Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Films You Haven't Seen That Seemingly Everyone Else Has

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,322 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Lord of the Rings
    Harry Potter (did go to one of them in the cinema but fell asleep so don't think that counts either)
    Godfather trilogy
    Rocky

There's tons more but im gonna quit while I'm behind....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

Elliott S wrote: »
    I've seen it unfortunately. I hate this shíte that if you're female you have to love that film. It's such unbelievable schmaltz. And feckin' 'Beaches'. And 'The Notebook'.

I carried a watermelon...... :cool:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Haven't seen
    ET
    Fight Club
    One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest
    Sound of Music
    The Lion King

You can probably stand to miss that one
    The Hobbit prequels to LOTR are like the Star Wars prequels in that respect.

KingBrian2 wrote: »
    Not a great selection on the Demand player. I was hoping to watch the film Khartoum. Never did see that nor Lawrence of Arabia which I am planning to shortly.
    Lawrence, forget the plot just watch the landscape on the biggest bestest TV you can

Willie Wonka
    Like the Ladykillers the remake is something I'd rather forget as in please purge it from my memory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Elliott S

Haven't seen
    ET
    Fight Club
    One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest
    Sound of Music
    The Lion King

PLEASE watch One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

I saw the 1st (now 4th!) Star Wars- bored me to tears

Didn't watch any of the others

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Son0vagun

2 girls, 1 cup.

Heard It's Shyte.

Never seen The Snapper.

Elliott S wrote: »
    I've seen it unfortunately. I hate this shíte that if you're female you have to love that film. It's such unbelievable schmaltz. And feckin' 'Beaches'. And 'The Notebook'.

I watched Beaches one day it was on More 4 or something- awful cack

Haven't seen HP or Godfather films in full either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Most of the Star Wars
    Once Upon A Time in America (Ridiculous length of time)
    Harry Potter
    Most of those Comic Book movies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

ET
    Harry Potter films.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

I'm ashamed to say I have seen every one of the mentioned films so far. Even dirty dancing. (I had a dumbass stepsister who loved it when we were kids)

Can't think of any films I haven't seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭The Highwayman

Haven't seen any of the Harry Potter or James Bond films and I've zero interest in changing that.

Haven't seen Avatar, any of the Jurassic Park films or The Lion King either.

How could you not have seen a James Bond film? Just being alive and a TV on you'll see a bond. Especially around Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,540 ✭✭✭Stigura

D0NNELLY wrote: »
    The big lebowski
    Donnie darko
    Green mile

:eek: PUL Eeeeease watch The Green Mile! Good lord, ye could walk under a truck tomorrow! I have the DVD on my shelf. Watched it several times. Never bored me.

I've never seen a Star Wars film. Simply because 'space' just isn't my thing.

Funnily enough though, I'll simply never tire of watching the Eddie Izzard skit of it! :D

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

How could you not have seen a James Bond film? Just being alive and a TV on you'll see a bond. Especially around Christmas.

I have seen bits and pieces of them on the telly with the sound off, but I can't be arsed to watch a whole one from start to finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,912 ✭✭✭✭Eeden

I only watch Mongolian art house films myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭sheep?

Frozen.

Also the new Mad Max one.

Wait, missed the bit about being embarrassed to not have seen.

None. If I had wanted to watch it, I would have.

I hate The Green Mile

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭Awful_Bliss

Anchorman

• Registered Users Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

• Registered Users Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

mansize wrote: »
    I hate The Green Mile

Didn't hate it but it's definitely nonsense.

I've not seen any of the hundreds of Batman fillums of the last 15 years. And none of the millions of superhero ones either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,299 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Star Wars. All of them.
    But it's on my Bucket List!!!!

Didn't hate it but it's definitely nonsense.

I've not seen any of the hundreds of Batman fillums of the last 15 years. And none of the millions of superhero ones either.

Sorry yes, nonsense, the whole one bad guy did all the evil...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭sheep?

mansize wrote: »
    Wait, missed the bit about being embarrassed to not have seen.

None. If I had wanted to watch it, I would have.

****e, I never noticed that either.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,908 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Gone With The Wind
    MadDog76 wrote: »
    I've never watched a Star Wars or Harry Potter movie .......... but I'm actually quite proud of that fact. :)

Why would you be proud of that? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

Suas11 wrote: »
    Gone With The Wind

Why would you be proud of that? :confused:

Because I've met fans of those movies ............ geeky, bed-wetting, mammy's boys the lot of them! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,787 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

I've not seen any of the..

Lord of the rings.
    Harry Potter.
    Fast and the furious.
    Star Trek.
    Twilight.
    Captain America.
    Xmen.
    James Bond (since Peirce Brosnan)

And I don't think I ever will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭ectoraige

Forest Gump
    Seven

D0NNELLY wrote: »
    The big lebowski
    Donnie darko
    Green mile

Great movies, you should really give then a look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Far too many to mention. Most 'blockbusters'.

I only saw Blues Brothers for the first time last year.

I am going to watch Bladerunner this weekend if I get time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Eeden wrote: »
    I only watch Mongolian art house films myself
    Guess you've never seen this https://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/mongol/ then. It's not very Art House.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,292 ✭✭✭jh79

Never seen any of the Pixar films, Harry Potter, Marvel films or newer Star Wars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Star Wars
    I've seen a bit of the first one and, over the years, I've caught wind of the story and what happens and, frankly, I'm not really bothered about seeing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Son0vagun wrote: »
    Never seen The Snapper.

Ah here......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I can't get into James Bond and have not seen any 007 film made in the last 20 years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

jacksie66 wrote: »
    I've seen every movie ever created..

Are you Carl from Family Guy?? :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

sugarman wrote: »
    Most of the films mention here are over rated, over glorified muck.

Godfather trilogy, don't get the appeal. First is meh, 2nd is good, 3rd is tripe.

Shawshank, seriously? It's grand like but has to be one of the most over rated films of all times? It's always top of these 'must see before you die lists.

LOTR trilogy, a wash of boring over used CGI coupled with poor scripting / acting. Just wasn't a fan, ruined the books for me.

Starwars, meh. Original trilogy is decent, hasn't aged well at all.

Etc.. Etc..

Suppose it's all subjective.

I know you entitled to your opinion but you're just plain wrong about the Godfather trilogy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Haven't ever seen a Star Wars or Lord d the Rings film. They're just not of any interest to me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Giacomo McGubbin

sugarman wrote: »
    Most of the films mention here are over rated, over glorified muck.

Godfather trilogy, don't get the appeal. First is meh, 2nd is good, 3rd is tripe.

Shawshank, seriously? It's grand like but has to be one of the most over rated films of all times? It's always top of these 'must see before you die lists.

LOTR trilogy, a wash of boring over used CGI coupled with poor scripting / acting. Just wasn't a fan, ruined the books for me.

Starwars, meh. Original trilogy is decent, hasn't aged well at all.

Etc.. Etc..

Suppose it's all subjective.

What do you suggest is good ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

BBDBB wrote: »
    Never seen ET

What's ET short for?

Because of his stumpy legs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

cantdecide wrote: »
    What's ET short for?

Because of his stumpy legs

I genuinely lol'd :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,195 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Brokeback Mountain. Eh no thanks

Frozen. That damn song

Saw. Couldn't be arsed

Shame. Not bothered to see that...

ectoraige wrote: »
    Forest Gump
    Seven

I should add The Sound of Music

• Registered Users Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭Dufflecoat Fanny

slumdog millionare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭idnkph

Frost Gump

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

A college friend was shocked to discover I ve never watched nor have any interest in watching the godfather trilogy, scarface or goodfella's

Burial. wrote: »
    I know you entitled to your opinion but you're just plain wrong about the Godfather trilogy.
    He's right
    #3 was the work of someone who needed money for his family. Studio demanded that
    Michael gets redemption
    which IMHO ruined what was already the worst of the series.

Ruu wrote: »
    I am going to watch Bladerunner this weekend if I get time.
    One of the best things about that film is the CGI. It has none.

Music is good too. And the atmosphere, it's been copied too many times but still stands out.

I bought Ultraviolet on Blu-Ray. It was 25c and it was only to test a Blu-Ray player. I still feel cheated :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Oddly enough the opening scene of the Blues Brothers pays homage to the opening scene of Blade Runner.
    How exactly?

The Blues Brothers came out in 1980, Blade Runner in 1982. That would be pretty impressive.