Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car Conundrum

• 07-07-2016 12:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭

Well lads I find myself in a bit of a sticky situation, not entirely unlike ToyotaFanBoi recently. I'm moving out of my apartment this weekend and as a result will have an approximate 800km a week commute/weekend drive. I was all set to drive the 166 on the commute but unfortunately tragedy has struck this week and the throttle position sensor has failed.:(:(:( The worst part of this is that it's a very labour intensive job to change as the entire dash has to come out. I believe it's about 15 hours labour and there's no way to guarantee a fix as it may be an ECU issue....

Aside from that as, much as I would like it to be, it's probably not the very most suitable tool for the job due to it getting on a bit at this stage, getting a bit harder to insure and the fuel consumption is on the heavy side for this sort of miles.

I don't have much of a budget and I don't really like spending lots of money on cars. What I'm looking for I think is 2004 and newer for insurance reasons:(. Diesel :(:( but I want it to be something a bit odd and a bit interesting. From driving the 166 I have become accustomed to quite a high level of comfort, quiet and refinement, and good handling. I haven't totally ruled out repairing the 166 and using it either, just looking for options.

What can you recommend me on a budget of less than 1500? :)

Here's what I have found so far.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/rover-75-connoisseur-cdti-2004/12762851

Zjc0ODZlZTU1Zjc2MTVmNGI5Mzg1NDBkNGNjNzg4NWO_APgIi9xv-dEVHZECLuDaaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b181ODYwMDg2M3x8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/peugeot-407-diesel-automatic-leather-65mpg/12535603

MDdmMjM5MTRjZmQ5ZTBjZWM4ZGQ5ZWNkMTcwMThhZGFDmDkGOBLHlKH9E-eCn1mTaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b181NzQ2OTU5NHx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/citroen-c5-for-sale/12367927

YzEzNzljMDg3Njc1ZmI4YjQ0MDYwOTQyZjZkZmZmNzBWl962NnbY10kSgb1JUzGfaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b181NjYyMjcxN3x8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,858 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I'd go 407 but only if it appears the owner is not a skinflint, if there's not 4 known brand tyres on it I wouldn't even look at it. It's a well spec car and if the owner has looked after it should be a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

I wouldn't touch that Rover. Such an ugly car. Belongs in the 80s with that styling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,228 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mercedes-e220-cdi/12735652

Years test, just about your price range.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31 Nidge Murphy

An old merc, high tax. Drive on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Is there much room to play about with the budget?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-a2-1-4-tdi/12763188

MWRiYTE3ZTgyYTJlNWUwMjY3M2Q4ZDVkZmZhMjg0NmRnYPG5zZagsD_WWo48_ycvaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b181ODYwMjU1NHx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Daysul, cheap tax and its not quite the norm :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Effects wrote: »
    I wouldn't touch that Rover. Such an ugly car. Belongs in the 80s with that styling.

I would disagree! I don't mind the loo of them and seeing as I'm probably going to spend about 12-15 hours a week in it I just want to be comfortable:)
    Nekarsulm wrote: »
    An old merc, high tax. Drive on.

I'm finding it a real struggle to get reasonable insurance on any slightly older stuff :( Otherwise that E class would be right up my street! I'll just double check a quote on it there now...

Is there much room to play about with the budget?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-a2-1-4-tdi/12763188

MWRiYTE3ZTgyYTJlNWUwMjY3M2Q4ZDVkZmZhMjg0NmRnYPG5zZagsD_WWo48_ycvaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b181ODYwMjU1NHx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Daysul, cheap tax and its not quite the norm :P

The norm it sure isn't!!! I love it. I think they're the 3 cylinder diesel engine that was used in the Polo too? Just a dreadfully rough engine and not quite sure I could stomach it after the smoothness and refinement of the V6...

The budget could be a little flexible for the right car. I would also consider petrols too because I find having to drive a diesel hard to accept :P

To be honest Ded_z I'm not convinced that what you are looking for exists. It's like the hot/funny/not-crazy girl chart. Pick two. Or in this case economical/cheap-to-tax/sub-€1500. There is however, this, fits all criteria bar the tax thing by a small bit...but sure what is 200-odd quid difference anyway...

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/renault-vel-satis/12722191

MmJmMzMzNGI4YmIyMDMxODUxNzkxNzU3OWJjZTVhNTDOytGHwm6efj2bLIEnW1kjaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b181ODQwMDkwNXx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Woo! A Vel Satis ! Brave man .... :D

Or if a petrol is a possibility, how about this?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/nissan-maxima-se-auto-mint-condition/12718008

Dull as ditch water, but a V6.

Slightly better looking, newer car..
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/hyundai-sonata-2007/11676939

Just got an online quote for €750 on that E-class... Not too bad actually.

I'm at €620 on the Rover and the tax is a bit cheaper. Merc might be a better option than I thought.

That Merc does look lovely tbh. The right wheels and interior colours. Money-wise though the 75 looks like a great shot though.

To be honest Ded_z I'm not convinced that what you are looking for exists. It's like the hot/funny/not-crazy girl chart. Pick two. Or in this case economical/cheap-to-tax/sub-€1500. There is however, this, fits all criteria bar the tax thing by a small bit...but sure what is 200-odd quid difference anyway...

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/renault-vel-satis/12722191

MmJmMzMzNGI4YmIyMDMxODUxNzkxNzU3OWJjZTVhNTDOytGHwm6efj2bLIEnW1kjaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b181ODQwMDkwNXx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

I know! That's why I need your help to find an option :D:D Vel Satis actually fulfils a lot of the criteria... All of it even!
    Woo! A Vel Satis ! Brave man .... :D

Or if a petrol is a possibility, how about this?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/nissan-maxima-se-auto-mint-condition/12718008

Dull as ditch water, but a V6.

Not too bad but for it to eb "worth it" to me it would need to be well under a grand and I can't see them moving that much on price:(

Found this really sweet Volvo too, Thoughts?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volvo-s40-nct-12-17/12418056

MDY0NzUyYzZkY2VlMGYxMDA1MzA5MTE0N2NjZTQ1OTLg17D7Fm0ggj5ltBKjcBFnaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b181Njg2OTQwMXx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭selectamatic

MTlh_Mj_Zh_NGUz_OWRh_NDUy_NTA0_ZDFk_MThh_MWUw_Zj_I0_Mz_FCSLri.jpg

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2004-mg-zt/12338517

A rover but just a bit nicer looking.

Insurance is as cheap on the ZT as the 75 too :)

Risky miles on the Volvo but a nice car for the money. I would very much judge it on it's own merits with those kind of miles & make sure the clutch is okay especially and take it from there if I was happy with it.

The MG from @selectrmatic is lovely though

On the basis that "the more metal, the better" here is my last suggestion.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-a6-quattro/12661864

Great cars, if you could find a 1.9 you'd be onto a winner. Indestructible cars with the old TDI engine. The 2.5 I'm sure is good too.

As a general rule I hate Audi but you're right in saying that that one tickles my fancy being the 2.5 and quarto :cool: Can't even get an insurance quote on it so I guess that rules it out:( Unless I just risk it :pac:

Thats a real shame that you can't get a quote. You would probably have a better bet with older cars if you went through a broker but I don't know if that is worth it (for you) if you can get a cheaper quote on a newer car.

You could try your hand at being a semi-felter though :cool:

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mint-skoda-superb-price-drop/12610954

YTljYmUwYzIzZGY1NmQ0ZDQ5MTFiMGVlOGNjMTgwODCWFMOCCKf-8a2Z7UKBmAvHaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b181ODAwMTAwNXx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,881 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Here's what I have found so far.

You've pretty much nailed it yourself already tbh. Rover 75, W210 E-class and hydropneumatic Citroen C5 are the only 3 cars within your range that would offer superior comfort. Unless the roads you are travelling on are not so bad, I would have a personal preference for the Mercedes. And that is coming from me, not ever having owned a Mercedes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,858 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

unkel wrote: »
    You've pretty much nailed it yourself already tbh. Rover 75, W210 E-class and hydropneumatic Citroen C5 are the only 3 cars within your range that would offer superior comfort. Unless the roads you are travelling on are not so bad, I would have a personal preference for the Mercedes. And that is coming from me, not ever having owned a Mercedes.

I'll be driving on probably some of the best roads in the country. Basically the entire length of the M50 then a stretch of the N11. Comfort will really depend on the seats I suppose more so than the suspension. The Rover 75 is calling to me really.

Just going to get a quote to fix the 166 this morning just to double check where I stand with it.

Seriously long test on that one too which always helps :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,499 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

The ZT looks flash, but the 75 usually has better interior.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    The ZT looks flash, but the 75 usually has better interior.

Looks that way alright. That 75 is also in Dublin which is also where I am in a 166 that can not achieve 16% throttle so it has that advantage too :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

Great cars, if you could find a 1.9 you'd be onto a winner. Indestructible cars with the old TDI engine. The 2.5 I'm sure is good too.

How bout this? :pac: Probably worn smooth, but has long nct and is only 650 euros.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-a6-1-9-tdi/12745551

( bit far from you, and I'm not sure you will want to spend a large chunk of your life in an old audi...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,338 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Most Merc E Classes of that vintage suffer from terrible rust and electrical problems. That model E Class was not Mercedes finest creation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    The norm it sure isn't!!! I love it. I think they're the 3 cylinder diesel engine that was used in the Polo too? Just a dreadfully rough engine and not quite sure I could stomach it after the smoothness and refinement of the V6...

My daily driver is one of the Audi A2 tdi's. Yes it's the 1.4 3 cylinder engine that was shared with the Polo and Arosa. I've the earlier engine, with no DPF, and it's far from 'dreadfully rough' - okay, at idle it's obviously a diesel, but it makes pretty nice (non agricultural) noises as you progress, and the cabin is pretty well sound insulated. I'd consider it pretty civilised. I'm very happy with mine, particularly after getting it remapped with A2 specialists in the UK. It's not going to be V6 refined, but you're not looking for a V6, are you? Downside of the A2's is their suspension - which is pretty boaty - and needs replaced with something decent - once done - no real issues with the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

From having owned an E class of the vintage you are looking at - rust and electrical issues are very real problems.
    Plus its got over 200,000 miles on-board and you will be clocking up ~800 km a week - You need something with a bit less miles (imo)
    The 407 listed above with reasonable mileage (and Auto) is the pick of the bunch for me.
    The 2.0l is far superior to the 1.6.
    my 2c

alastair wrote: »
    My daily driver is one of the Audi A2 tdi's. Yes it's the 1.4 3 cylinder engine that was shared with the Polo and Arosa. I've the earlier engine, with no DPF, and it's far from 'dreadfully rough' - okay, at idle it's obviously a diesel, but it makes pretty nice (non agricultural) noises as you progress, and the cabin is pretty well sound insulated. I'd consider it pretty civilised. I'm very happy with mine, particularly after getting it remapped with A2 specialists in the UK. It's not going to be V6 refined, but you're not looking for a V6, are you? Downside of the A2's is their suspension - which is pretty boaty - and needs replaced with something decent - once done - no real issues with the car.

I guy I work with had one of those engines in a polo and I found it very rough. I'm not really looking for a V6 but that's what I have just been driving so that's why I made the comparison.

Regarding the Mercedes. Yes they do rot really badly and yes lots of electrical stuff goes wrong with them. We have owned a couple of mercs from that vintage and though stuff does go wrong with them I find that the essential stuff like engine gearboxes suspension and brakes etc pretty much never go wrong. Just my own experience with them. Also in avengarde spec they handle and drive really nicely.

I've been trying to call my mechanic all day to ask him for a quote for fixing the 166 be he hasn't answered yet! I think it probably makes sense to change car anyway though.

Surprised I am (I think) the first to say it after 30 posts - but what about a diesel Alfa?

Could be a runner alright. I just don;t think you would get a good 156 diesel for that budget, just a slightly neglected one.

Finally got through to the mechanic and he said he can diagnose the 166 fairly easily to determine if it's the ECU or the sensor that's bad. He has also found a way to replace the sensors without having to take the entire dash out which would mean only 5 hours labour rather than 12+. That'll make a big difference. If it is the sensor the 166 plan might pull through and there won't be this panic to find something else... I'm trying to organise bringing the 166 down to him this evening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

2006 Alfa 159 petrol, 18 months NCT to 12/17, tax for 3 months. It's in Meath, so not too far away, looking for €1795.

Knock €200 off asking, there's another €200 of tax or so on it, so it's a bit od a bargain. Big miles, but looks well minded.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/alfa-romeo-159-sportivo-tax-amp-nct/12718584

YTYwZWM5ZGVkNjVkMmU5ZjUwNGM3NDBiM2IxMjlhYTSbby-prx4eEbHzaYuv_LbKaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b181ODM4MzMyNXx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

If you are looking at a 159, always check the front subframe for rust. The undertray and arches trap water and muck and the poorly applied powdercoat fails quickly.

That looks a right bargain for someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,945 ✭✭✭Bigus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭selectamatic

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/12770073
    Rover MG diesel tax and tested

Isn't the clutch a pig to work on on those?
    €300 is for nothing and that worries me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

MTlh_Mj_Zh_NGUz_OWRh_NDUy_NTA0_ZDFk_MThh_MWUw_Zj_I0_Mz_FCSLri.jpg

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2004-mg-zt/12338517

A rover but just a bit nicer looking.

This is lovely. Yeah, a 75 would be more comfortable but the ZT Facelift is a real stunner.
    Isn't the clutch a pig to work on on those?
    €300 is for nothing and that worries me

The master cyliner is inside the gearbox I think, which is no craic. The rule of thumb is if it has a heavy clutch pedal that it's on the way out.

That said it's probably no more expensive that doing a DMF in a 1.9 TDi VAG product.

An uncanny set of similar circumstance there alright DZ, we are pretty much driving the same route too :pac:

Imo you need a 2.0 DTi Vectra C. They go for buttons and the DTi is an absolute mule unlike the latter CDTi.

Finally a touch of relatively good luck. Just brought the 166 down to the mechanic. The first thing is that he is relatively confident that it is a TPS issue not an ECU issue. :) So fingers crossed for that.

The other bit of good news is that he has a 156 that he has been looking after for a customer for years. it's a diesel, 2004, 102,000 miles (displayed :pac:), it would come with a new test and with a brand new timing belt kit fitted and within budget. If it is the ECU gone on the 166 I think that 156 would be the one to buy.

Good news everyone :D

THe 166 is fixed. It was actually the throttle body that was bad, mechanic changed it out for another second hand one and the fault is gone. Hopefully it stays gone now :P He also fitted cruise control stalks for me so it's now the ultimate commute machine :) Only €150 too!!

Thanks anyway for all of your help, I really do appreciate your efforts. I was in a bit of a panic. Hopefully the 166 keeps on rolling for another while now trouble free.

Worst thread ever ;)

Sorry, I'll try harder next time :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,573 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,660 ✭✭✭✭Esel

^ Did you not get the memo? We're back in Alfaville, and all systems are go! :)

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,780 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Holy ****, I had no idea there was such a thing as adding cruise control to a car - this changes everything!

Do the aftermarket ones work OK?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,660 ✭✭✭✭Esel

keane2097 wrote: »
    Holy ****, I had no idea there was such a thing as adding cruise control to a car - this changes everything!

Do the aftermarket ones work OK?
    I could be wrong, but I think the wiring is in place in a lot of cars. I would say the parts to be fitted would be OEM or s/h.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,780 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Esel wrote: »
    I could be wrong, but I think the wiring is in place in a lot of cars. I would say the parts to be fitted would be OEM or s/h.

Just googling now. Some guy on adverts in Clane offering to install it for €100 (05 Audi TT) - I'm giddy here :pac:

keane2097 wrote: »
    Just googling now. Some guy on adverts in Clane offering to install it for €100 (05 Audi TT) - I'm giddy here :pac:

Yep the car was already wired for it and when I replaced the ECU before the replacement one had cruise. I then had second hand stalks fitted with the cruise control buttons.

I drove about 420 miles of a shake down in the 166 today, no faults occurred so I'm hopeful that it may be fixed :)