thing go over the back of the green. Good job I didn't hit the 4 iron and go for it! :rolleyes:

So another case of what could have been, but can't complain with my 38 points and congrats to all the prizewinners.

It was a shame to see the turnout so poor, especially as a few Cork guys in the Society make such a great effort and travel tirelessly for all the other events. Lets hope we can get the numbers up next time.

jaysus, that got me interested. I need to start selling these instead of loosing them in gorse bushes!!!!

http://www.thegolfauction.com/rory_mcilroy_personal_used__rors__nike_golf_ball-lot17389.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭doublecross

Thanks GG for another great outing, really enjoyed Castlemartyr. Plenty of variety on your tee shot. It's short but fun and a welcome change when compared to other overly long resort courses.

I'd the pleasure of playing with GG, fix and ballyk. I think this was the first time I knew everyone in my group. I'd like to thank the lads for repeatedly finding my ball in the hay. I was lucky to finish with the same ball I started with. Jesus, thinking back, we hit a lot of provisionals :)

Fair play to ballyk for making it but 36 holes in hot weather and a bandaged head is not easy, good start but very hard to keep it going. GolfGraffix was right in contention but not knowing the course caught him out too often. Fix was crushing the ball as usual and was getting better near the end but when you play off a low handicap a few bad drives cost you. Played steady myself, putter behaved itself which kept the points ticking over. Once again, close, but no Jack ball for me!

Thanks to GG and everyone involved. Another great golf weekend. Got a lift down with both Dwd and dr rieux. Played the round with them. Then came back with the hoors! The lads were great craic and we all got on thankfully. I had a front nine of 23pts, but couldn't keep it going on the back. Finished with 37 which is a good score, but disappointed as the potential was there for a really big one. Got a rare 2 along the way which wasn't much more then just a tap in.

Great course. Though a long drive to get there from Dublin.

Great round from the Doc. He hade birdies on 9 and 18, but it was actually very close to an eagle on 9 (the rest of you guys might have heard some high pitch girly screaming around 2:30pm when that one nearly went in!)

Solid striking by DWD who's been away from golf for quite a while after the arrival of a new baby. He left half his clubs at home, and didn't look like he missed the rest of them. In fact he could have walked around the course with just his two iron as he hits that so well.

Lasting memory of the round is the sounds of the guys shots reverberating around the trees.

I followed up my round with a 38 on my home course the following day, to reduce my HC from 12.5 down to 12. Feel positive about the state of my game at the moment. Putting is still my Achilles heel (specifically distance control on medium-long putts) but I feel I maybe starting to get more of a feel for it now.

Pretty sure I won't be at esker as am expecting a new arrival around that time! Looks like I'm currently in 4th for GOTY. I know I'm going to start dropping down that list now. Here's hoping my work to date will keep me in the top 10!

dwd wrote: »
    Really enjoyable day, fantastic course which I really enjoy and was well worth the spin down from Dublin. Big thanks to Dr.Rieux & Roadrunner for a really enjoyable round and congrats to Dr.Rieux on the win who played very steady all day.

Again, big thanks to Golfgraffix and the rest of the committee to organizing another great event

My tee to green golf was actually pretty good after a 2 month break, with the par 5 11th being a highlight, lovely 3 wood, the a nice lay up 6 iron and 80yrd lob wedge to about 3ft, but I couldn't buy a putt all day, I guess I had at least 6 or 7 3 putts and 1 or 2 4 putts :o

I also got to try out my new camera with a high speed mode on the 14th which is cool:

Dr.Rieux (not his best hit all day, but ended up short and right of greenside):

Roadrunner (slight pull into the greenside gorse):

and myself (lovely strike straight into the front bunker lip and then back into the bunker :)):

Cool vids. Sneaky, never even knew you had the camera out at the time. That shot you picked to video me of thought was a shot I never wanted to see again thought as it caused me to scratch the hole :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭morrga

Lads, looking at heading to Castlemartyr for a society outing in October. Is Midelton ok for a night out afterwards? Group mid to late 30's so only interested in watching sport, few pints, bit of craic etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Yep, ideal. I'd start off in O'Neills on the Mill Road, exceptional pints and a quieter older spot to chill out. Then make your way down the town.