Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2016/17 FPL Rate My Team Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭Dazzler0911

stephenl15 wrote: »
    I like it if going for a solid midfield 5 and you're confident gray can break into the Leicester team. Other than that I'd try and find 0.5 to upgrade Smith. But it looks good and different from most other teams:)

I've liked what I've seen from Gray, and I reckon he'll be the one to fill Mahrez's boots if/when he leaves. Takes a set piece too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,788 ✭✭✭Benimar

Give it to me straight fellas..blood, seat and tears has gone into this thing

We share 9 of your 10 outfield starters (Lamela for Ayew) so it's a thumbs up from me :)

My only concern would be having 2 4.0 defenders. However, I think Amat starts and if you are planning an early WC you should 'get away' with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,788 ✭✭✭Benimar

any thoughts on this one - i've changed it around 20 times this morning alone....

394096.jpg

Stones and Valencia had a poor haul last season but Valencia looks like first choice RB for United and has been doing well in pre-season. Stones should have a better point total in a (I suspect) better performing City team this year than Everton last season. Downing was a late addition to the side as I had a point to spare and didn't know where to put it - had kightly as the 5th MF at 4.5.

Going without Aguero is a complete no-no for me. Best player in the league FF wise over the last few years. Will be captain of 80% of teams this weekend, you could be seriously burned.

Two non-playing 4.0 defenders will bite you. If you are keeping Hart there is no need for Hennessy so downgrade him and upgrade a 4.0 defender.

I'd also worry about Moreno. He's an awful defender and can see him dropped once a replacement is bought/Milner is fit. Maybe replace with Morgan or downgrade Downing and go for a 5.5m defender?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭cullenswood

Thoughts please:

DeGea
    Shaw Morgan Stones
    Mahrez Lamela Payet Kante
    Negredo Aguero Zlatan

Pope Fletcher McAuley Parades

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,386 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Give it to me straight fellas..blood, seat and tears has gone into this thing

Solid.
    But I can't see how Ayew is getting in there ahead of many other 7.5m mids. 2/3 very tough openers on top of the uncertainty that goes with a new signing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭TheChevron

1.jpg?screen

Any thoughts on this lineup?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

If people are putting up their teams, can they please also provide where they finished last year. If I'm copying someones team, I need to know that they know what they are doing :D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 270 ✭✭sanket

Ina real jiffy... Should I go Townsend+tadic... Or ibe+firmino.... I have long as my 3rs striker..

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭Dazzler0911

PARlance wrote: »
    Solid.
    But I can't see how Ayew is getting in there ahead of many other 7.5m mids. 2/3 very tough openers on top of the uncertainty that goes with a new signing.

He got as many points as Payet last year, is in a better team this year and I wanted West Ham cover. Was either him or Lamela tbh, not much in it but Ayew got the nod.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭ElTel

TheChevron wrote: »
    1.jpg?screen

Any thoughts on this lineup?

It's too early for Arsenal defenders imo especially if your benching them.. Downgrade Bellerin and consider a 4M guy like Amat or Smith and upgrade attack perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,007 ✭✭✭✭2nd Row Donkey

If people are putting up their teams, can they please also provide where they finished last year. If I'm copying someones team, I need to know that they know what they are doing

You want ElTel or McGettigan so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭sligolad1

Well lads, what do you think of this team. Put it together a couple of days ago when the two defenders weren't injured so have yet to look into that.

You want ElTel or McGettigan so.

No pressure so!
    Can someone repost McG's blog link?:)

• Registered Users Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

manual_man wrote: »
    With all this talk ye may force the A.R.B. out of hiding

Those were such happy times :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,264 ✭✭✭✭manual_man

Those were such happy times :)

*tinged with sadness*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,840 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Latest draft in midfield has Tadic, Hazard, Lamela, Ramsey and Barry.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

FHFC wrote: »
    Dinnery on Sanchez......

@FPLHints @AnglesGrindley Sanchez has been fast tracked.... Will make the squad -- a start, uncertain at the moment

I still don't forgive him for Pedro.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Sanchez will almost certainly start imo, either up front or on the wing

Ye I think he will defo start. The fact he played over 70 mins the other day and looked lively. As stated before I'd pay little or no attention to dinnerys opinion appreciate all his injury news though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,543 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Couple of amendments made, and have settled on my final draft:

Mandanda
    Aina Evans Shaw
    De Bruyne Ramsey Tadic Mkhitaryan
    Grey Aguero (c) Negredo

Subs: Adomah, Williams (starts when fully fit), Friend, Pickford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,668 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Mandanda
    Aina Evans Shaw
    De Bruyne Ramsey Tadic Mkhitaryan
    Grey Aguero (c) Negredo

Aina may not start if Ivan is fit. Adomah and Negredo is too much Boro imo, if you're not going to play Adomah, I'd downgrade him to a 4.5 and use the extra milion elsewhere. Your forward line could do with another premium striker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

I still don't forgive him for Pedro.

That's why I couldn't resist posting it. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,891 ✭✭✭iamanengine

Team so far -

De Gea (Jakupovic)

Shaw, Evans, Morgan, Friend (Paredes)

Mkhitaryan, Firminho, Siggy, Eriksen (Leko)

Aguero, Kane (Grabban)

I'm pretty happy with it bar the midfield. I'd prefer to play 3 at the back and not happy with Grabban as third forward.

Aguero and Kane taking up a lot of the funds. Will Kane deliver again this year? I feel like he will but I have a bad feeling about him...he had a very slow start to last season. Aguero is obviously a must but he gave me serious headaches last year, amount of times I transferred him in and out was criminal.

Bench is obviously pretty useless, basically put the minimum amount of money into it.

But I figure it I chase value for a couple weeks it should be grand.

I also really wanted Alder in there, but at 6.5 I couldn't fit him in. Any minor tweaks that could help me find a little extra cash?

• Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭BigBabyTaylor

Butland
    Van Dijk Shaw Dawson Stones
    Payet Firmino Martial
    Kane Lukaku Gray

Subs: Mandanda Pieters Deulofeu Fletcher

Had stones in before City move as I think Everton will do well under Koeman. Unsure of him now since he has moved to City as he is likely to see reduced gametime. Another couple of things I'm not sure on.

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭bodking

ElTel wrote: »
    Your defence is too expensive. Well worth having a read through the thread.
    All seven have cost 32M for some managers. 3-4-3 formation.

If you can suggest better I'm all eyes .

• Registered Users Posts: 5,286 ✭✭✭slingerz

Foster - (Jakopuvic)

Morgan - Shaw - Stones - (Lenihan) - (Amat)

Sanchez - Lamela - Redmond - Firmino - (Capoue)

Aguero - Ibrahimovic - Long

Think I'll stick with these for GW1

Will wildcard after GW3 as I think transfers will make some players very appealing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,668 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Here we go again:

Foster
    Shaw Stones Morgan
    Hazard Ramsey Tadic Deulofeu
    Aguero Vardy Gray

Jak Friend Capoue Amat

Gks: Pulis and cheapie. Enough said.

Defs: United cover essential imo. Stones should be great value. Morgan will probably become Williams/Kone when the Everton situation becomes clear. Friend and Amat pretty template.

Mids: Hazard looked back to his old self towards the end of last season and hoping he'll continue on from there. Ramsey is a punt for the first few weeks and fancy him to get something at 10 against a potentially dodgy Pool defence. Had Firmino in all week though and may yet go back to him. Have struggled with the Tadic/Redmond decision but will probably take the safer option for now. Potential for Deulofeu to be false 9 against Spurs is tempting and I fancy him to kick on this season, though rotation is a worry.

Fwds: Aguero is essential. Vardy v Ibra was another one I struggled over but I expect Leicester to bang a few in against Hull and hope he'll at least match Ibra's returns. Have held 1.5 back in case Ibra does go crazy against Bournemouth. Not 100% on Gray but hard to resist against a Swansea side who've just lost their leader and could be fielding a CB pairing that have never played with each other before.

Main dilemmas have been:
    Firmino v Eriksen v Ramsey
    Deulofeu v Townsend
    Tadic v Redmond
    Vardy v Ibra

Will be interesting (or frustrating) to read this post again on Monday night to see which, if any, of the decisions paid off straight away :o

bodking wrote: »
    If you can suggest better I'm all eyes .

I like Stones Valencia/Shaw 4.5 4.5 4.0 Best of luck.

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭luder

All opinions welcome.. 0.5m ITB

De Gea / Jakopuvic

Stones / Morgan / Evans / Amat / Parades

Lamela / Hazard / Mahrez / Redmond / Hojbjerg

Ibra / Aguero / Rhodes

Still unsure of Rhodes, bit of an left field choice out of the 6.5m and under strikers... No Arsenal / Liverpool cover either.
    Had Tadic & Siggy but changed very late for Mahrez & Redmond.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,009 ✭✭✭kronsington

when is Fabregas back? decent price at 7.5

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭Mr.SlumDuck

Hi

So I have this currently

Foster
    Baines Stones Valencia
    Hazard Firmino Lamela Tadic
    Gray Vardy Aguero(c)

Pickford Kone Kinglsey Hojburg

GK
    Is Pickford the best 4.0m keeper? I guess it doesnt matter really

DF
    Am I spending .5m too much here. SHould I downgrade Baines or Valencia?

Also what are peoples best 4.5m and 4.0m defenders?

MF

Best 4.5m option?

FW

Im a litte worried about Gray tanking and taking a hit. Anybody looking at Negredo, Wilson or other 6.5m options?

What would you prefer

Shaqiri and Grabban and play 3-5-2
    or
    4.5m MF and 6.5m FW?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,264 ✭✭✭✭km79

when is Fabregas back? decent price at 7.5

back from where ? :D
    He has been playing preseason but has not always been selected by Conte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,264 ✭✭✭✭km79

right I'm gonna post what I've been on since Monday and I'll be tweaking around the edges tomorrow then after the pressers
    any advice before that most welcome
    Players in caps are staying 100%
    No money ITB

foster / JAKU
    VALENCIA Fuchs FRIEND kone AMAT
    HAZARD REDMOND siggy firminio capoue
    AGUERO IBRA gray

I am considering downgrading Fuchs to stones even though stones offers absolutely zero attacking threat which I just don't like in my " premium " defendrs especially . I still also can't shake off the feeling VVd would be a great pick
    the extra .5 could be used to switch foster to Kasper or FORSTER or bring in another 5ml defender
    Not quite sure how firminio has ended up in my team but there he is for now anyway .........
    Not mad about Gray but fancy him for a goal against the swans this weekend

• Registered Users Posts: 4,686 ✭✭✭sheroman01

Argghhhh. My "set" team was below:

Valdes-Foster
    Souare-Morgan-Shaw-Evans-Amat
    Silva-Redmond-Alli-Firminho-Catpoo
    Aguero-Ibra-Long

Now I'm thinking Long may not start, so **** it, go Balls Out Attack:

Valdes-Foster
    Silva-Redmond-Townsend-Barkley/Deulofeu/Lamela-Catpoo
    Aguero-Vardy-Kane

Easier fixtures and certain starters actually favour the second/B.O.A team.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,992 ✭✭✭Shane732

I haven't spent a whole lot of time on this... Thoughts please...

De Gea (Jaku)

Azpilicueta Stones McAuley Friend Amat

Alli Martial Sanchez Kante Flecther

Aguero Costa Diomande

Diomande and Flecther are both just thrown in to finish the team at the min.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Officer999

sheroman01 wrote: »
    Argghhhh. My "set" team was below:

Valdes-Foster
    Silva-Redmond-Alli-Firminho-Catpoo
    Aguero-Ibra-Long

Now I'm thinking Long may not start, so **** it, go Balls Out Attack:

Valdes-Foster
    Silva-Redmond-Townsend-Barkley/Deulofeu/Lamela-Catpoo
    Aguero-Vardy-Kane

Easier fixtures and certain starters actually favour the second/B.O.A team.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Any particular reason you think Long won't start?

• Registered Users Posts: 36 Passin thru

Appreciate feedback on the following

De Gea. Juku

Kone. Stones. Fuchs. Evans. Amat

Hazard. Redmond. Lamela. Firmino Routledge

Kane Aguero Gray

Can't wait for the madness to begin😊

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭farranreeboy

Foster

Morgan
    Valencia
    Stones

Lamela
    Mahrez
    Hazard
    Feghouli

Ibrahimovic
    Gray
    Aguero

Should i keep Erksen+Vardy or go with Lamela+Ibrahimovic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Joeyjoejoe43

Foster

Morgan
    Valencia
    Stones

Lamela
    Mahrez
    Hazard
    Feghouli

Ibrahimovic
    Gray
    Aguero

I'd go for the former.. Ibra is over priced IMO.. Also Gray fixtures not great for 1st few weeks, so if an early wildcard is your plan, I'd rethink.. I went with Negredo myself who has a nice run of early fixtures

No idea what I'm doing this year, too busy with work to really focus on putting a team together.

Looking at:
    Hennessy (Boruc)
    Wollscheid - Targett - Bellerin (PVA, Paredes)
    Sanchez - Iwobi - Fletcher - Martial (Watson)
    Long - Aguero - Ibra

Yeah, I'm probably being a bit daft using Ibra and Aguero and should ditch one to upgrade midfield, but I'll be using the wildcard between gw 2&3 I imagine, one of them will probably go then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,328 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

My team so far

GK Forster (SOU)
    DF Azpilicueta (CHE), McAuley (WBA), Morgan (LEI)
    MF Mahrez (LEI), Mane (LIV), Payet (WHU), Willian (CHE)
    FW Aguero(C)(MNC), Origi (LIV), Berahino (WBA)

Subs GK Konstantopoulos (MID), DF Smith (BOU), Lafferty (BUR) MF Fletcher (WBA)

Here we go again:
    Foster Shaw Stones Morgan Hazard Ramsey Tadic Deulofeu Aguero Vardy Gray

Why Ramsey? Have seen him popping up in a few teams today.

Are you starting Morgo or Friend this weekend?

Officer999 wrote: »
    Any particular reason you think Long won't start?

Sorry, no reason, just that he's not 100% nailed on. Austin could start. I see no reason why he shoudn't, but there's just that uncertainty.

Mandanda Aina Evans Shaw De Bruyne Ramsey Tadic Mkhitaryan Grey Aguero (c) Negredo

KDB and Mkhitaryan are not certain starters this weekend. I'd downgrade one and upgrade Negredo or Grey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

I won't get a chance to change anything tomorrow or Saturday morning (barring any big news coming out when I'll magically find time :pac:) so I'm done and dusted now. No changes from the team I posted last night (vice captain will be amended tonight however):

Good luck all and bring it on. Catch you Saturday afternoon when the fun begins! :D

f180a32c8795183c221a5af59cb88ff5.png

Neither. - I'd go Lamela and Vardy and spend the funds else where.

Lamela - definite starter and good preseason

Vardy is up against Hull so he should pick up points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,919 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Opinions welcome. To be honest I would really like to get an Arsenal player into the team, so I'm close between Firmino and Aaron Ramsey. Any particular reason to pick one over the other? Would also love Alexis Sanchez (can we expect him to start from the get-go?) but prices just aren't letting that happen unless I cripple my defence or else bring Siggurdson down to a cheap mid.

bAZE46.jpg

Right, lots of changing today. Won't have much time to tinker before Saturday. Team most likely to stay as below. Advice still welcome as always:

2rwubzq.png

Neither. - I'd go Lamela and Vardy and spend the funds else where.

Lamela - definite starter and good preseason

Vardy is up against Hull so he should pick up points

You don't have to spend it all! I do like the recommendation.
    There are only 4 7M players so with nothing itb you cannot upgrade.
    I can't remember who said it "that 0.5M in the bank for GW2 is gold" Dahat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,840 ✭✭✭✭dahat

ElTel wrote: »
    You don't have to spend it all! I do like the recommendation.
    There are only 4 7M players so with nothing itb you cannot upgrade.
    I can't remember who said it "that 0.5M in the bank for GW2 is gold" Dahat?

It was FFHC originally then i commented somewhere, its priceless when you think about it.

callaway92 wrote: »
    Opinions welcome. To be honest I would really like to get an Arsenal player into the team, so I'm close between Firmino and Aaron Ramsey. Any particular reason to pick one over the other? Would also love Alexis Sanchez (can we expect him to start from the get-go?) but prices just aren't letting that happen unless I cripple my defence or else bring Siggurdson down to a cheap mid.

bAZE46.jpg

Downgrade Mandrada and a 4.5 def, then Sanchez in for Haz?