Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Static IP's & RDP

• 07-07-2016 9:14pm
    Registered Users Posts: 19

...trying to RDP to a Windows box on the Lan, if network card is set to DHCP I can RDP no probs, if I set a static IPv4 (same net, same gateway (Horizon router)) RDP fails - oddly a VM running on the machine is responsive but the host itself is just ignorant to requests ... is something going on with Windows firewall maybe???

• Registered Users Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭ItHurtsWhenIP

Freqm0n wrote: »
    ...trying to RDP to a Windows box on the Lan, if network card is set to DHCP I can RDP no probs, if I set a static IPv4 (same net, same gateway (Horizon router)) RDP fails - oddly a VM running on the machine is responsive but the host itself is just ignorant to requests ... is something going on with Windows firewall maybe???

Can you ping it when it's on static?

• Registered Users Posts: 19 Freqm0n

nope, but again madly the VM running on it (bridged virtual card on same net) is responding to ye ol' ping. . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

nope, but again madly the VM running on it (bridged virtual card on same net) is responding to ye ol' ping. . .

Can you tell us the IP you get with DHCP, the IP you are setting as the static address and the IP of the VM?

syklops wrote: »
    Can you tell us the IP you get with DHCP, the IP you are setting as the static address and the IP of the VM?

DHCP on the router handed out 192.168.192.7

I set host card static IP to 192.168.192.7 (restarted router in-case DHCP still thinks itself to own that address (or handed it out etc))

The VM's card has the address of 192.168.192.100

...yesterday without any VM crap I simply went from DHCP address to static and couldn't get an answer from the box ... so ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

DHCP on the router handed out 192.168.192.7

I set host card static IP to 192.168.192.7 (restarted router in-case DHCP still thinks itself to own that address (or handed it out etc))

The VM's card has the address of 192.168.192.100

Can you ping the host from the VM when its set to static?

...Nmap ping scan shows the box as there but a ping windows command does f.all ... so ?

syklops wrote: »
    Can you ping the host from the VM when its set to static?

From the VM to the bridged host card I get:

PING 192.168.192.7 (192.168.192.7): 56 data bytes

--- 192.168.192.7 ping statistics ---
    3 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100.0% packet loss

• Registered Users Posts: 36,167 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Sounds like you have a dud mask? Are you using 255.255.255.0?

...this is nuts - must be Windows firewall ... what else could it be ... but why on earth would windows firewall act up just because it wasn't handed an IP via DHCP???

ED E wrote: »
    Sounds like you have a dud mask? Are you using 255.255.255.0?

on the host Windows auto-fills the mask when tabbing through the boxes, so there's no chance it's wrong - would have noticed it I'm sure of that ...

Hang on a tick - you still have DHCP on, setting a static address in the DHCP pool??? That doesn't sound right, unless you reserve the 192.168.192.7 address on the DHCP server.

If you want statics within a /24 block, then tell DHCP to only use a part of it ... e.g.- 192.168.192.10 - 192.168.192.250.

Depending on the gateway that leaves 192.168.192.1-192.168.192.9 for statics.

MMFITWGDV wrote: »
    Hang on a tick - you still have DHCP on, setting a static address in the DHCP pool??? That doesn't sound right, unless you reserve the 192.168.192.7 address on the DHCP server.

If you want statics within a /24 block, then tell DHCP to only use a part of it ... e.g.- 192.168.192.10 - 192.168.192.250.

Depending on the gateway that leaves 192.168.192.1-192.168.192.9 for statics.

Fair play to ya - didn't think the router gave a feck about what had what ... job done all good.

Thanks guy's ;)

thank-you-call-again-42094364.jpg