Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pokemon go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Getting to grips with this now. Put a good few hours in after work. I'm level 8 now and have taken over a few gyms. Team red guys I picked.

I have my three best guys, a starmie, pidgeotto and Seaking installed at 3 separate gyms but I hear they have to stay there for over a day before you make any money which is a long time tbh as 2 of mine are in the Blanchardstown centre....which is popular. :P

I'm enjoying it but the effort it takes to catch em is....a lot. I can see this being a long game. You aren't gonna catch em all in a weekend like the computer games tbh. I have 23 unique ones so far. A long way to go.

When it officially releases here, it will be pretty funny. There are videos all over youtube of american lads playing while driving which is just so dumb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭RossieMan

Is obvious that here is the west people are cheating. People with massive CP pokemon, I've not seen anyone near those levels. That Gps spoofing is a pile of crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

Depends where you're from. I'm at level 14 with 2 Pokemon upwards of 700 XP. Reason being I can't walk 10 steps without coming across a Pidgey or Spearow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

How do you deposit pokemon in a gym? I went past a gym that was the same team as me but I only had the chance to fight (or train) not leave him there. Looking at other gyms I've seen 3 or 4 pokemon at the same gym

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,442 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Yeah the higher your level then the higher cp of Pokemon you catch and evolve as far as i know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

matrim wrote: »
    How do you deposit pokemon in a gym? I went past a gym that was the same team as me but I only had the chance to fight (or train) not leave him there. Looking at other gyms I've seen 3 or 4 pokemon at the same gym

If you battle a friendly gym, you'll increase its 'prestige level'. Once it reaches a new level it'll have capacity for one more pokemon, which you can then deposit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

You also have to be over level 5.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

20000 steps today, good times. Had 8 gyms which are getting stolen back. Not much pokemon near my house unfortunately. Got haunter who I love yeahhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭Digital Solitude

FunLover18 wrote: »
    How does the apk version work for updates, when it's officially released will app stored recognise that you have it installed?

It'll list as installed in the Play Store as soon as it's released, you'll get an update notification as normal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Extrasupervery

I keep getting really ****ty egg pokemon, a few Rattata, a Bellsprout...one Ekans. I have a 10km egg cooking up and I'm hoping for something a bit better. If it's a Drowzee I'm sending it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

cleaned up yesterday!

have a squirtle, bulbasaur, and charmander now (even though they're all useless)

Seadra and Dratini are my two fighters.

Not all my steps are registering though, does the screen actually have to stay on or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭richieffff

Not all my steps are registering though, does the screen actually have to stay on or something?

Yeah unfortunately the app needs to be open with the screen on, battery saver mode would be handy if you've an AMOLED display on your phone.

Hope they make an android wear app that will count your steps when the app is closed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,776 ✭✭✭Xterminator

can anyone explain gym battling.

i cannot reliably get my pokemon to use its second move.

where is the bar that needs to be full, how long to hold down on the pokemon, are there any visual clues?
    im just tapping like mad at the moment

X

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭duffman13

can anyone explain gym battling.

i cannot reliably get my pokemon to use its second move.

where is the bar that needs to be full, how long to hold down on the pokemon, are there any visual clues?
    im just tapping like mad at the moment

X

Second move works of an energy bar I believe, when you build up your energy hold the screen and your pokemon should do its special attack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭tommyhayes1989

Does this work on iOs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭delta214

There's a facebook group for Irish Pokemon Go-ers here
    Does this work on iOs?
    It is not officially out yet but I believe there is a workaround for iOS floating around if you have a search

• Registered Users Posts: 365 ✭✭Nopeare

Does this work on iOs?
    I downloaded last week on my iphone.
    1. What you need to do is log out of your iTunes account.
    2. Then go to your settings, select general then select language/region and change to the US.
    3. Go back into iTunes and search pokemon go (it should search the American iTunes or ask which store to search). The app should then appear hit to download it and it'll ask you to create a new account (Google a hotel or something for an address in the US). Set up a new account and as you selected to download pokemon go which is a free app it will let you select no billing information for your account, as if you try and enter an Irish card I believe it will be refused. So it is important to find the app and hit to download before you register a new account.
    4. Then just verify the new account with the email they send and it should either automatically download or will let you download if you go back into itunes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭El Nick

Has anyone had any thoughts on what Pokemon spawn where?

I'm Dublin-based (team yellow ftw!) My son and I were walking around Marlay Park on Sunday - we caught 5 or so Hitmonchans each. Never seen a Hitmonchan out of that park. I travel to work on the Red Line LUAS - Hitmonlee has popped up twice for me at Croppies Acre, and I've caught two Dratinis out by Black Horse. At the Street Performance World Festival on Saturday in Merrion Square we saw a geansai-load of Magmar.

Obviously the likes of Fritatta, Pidgey, Bellsprout, Weedle et. al show up everywhere, but does anyone else reckon certain pokemon hang around certain locations? Or am I going mad? If so, what have you seen where?

• Registered Users Posts: 419 ✭✭selastich2

tried battling at a gym earlier. Hadn't a clue what I was doing. dead pokemon all round :/

Nopeare wrote: »
    I downloaded last week on my iphone.
    1. What you need to do is log out of your iTunes account.
    2. Then go to your settings, select general then select language/region and change to the US.
    3. Go back into iTunes and search pokemon go (it should search the American iTunes or ask which store to search). The app should then appear hit to download it and it'll ask you to create a new account (Google a hotel or something for an address in the US). Set up a new account and as you selected to download pokemon go which is a free app it will let you select no billing information for your account, as if you try and enter an Irish card I believe it will be refused. So it is important to find the app and hit to download before you register a new account.
    4. Then just verify the new account with the email they send and it should either automatically download or will let you download if you go back into itunes

Can you still play if you log back into your regular apple account? I'm concerned there might be issues with updates if you're logged into a different account?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,773 ✭✭✭connemara man

A quick tip.

But if you want to hatch eggs at work or chilling at home. Turn on and of the strength of your GPS or flick between WiFi and 3g as your avatar looks for where you are all those steps count. I've nearly done 2k today and I have barely left my desk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,535 ✭✭✭joe123

This game is absolutely rubbish outside of cities.

Secondly, for the game to actually keep active, do you have to keep the phone screen active? Like I have mine to sleep after two minutes inactivity and it doesnt seem to register footsteps or do a vibrate if ones are near by.

If you have to keep the phone screen on and its not able to run in the background then thats fairly rubbish design plus it will eat battery life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

I know it is not officially released yet but there really could be some more in game explanations.

I still confused about gyms, so I came across a gym today owned by other team. Clicked on it to see what the story was and ended up attacking it turns out the combat is not turn based you have to touch the screen to attack and I think hold down to special attack, based on charging up, no explanation of this at all. Anyway got my ass kicked so now have a couple of pokemon with no health, is the only way to heal them to use items, or do they heal over time/distance, can they be put in a friendly gym to heal?

Came across a friendly gym but couldn't see anyway of doing that, I did manage to put in one of my pokemon, is it limited to 1. Then by accident battled against him with one of mine. He now appears to be back with me after getting beaten at the gym, and I think the gym is now someone else's, so do you only get coins if I can get back to the gym while it is still my team, the gym closest to me is changing hands all the time.

So still very confused, I am up to 15 kinds of pokemon seen now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

Same thing happened to me, tapped into a gym and before I knew what was going on I was in a fight with something over 300cp higher than me - made quick work of everything I had while I tapped the screen not really knowing what was going on :pac:

Interestingly though I closed down the app mid-fight, and after relaunch it was as if it never happened, no damage to pokemon.

23 Seen, 22 caught now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭recyclops

turns out my office has pokeclub in the actual office, how bizarre is that

There's a lot of confusion around gyms. Here's what I've gathered.

Take an empty gym as a starting point. You can add your Pokemon to that gym. But you can only add one. Now you can fight ("train") your own Pokemon at that gym the same way you would challenge an enemy gym. Other members of your team can also do the same. Each fight raises the prestige points of your gym. Once you hit certain prestige point markers, more Pokemon can be added to that gym (but again, only 1 per player). This is why teamwork is important. From what I gather, training hurts your Pokemon (the one you use to train, not the one occupying the gym) but doesn't kill them, i.e. you'll only ever have to use potions but not revives.

When enemies attack your gym (or you attack theirs), you don't always gain control first time even if you win. Each fight damages that gym's prestige points. It may take 2, 3 - even 4 battles to knock a gym's prestige points down to 0. Only then can the gym be taken over (it will turn grey on the map).

If you come across a gym of the same team, and you don't already have a Pokemon at it and it won't let you add anymore, then you need to train at that gym to increase it's prestige points until a new spot opens up.

• Registered Users Posts: 11 rocheyk1

Lads I'm addicted... downloaded it Friday night.. hooked. what a nostalgia. might get old pretty quick but i'll still give it ago until then anyway. Was running around last night because it said there was a Golem nearby. (Near UCC in Cork). Prepping for the Gym battles later. Stong Pidgeot /Hypno, mediocre Jynx . Is the best way to just build up the candies, then hope to get the evolved form- then power it up that way? I evolved my pidgey to pidgeooto then pidgeot... took ages... and was close to evolving my drowzee then caught pretty powerful hypno and upped it using the drowsee candies. Any tips??

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

So far I have:
    Charmander, Weedle, Caterpie, Marowak, Shellder, Horsea, Spearow, Pidgey, Rattata, Eevee, Koffing, Jigglypuff, Zubat, Venonat and Drowzee.

I've yet to evolve any of them but judging by the Eevee candy I can almost evolve it into a Flareon.

In Ballyfermot industrial area there seems to be Dratinis along with other water pokemon.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Walter H Price

Desperate to get this game , but i cant figure out how to get it on an iphone 6

• Registered Users Posts: 365 ✭✭Nopeare

Can you still play if you log back into your regular apple account? I'm concerned there might be issues with updates if you're logged into a different account?

I've logged back into my regular account and had no problems as in the game I sign in with my gmail account. I'm not 100% sure but don't believe its linked to your iTunes account and once the game is available in Europe it should update like other apps

I'm basing this off my closest experience which would be the AIB app. I now live in London and couldn't get the app from iTunes here and had to change region to Ireland to download and then changed back and it still seems to update and never had a problem. But I can't answer for certain.
    El Nick wrote: »
    Has anyone had any thoughts on what Pokemon spawn where?

I'm Dublin-based (team yellow ftw!) My son and I were walking around Marlay Park on Sunday - we caught 5 or so Hitmonchans each. Never seen a Hitmonchan out of that park. I travel to work on the Red Line LUAS - Hitmonlee has popped up twice for me at Croppies Acre, and I've caught two Dratinis out by Black Horse. At the Street Performance World Festival on Saturday in Merrion Square we saw a geansai-load of Magmar.

Obviously the likes of Fritatta, Pidgey, Bellsprout, Weedle et. al show up everywhere, but does anyone else reckon certain pokemon hang around certain locations? Or am I going mad? If so, what have you seen where?

Reading that I think it probably does as said above I'm living in London and went to Regents park and Green park the weekend to have a look as well as generally around south London where I live and haven't seen a single Hitmonchan, Hitmonlee, Magmar or bellsprout yet. Although I did catch a Blastoise this morning in my office... But I've found the parks had a good few goldeens, squirtles, drowzees/hypnos (they're everywhere), staryu, gastley, jynx, krabby and magikarps

Nopeare wrote: »
    haven't seen a single Hitmonchan, Hitmonlee, Magmar or bellsprout yet. Although I did catch a Blastoise this morning in my office... But I've found the parks had a good few goldeens, squirtles, drowzees/hypnos (they're everywhere), staryu, gastley, jynx, krabby and magikarps

If it's not just confirmation bias that might be a good idea for a sticky, then.

Currently I *believe* we have :
    Dratini (Ballyfermot, Co. Dublin)
    Hitmonlee (Croppies Acre, Dublin)
    Hitmonchan (Marlay Park, Co. Dublin)
    Magmar (Merrion Square, Dublin)

Any more for any more?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

It also depends on your trainer level. The higher the level the more the % chance for powerful and rare Pokemon. The Dratinis didn't show on 'nearby' til I got level 5.

Jigglypuffs in Clondalkin from level 1 :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Lapras appeared when I was in bed last night, but only for a split second and disappeared before I could click. :(
    My gyms get stolen back so fast! All I see are drowsees, rattatas and pidgeys out here at work.

Just got charmander from an egg :)

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭Colham

Anyone else here playing in Swords? The gyms up here are changing every few hours! Serious competition! #TeamValor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

If it's not just confirmation bias that might be a good idea for a sticky, then.

Currently I *believe* we have :
    Dratini (Ballyfermot, Co. Dublin)
    Hitmonlee (Croppies Acre, Dublin)
    Hitmonchan (Marlay Park, Co. Dublin)
    Magmar (Merrion Square, Dublin)

Any more for any more?

Plenty of Hitmonchans in Cherrywood Business Park as well. Some Staryu's as well but not quite as common.
    My gyms get stolen back so fast!
    Colham wrote: »
    Anyone else here playing in Swords? The gyms up here are changing every few hours! Serious competition! #TeamValor

Teamwork is so vital. You really need someone else on your team ready to go once you capture a gym and boost the prestige as quick as you can. Only having one Pokemon in your gym just makes it easy pickings as even if you're Pokemon is really strong, it's a lot easier to spam it a stack of times and eventually win.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,184 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

couple of people playing in the city centre I can see (and as soon as I picked valor , every feckin gym got taken by much MUCH higher level mystics...balls!)
    A lot of MagiKarps and Zubats near john rogersons quay ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,069 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

My house is just surrounded by Electric types, I've gotten so many Magnemites and Voltorbs.

Also the nearest gym is the same team as myself, there were like 5 pokemon assigned to it and I've just assigned one of my own to it too, could anyone explain this? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

I'm contemplating walking home from work...

My house is just surrounded by Electric types, I've gotten so many Magnemites and Voltorbs.

Care to share where you're at? I mean... y'know... generally. You don't want a gajillion people turning up outside your house, faces illuminated only by the glow of the phone...

Saw some Dratini by the convention centre too. I really hope they bring in trading, I'd love some Magmars and Squirtles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,481 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Saw this, might be helpful:

Eggs by distance:
    9HdbtXAl.jpg

Anyone know if you leave a pokemon in a gym and it's defeated, does it revert back to you?

RedXIV wrote: »
    Anyone know if you leave a pokemon in a gym and it's defeated, does it revert back to you?

Yes, but it will need to be revived.

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭craic_dealer

RedXIV wrote: »
    Saw this, might be helpful:

Eggs by distance:
    9HdbtXAl.jpg

It goes straight back to you with 1 health point. It doesn't tell you if it happens though.

You just have to go into your Pokemon Screen, and if the red/blue/yellow symbol is gone from your Pokemon, then it got kicked out.

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭craic_dealer

I've started on a Google map to mark gym locations in Ireland. Only have places around north side of Dublin so far.

Thought it might be helpful for people, and it's open for anyone to add gyms to when they locate them.

Might expand it to include rare Pokemon sightings and maybe Pokestops.

Here's the link: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1QlQPPxblFrzk65v27Zc34GddgN4&usp=sharing

I've started on a Google map to mark gym locations in Ireland. Only have places around north side of Dublin so far.

Thought it might be helpful for people, and it's open for anyone to add gyms to when they locate them.

Might expand it to include rare Pokemon sightings and maybe Pokestops.

Here's the link: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1QlQPPxblFrzk65v27Zc34GddgN4&usp=sharing

Awesome. Hope you dont mind I added a layer of locations I found pokemon other than the usual Weedle/rattata/pidgey etc

EDIT: We need a stickied post of useful information for Go!

Awesome. Hope you dont mind I added a layer of locations I found pokemon other than the usual Weedle/rattata/pidgey etc

EDIT: We need a stickied post of useful information for Go!

I've started adding Gyms in Swords.

I've started on a Google map to mark gym locations in Ireland.

Joining in. Marked some gyms I've hit outside of Dublin and am adding pokemon sightings to Cherryghost's layer now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,069 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Care to share where you're at? I mean... y'know... generally. You don't want a gajillion people turning up outside your house, faces illuminated only by the glow of the phone...

Aha up in Rush, right by the beach. Not sure why there are so many Electric types.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,481 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Added a few gyms around sandyford. Not many rare pokemon around here though :(