Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Wed 20:00: Wales vs Portugal Euro 2016Semi Final, WED 6th July, RTE2 & ITV

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 344 ✭✭Kobe248

Why Pepe ?

Cause hes a world class defender

Is it not possible to appreciate world class defenders :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Going for a Welsh win tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,495 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Portugal in the work sweepstakes, but they have nothing else that makes me want them to win. Love underdogs, so Wales winning would be class.

A belter of a free kick from Bale would be class!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Who will step in for Ramsey ?

Purely based on him being out, I go for 2-1 Portugal.
    But hope I'm wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

Well they actually still haven't beaten Italy in normal playing time in a major tournament so the curse continues.
    Yeah I know (*) but they knocked them out for the first time ever. And apparently it was like hysteria in Germany. Hopefully it's our turn tomorrow ;)

(*) I was shocked by the impact this "curse" is, at least unconsciously, having on the players when I watched the game. After they scored, they were all over Italy for 15 min. Buffon made his usual world class save from Gomez back heel shot and after these 15 min Germany looked like "feck we failed burying the game, they're gonna get back". I couldn't believe how they let the possession to Italy and then Boateng, who'd been immense for the last 2 games, made his crazy mistake. In the last min of the game and of the extra time it was so uncommonly clear that they were playing it safe. And even in the penalty shootout, Schweini peno miss :eek:. He completely overdid it. Really uncommon from such a talented and experienced player. Ah well they went through and I hope it won't have given them too much of a confidence boost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

And this is my favourite...

feed me now, and evermore

Come on Wales! Hope ye win and Aaron gets to play in the final, he has been immense this tournament.

I'll pray to all my gods, Shirley, Cerys and Catherine Zita for a Wales win! 🐲

If I was Ashley Williams, I'd remind the ref re Pepe, if you tolerate this, then your children will be next...

• Registered Users Posts: 494 ✭✭The Gibzilla

Kobe248 wrote: »

World class at rolling on the ground, feigning injury and play-acting. Yep, he's a modern day Franz Beckenbauer :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭fyfe79

Pepe makes Ramos seem almost likeable in comparison. Almost.

• Registered Users Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

Pepe + world class defender

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRGzU_tyYc94odRsmV6X59FlILmT5JLYk63uEsfEorw3U5d6spD

But I digress...

Wales FTW.

Have my Welsh Dragon hat on!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭tastyt

Pepe has been one of the best defenders in the tournament so far and is definitely world class. You dont get to start at centre back for the biggest club in the world for as many years as he has if your not

• Registered Users Posts: 12 random jerk

Pob Lwc Cymru!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

World class at rolling on the ground, feigning injury and play-acting. Yep, he's a modern day Franz Beckenbauer :rolleyes:
    Lithium93_ wrote: »

But I digress...

Wales FTW.

I'll say no more. Good defender. Awful human. Not near world class imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,356 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Breaking team news...

PEPE OUT!

:O :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

and a shoe-in for next year's Oscars

Pepe 'virtually out' of Wales semi http://bbc.in/29n1lgp via @BBCSport

mansize wrote: »
    If I was Ashley Williams, I'd remind the ref re Pepe, if you tolerate this, then your children will be next...

Random, Pepe has been really well behaved

Yeah cause hes the only one who does that

Dam foreigners :rolleyes:

Clueless

Lithium93_ wrote: »

But I digress...

Wales FTW.

Yeah a player who played for the biggest club in the world and always been a first choice for what 7 years

Yeah, but hey lets get back to over rating Ashley Williams :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Yeah a player who played for the biggest club in the world and always been a first choice for what 7 years

Yeah, but hey lets get back to over rating Ashley Williams :rolleyes:

He definitely hasn't been world class in this tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mezcita

I'll say no more. Good defender. Awful human. Not near world class imo.

Nah. Adolf Hitler was an awful human. Pepe just acts the maggot at football a lot.

http://www.whoateallthepies.tv/real_madrid/182829/real-madrids-pepe-buys-5000kg-of-food-hands-it-out-to-madrids-most-deprived-families.html

https://twitter.com/willcarling/status/750748185103130624

The last time he was this up for Wales it was Diana!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,945 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Who will step in for Ramsey ?

Purely based on him being out, I go for 2-1 Portugal.
    But hope I'm wrong.

Andy King, won the prem with Leicester so not too shabby a swap

Mezcita wrote: »

Did he do that after kicking a player multiple times in the head/stomach/back?

SantryRed wrote: »
    He definitely hasn't been world class in this tournament.

Besides Bonnuci who has been better

Wait let me guess

Ben Davies/Richard Keogh

Have you watched a game ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Portugal team:

Patricio; Guerreiro, Fonte, Alves, Cedric; Danilo, Adrien, Sanches, Joao Mario; Nani and Cristiano Ronaldo

Pepe out is a big blow. I still think Portugal's firepower will get them through; I think a lot of people are underestimating this Portugal side.

But if Wales do win I'll be happy for them. Their team:

CmsyzkdXYAE_Csk.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,179 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

I actually think Belgium would have a far greater chance of beating Portugal. I hope Wales win but I think they'll miss Ramsey big time and I don't think they'll top their performance against Belgium.

Pepe missing is as big as Rambo being out

Alves really isnt close to him in quality

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Besides Bonnuci who has been better

Wait let me guess

Ben Davies/Richard Keogh

Have you watched a game ???

Yes I've watched most of the games.

2 big mistakes stand out:

1. Completely at fault for the Icelandic goal they conceded. He should never have crossed over the right full and should have passed him along.

2. Lost Lewandowski for the goal against the Polish. He didn't have a clue where he was and didn't realise he had slowed down his run.

So there ya go. Less of the pompous attitude in your post next time would be great too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Would like to see Wales go through but I think Belgium made them look a lot better than they are, Belgium almost equally massively overrated themselves

Agree with the lads in studio, Ronaldo has probably been operating at 50% whether injured or simply age related fatigue from the season he's just had.

SantryRed wrote: »
    Yes I've watched most of the games.

2 big mistakes stand out:

1. Completely at fault for the Icelandic goal they conceded. He should never have crossed over the right full and should have passed him along.

2. Lost Lewandowski for the goal against the Polish. He didn't have a clue where he was and didn't realise he had slowed down his run.

So there ya go. Less of the pompous attitude in your post next time would be great too.

How on earth was he at fault for Iceland goal

The right back was at fault :pac:

Proving you arent watching games

Pepe also did the right thing defending the Lewa goal

The defensive midfielder was at fault for this

So yeah Ill keep my pompous attitude

And you can keep being wrong :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,634 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Really hoping Wales do it now. For the underdog , And though i dont think Portugal are unbeatable i think it will take a moment of brilllance from bale to win this

Keano on ITV

Roy Keane joining the ITV punditry :eek:

Anyone know how many games Ronaldo played since Pre Season last year? Must be a ridiculously high amount compared to usually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,676 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

C'mon Wales.

Will be tough without Rambo, but if Hungary can bang 3 past these, Bale could have a lot of fun.

Pepe out, the snakey snake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Hopefully Wales can do it, but it could be a bridge too far methinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Pity about Pepe not playing I wanted to see him cry.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

Dunphy saying Ronaldo lost weight like it's UFC post USADA :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,736 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

In his own way Pepe is as much a loss to Portugal as Ramsey is to Wales....

He is their defensive rock.Can see it being an open enough game but wouldn't be shocked if it was scoreless after 90mins.

I'll go for a Wales win 2-0 :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I'll go for a Wales win 2-0 :)

Good man, think big and Dai Hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Roy Keane getting hammered on Twitter for supposedly miserable comments. What's he saying?

Wish I could see it. Damn you, UTV Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Nice little piece on Speeds time in charge of Wales and his death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Arghus wrote: »
    Hopefully Wales can do it, but it could be a bridge too far methinks.

But Portugal have done very little in this competition so far. Wales have nothing to fear whatsoever, so like you I hope Wales do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Roy Keane getting hammered on Twitter for supposedly miserable comments. What's he saying?

Wish I could see it. Damn you, UTV Ireland.

He said that Wales weren't great in the group stages but better in the knock outs and tipped Portugal to win because of Ronaldo. Nothing out of the ordinary tbh.

Lovely tribute there to Gary Speed :)