Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ireland Under 20 2017 6 Nations/Junior World Cup

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 410 ✭✭brockboy02

I see Conor O'Briens younger brother Sean is with Clontarf, talented centre, who should push for an academy place next season when he is u20.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭Tarf1234

brockboy02 wrote: »
    I see Conor O'Briens younger brother Sean is with Clontarf, talented centre, who should push for an academy place next season when he is u20.

Ye he played for the 20s on Sunday. He's a very big lad, good skills too looks really composed on the ball.

Any chance you have a teamsheet?

1. Dan McCaffrey
    2. Cian Galvin
    3. Geoffrey Chapman
    4. Hugh Fenlon
    5. Dylan Murray
    6. Matias Clapp
    7. Mattie Keane
    8. Mark Williams
    9. Andrew Feeney
    10. Conor Jennings
    11. Christian Baur
    12. Jamie McAleese
    13. Conor Byrne
    14. Chris McIlheney
    15. James O'Kane

16. Oisin Kelly
    17. Sam Butler
    18. James Hurley
    19. Jordan Mulvaney
    20. Fiachra Smith
    21. Sean O'Brien
    22. Seni Reilly

Thanks, interesting that Jennings is playing 10.. was excellent at 13 for Belvedere, but had been a 10 all the way up. Thought his best chance at an academy gig was in the centre too.

Surprisd O'Brien didn't start, would rate him higher than Byrne.

Some names in there I don't know at all.

Thanks, interesting that Jennings is playing 10.. was excellent at 13 for Belvedere, but had been a 10 all the way up. Thought his best chance at an academy gig was in the centre too.

Surprisd O'Brien didn't start, would rate him higher than Byrne.

Some names in there I don't know at all.

O'Brien is only down a week.

Jennings could easily play seniors this year at either 10 or centre.

Good few guys there from our youths set up which is great to see us doing again.

Hope to see Jennings play senior, rate him pretty highly.

Agree he is a very high quality player.

Will have an uphill battle to play for Ireland u20 I fear, due to him not taking part in interpros.

ye really pity because I would have thought he'd be in the mix otherwise.

Yeah hopefully it won't, if he gets a chance at senior rugby he will need to perform.

Lots of depth at 10, not so much at 12 IMO.

I'd like to see Leinster be more creative with the backs, someone like Ciaran Frawley may not have the control needed to be a professional 10, but he is an excellent athlete, with a lot of the skills needed to be successful. A move to another position could really benefit him.

Because right now I can't see both he and Conor Dean making the academy this season.

Although Leinster will have no outhalves in next years academy, so maybe it's possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭shaungil

Yeah hopefully it won't, if he gets a chance at senior rugby he will need to perform.

Lots of depth at 10, not so much at 12 IMO.

I'd like to see Leinster be more creative with the backs, someone like Ciaran Frawley may not have the control needed to be a professional 10, but he is an excellent athlete, with a lot of the skills needed to be successful. A move to another position could really benefit him.

Because right now I can't see both he and Conor Dean making the academy this season.

Although Leinster will have no outhalves in next years academy, so maybe it's possible.

Frawley has played centre and fullback for Irish youths

Frawley at fullback would be interesting long term.

Ireland u20 camp ends today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

20s leagues starting up now that qualifiers/qualifying blitzes have finished up.

There was 16 teams in qualifying leagues in Leinster. Is it 2 divisions of 8? Think some qualifying games this weekend doubled up as jp fanagan round 1 games

JP Fanagan qualifiers finished like this
    A
    1 Trinity 2 Navan 3 Barnhall 4 Naas
    B
    1 UCD 2 Marys 3 Belvo 4 Buccs
    C
    1 Lansdowne 2 Blackrock 3 Greystones 4 NUIG-Corinthians
    D
    1 Tarf 2 Terenure 3 Wesley 4 Suttonians

Division 3
    Bective, Old Belvedere, UCD, Clontarf, Monkstown, Trinity, Galwegians, Greystones, DLSP

There was qualifying blitzes in Munster and fixtures for Donal Walsh Trophy should be up this week...

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭Sudolife

Jennings unused sub for Clontarf Seniors vs Garyowen

Leinster u20 league results:

Dublin University 41 vs 23 Navan
    Naas 8 vs 45 MU Barnhall
    UCD 39 vs 12 Old Belvedere
    Greystones 35 vs 10 NUIG
    Lansdowne 53 vs 3 Blackrock College RFC
    Clontarf 20 vs 19 Terenure College RFC
    Old Wesley 32 vs 15 Suttonians

UCD u20 side:
    15 Tim Foley
    14 Jamie Stone
    13 Oisin O’Meara
    12 Tim Costigan
    11 Robin Reidy
    10 Ciaran Frawley
    9 Niall O’Neill
    1 Rory Mulvihill
    2 Matt O’Donovan
    3 Sam Griffin
    4 Jack Binchy
    5 Alec Byrne
    6 Ben Murray
    7 David Pogatchnik
    8 Ronan Foley

Replacements:
    16 Kevin White
    17 Evin Coyle
    18 Niall Marshall
    19 Faolan Crowe
    20 Tom Foley
    21 Jack O’Shea
    22 Brionn Coffey

Peter Kelleher started at 3 for UL Bohs.
    Stephen McGivern started at 3 for UCD.
    Aaron Browne(u19) stated at 4 for Old Wesley.
    Caelan Doris(u19) started at 4 for St. Marys.
    Jack Regan started at 4 for Leinster A.
    Jonny Guy started for UCD at 6.
    John Foley started at 8 for Shannon.
    Bailey Faloon started at 8 for Garryowen.
    Jack Stafford started at 9 for Shannon.
    Calvin Nash started at 14 for Young Munster.
    Liam Coombes started at 11 for Garryowen, 1 try.
    Colm Hogan started at 11 for DUFC, 1 try.
    Conor Kelly started at 11 for Ulster A.
    Jack Kelly started at 15 for DUFC.
    Luke Carty started at 15 for Buccaneers.

Tim Foley(Outhalf) & Rory Mulvihill(Prop) were on the bench for UCD.
    Tadgh McElroy(Hooker) & Paul Boyle(Backrow) were on the bench for Lansdowne.
    Conor Dean(Outhalf) was on the bench for St. Marys.
    Joey Conway(Prop) was on the bench for UL Bohs.
    Gavin Coombes(Backrow) & Alan Tynan(Outhalf) were on the bench for Young Munster.
    Peadar Collins(Centre/Wing) was on the bench for Garryowen.
    Jordan Larmour(Wing) scored a try off the bench for Leinster A, Oisin Dowling(Lock) was on the bench for Leinster A.

Alan Fitzgerald, munster backrow after picking up an injury that will make him a doubt for 6 nations.

3 under-20's in Ulster A team: Johnny McPhillips(outhalf/fullback), Callum Smith(Centre/Fullback) & Conor Kelly(wing)
    2 under-20 in Leinster A team: Jordan Larmour(Wing), Jack Kelly(Fullback/Centre)
    7 under-20's in Munster A team: Colm Hogan(Fullback/Wing), John Foley(Backrow), Gavin Coombes(Backrow), Niall Mulcahy(Backrow), Peter Kelleher(Prop), Fineen Wycherley(Lock), Calvin Nash(Centre/wing)
    2 under-20's in Connacht A side: Sean Masterson(Backrow), Luke Carty(Outhalf/Fullback)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭kingofthekong

Jack Kelly playing 13 is good to see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,816 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Who was ahead of Joey Carberry at Ireland U20 level? He seems far too good to have been left out. Was it Johnston and McPhillips? Or was it the year before when Byrne was 10?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭the baby bull elephant

bilston wrote: »
    Who was ahead of Joey Carberry at Ireland U20 level? He seems far too good to have been left out. Was it Johnston and McPhillips? Or was it the year before when Byrne was 10?

It was Byrne.

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭rughug

It was Byrne.

He wasn't left out. He played the entire World Cup campaign, yes by default coz Byrne was injured, but he was well on the radar then. Don't get carried away, Castres were awful. Kelleher going to Connacht is an example of how best to manage Irelands emerging talent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

All he said was 'It was Byrne'.......

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭rughug

bilston wrote: »

Sorry Hagz, I was referring to the earlier mention of him being left out.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

3 under-20's in Ulster A team: Johnny McPhillips(outhalf/fullback), Callum Smith(Centre/Fullback) & Conor Kelly(wing)
    2 under-20 in Leinster A team: Jordan Larmour(Wing), Jack Kelly(Fullback/Centre)
    7 under-20's in Munster A team: Colm Hogan(Fullback/Wing), John Foley(Backrow), Gavin Coombes(Backrow), Niall Mulcahy(Backrow), Peter Kelleher(Prop), Fineen Wycherley(Lock), Calvin Nash(Centre/wing)
    2 under-20's in Connacht A side: Sean Masterson(Backrow), Luke Carty(Outhalf/Fullback)
    Rob Lyttle on bench for senior Ulster side.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭kingofthekong

Did anyone see any of the 'A' games and know how any of the lads got on?

Dublin University 41 vs 13 Clontarf
    Terenure College RFC 28 vs 29 Lansdowne
    UCD 37 vs 15 Navan
    Blackrock College RFC 10 vs 30 St Marys College RFC
    Buccaneers 36 vs 13 Greystones
    MU Barnhall 27 vs 27 Old Belvedere
    NUIG 15 vs 47 Old Wesley

UCD U20
    15 Tim Foley
    14 Tim Costigan
    13 Gavin Mullin
    12 Tommy O’Brien
    11 Steven Kilgallen
    10 Ciaran Frawley
    9 Jack Ringrose
    1 Richard Mouatt (Capt)
    2 Matthew O’Donovan
    3 Evin Coyle
    4 Jack Regan
    5 Niall Marshall
    6 David Pogatchnik
    7 Ben Murray
    8 Jonny Guy

Replacements:
    16 Alex Holmes
    17 Sam Griffin
    18 Conor O’Flynn
    19 Faolan Crowe
    20 Niall O’Neill
    21 Jack O’Shea
    22 Oisin O’Meara

Leagues running like normal. Both Munster and Leinster top divisions the usual splits occurring between top sides and rest...

Having now seen Lansdowne, Terenure and Trinity now. I'd say the gap isn't that big this season. Haven't seen UCD yet but none of the 3 teams Tarf have played are exceptional. We let Trinity off the hook and injuries killed us in Lansdowne. The Lansdowne pitch is a real issue now. We had 4 lower limb injuries in our backs in the first 35 minutes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭Stainalert

Tarf1234 wrote: »
    Having now seen Lansdowne, Terenure and Trinity now. I'd say the gap isn't that big this season. Haven't seen UCD yet but none of the 3 teams Tarf have played are exceptional. We let Trinity off the hook and injuries killed us in Lansdowne. The Lansdowne pitch is a real issue now. We had 4 lower limb injuries in our backs in the first 35 minutes.

Hilarious comments around the Lansdowne pitch. For years Clontarf complained about having to play on an artificial pitch against Lansdowne and then they went and installed their own artificial pitch (which uses the same technology). There is nothing wrong with the pitch and your 4 lower limb injuries are an anomaly and I would suggest you look for other causes rather than take the easy option and blame the pitch.

Stainalert wrote: »
    Hilarious comments around the Lansdowne pitch. For years Clontarf complained about having to play on an artificial pitch against Lansdowne and then they went and installed their own artificial pitch (which uses the same technology). There is nothing wrong with the pitch and your 4 lower limb injuries are an anomaly and I would suggest you look for other causes rather than take the easy option and blame the pitch.

Our pitches are entirely different (3G - 4G, yours is 7 years old ours 1). If you have a walk on the Lansdowne pitch you can't deny it is now in brutal condition. What is hilarious is that Lansdowne people still try to protect it.

Sorry to burst your bubble but there is no difference in the technology

http://www.sportsandsafetysurfaces.co.uk/blog/5-a-side-football-pitch/difference-in-3g-4g-5g-6g-synthetic-artificial-pitches

Hundreds of rugby players train and play on that pitch every week varying from small children to elite athletes and it is highly insulting to suggest that Lansdowne or the IRFU (In case you forget the pitch is owned by the IRFU and as such the burden of responsibility is primarily with the IRFU) would endanger any of these players.

Rather than dealing in speculation I would prefer to deal in actual facts. The facts (which Lansdowne as a club constantly monitor) actually suggest that there is a completely normal level of injury associated with the pitch in comparison with grass pitches.

Do you not think that if the pitch was dangerous that Lansdowne would not have made representations to the IRFU?

• Registered Users Posts: 308 ✭✭RuPi

I believe Ireland 20's have a one day camp on Thursday, previously anybody eligible from last year hadn't attended but they will do on Thursday.

Sorry to burst your bubble but there is no difference in the technology

http://www.sportsandsafetysurfaces.co.uk/blog/5-a-side-football-pitch/difference-in-3g-4g-5g-6g-synthetic-artificial-pitches

Hundreds of rugby players train and play on that pitch every week varying from small children to elite athletes and it is highly insulting to suggest that Lansdowne or the IRFU (In case you forget the pitch is owned by the IRFU and as such the burden of responsibility is primarily with the IRFU) would endanger any of these players.

Rather than dealing in speculation I would prefer to deal in actual facts. The facts (which Lansdowne as a club constantly monitor) actually suggest that there is a completely normal level of injury associated with the pitch in comparison with grass pitches.

Do you not think that if the pitch was dangerous that Lansdowne would not have made representations to the IRFU?

So there is no difference between 3 and 4 g from personal experience I would not agree with that. The 7 years wear and tear have made no difference?

I am aware it is the IRFU's responsibility and would put the blame at their feet to a large extent. Also from my personal experience there is usually more ankle and knee injuries their.

The claim that all 3 or 4 or 5 g pitchs are the same is like saying all grass pitches are the same which is a ridiculous.

RuPi wrote: »
    I believe Ireland 20's have a one day camp on Thursday, previously anybody eligible from last year hadn't attended but they will do on Thursday.

Any idea on how many players they're bringing into the camp?

So there is no difference between 3 and 4 g from personal experience I would not agree with that. The 7 years wear and tear have made no difference?

I am aware it is the IRFU's responsibility and would put the blame at their feet to a large extent. Also from my personal experience there is usually more ankle and knee injuries their.

The claim that all 3 or 4 or 5 g pitchs are the same is like saying all grass pitches are the same which is a ridiculous.

The link in my previous post is from a pitch manufacturer - assume they know what they're talking about.

Of course the pitch is not brand new but it is maintained regularly at a very high level by the IRFU (at Lansdowne's insistence)

Your personal experience is somewhat subjective. My view is based on actual facts.

• Registered Users Posts: 285 ✭✭Number 137

The link in my previous post is from a pitch manufacturer - assume they know what they're talking about.

Of course the pitch is not brand new but it is maintained regularly at a very high level by the IRFU (at Lansdowne's insistence)

Your personal experience is somewhat subjective. My view is based on actual facts.

I have to say, having been involved in games on the 3g pitch at Lansdowne Road, and on both 4g pitches in Donnybrook as well as the 4g in Terenure College RFC, the one at Lansdowne Road is an inferior surface in my opinion. It's harder on the joints. And I've heard other people echo these sentiments. I thought the IRFU were planning on re laying it?

We are talking about one individual pitch of course my opinion is subjective.... The companies website is hardly going to admit that the individual pitch in Lansdowne is inferior.

Why are people paying more for 4G pitches? What is the point in developing new generation pitches if they are all the exact same and don't age?

We are talking about one individual pitch of course my opinion is subjective.... The companies website is hardly going to admit that the individual pitch in Lansdowne is inferior.

Why are people paying more for 4G pitches? What is the point in developing new generation pitches if they are all the exact same and don't age?

The company quoted has nothing to do with the Lansdowne pitch. They do point out that "With regards to 4G, 5G and 6G pitches then this basically is where companies advertise to have the latest innovation of synthetic sports surfacing. They basically are saying they have designed the 4th generation, 5th generation and sixth generation of the sports artificial carpets but no accreditation is yet given for this standard to date."

Nobody suggested for one minute that pitches don't age.

Your opinion is subjective because you are giving an opinion and have no factual evidence to support your claims. If the pitch is so awful why didn't any Lansdowne players have lower limb injuries that day?

Congrats to Clontarf on Joey Carberry being selected in the national squad announced this afternoon

Well done but relevance to this thread??

This weekend should hopefully see first full round of games in munster 20s league be completed.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭D14Rugby

Number 137 wrote: »
    I have to say, having been involved in games on the 3g pitch at Lansdowne Road, and on both 4g pitches in Donnybrook as well as the 4g in Terenure College RFC, the one at Lansdowne Road is an inferior surface in my opinion. It's harder on the joints. And I've heard other people echo these sentiments. I thought the IRFU were planning on re laying it?

I have to agree with this having played on them all a fair few times each I've decided I dont like any artificial pitches, I'm a forward so I say bring back mud :P , but the one on the Aviva is 10 times worse to play on and you can definitely feel the affects more the next day.

Saw Terenure vs Marys U20's the other day. Neither team looked amazing but I was pleasantly surprised by mary's, a huge improvement on the last few years.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭FellasFellas

The company quoted has nothing to do with the Lansdowne pitch. They do point out that "With regards to 4G, 5G and 6G pitches then this basically is where companies advertise to have the latest innovation of synthetic sports surfacing. They basically are saying they have designed the 4th generation, 5th generation and sixth generation of the sports artificial carpets but no accreditation is yet given for this standard to date."

Your opinion is subjective because you are giving an opinion and have no factual evidence to support your claims. If the pitch is so awful why didn't any Lansdowne players have lower limb injuries that day?

Well I know at least 5 people who have done their ACL or MCL's on that Lansdowne pitch. There's some factual evidence. It is 100% not up to artificial pitches standards today such as Tarf, Michaels, Donnybrook. UCD's is even not the best, even though Leinster use it regularly.

I have not conducted any long term quantitative study on the Lansdowne pitch, so I guess that makes the pitch fine. It is blindingly obvious though (look at what the other posters are saying) that it is by far the worst artificial pitch in Leinster and my guess is the country. I know a few Lansdowne players who are not found of it and players from Tarf and other clubs who hate or refuse to play on it. Is that all just made up to have some random pop at Lansdowne?

In the first year of it was there not a significant number of serious knee injuries plus a couple of leg breaks for Lansdowne players (Matt Healy I think was one)?

Can we talk about the u20's please?

I see Conor Nash leaving for Oz was confirmed today.

u20 camp in dublin today too.

i think the biggest problem this years u20's have is at prop.

I have not conducted any long term quantitative study on the Lansdowne pitch, so I guess that makes the pitch fine. It is blindingly obvious though (look at what the other posters are saying) that it is by far the worst artificial pitch in Leinster and my guess is the country. I know a few Lansdowne players who are not found of it and players from Tarf and other clubs who hate or refuse to play on it. Is that all just made up to have some random pop at Lansdowne?

In the first year of it was there not a significant number of serious knee injuries plus a couple of leg breaks for Lansdowne players (Matt Healy I think was one)?

No there were not a significant number of serious knee injuries in the first year and Matt Healy certainly wasn't one but sure look just keep throwing out as many false claims as you like

• Registered Users Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭FellasFellas

No there were not a significant number of serious knee injuries in the first year and Matt Healy certainly wasn't one but sure look just keep throwing out as many false claims as you like

Why are you so incredibly protective of your beloved astro? It's well known to be one of the worst; if not the worst around due to it being the oldest. Injuries have happened on that pitch more regularly than any other astroturf I have played or watched games happen on. This is entirely beside the point, but if you're claiming that it is on par with Tarf or Donnybrook or Michaels or Terenure; you're clinically insane.