Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Junior Rugby [Social Rugby] Season 2016/2017

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

GavMan wrote: »
    Belvo also pulled out of Div 7. Monkstown conceded in Div10. Not a good sign to concede in week1.

Anyone know why the DSLP Nure Div7 game was called off?

Did Monkstown drop from Div 7 last year to Div 10 this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭gaius c

Monkstown used to have a team in div 10 but they pulled it to try and supplement their div 7 team. Think they pulled the wrong team personally.

This is the rectification of that error.

gaius c wrote: »
    Monkstown used to have a team in div 10 but they pulled it to try and supplement their div 7 team. Think they pulled the wrong team personally.

This is the rectification of that error.

Well if the branch were being consistent, which clearly they aren't. Then Monkstown would have been forced into doing that and keep the highest team, letting the lower team go. Maybe when it didn't work out, the branch have allowed them to drop.

• Registered Users Posts: 15 darkdave265

Hi all.
    On behalf of Knocktopher Rugby Club, I would look invite any potential new players in the surrounding areas to come and join. We currently play in the Leinster division 11. So its really suited for anyone who would like to play for the first time or older players who would like to play again.
    Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭GavMan

Terenure have pulled out of Division 7 now also. Fixtures are being redrawn. Div 10 team still in action for now....

stephen_n wrote: »
    Well if the branch were being consistent, which clearly they aren't. Then Monkstown would have been forced into doing that and keep the highest team, letting the lower team go. Maybe when it didn't work out, the branch have allowed them to drop.

No it's already happened. Monkstown were in div 10 before. They pulled that team and kept the div 7 team. It obviously didn't work out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

I presume Normans RFC became Knocktopher RFC?

Enjoyed playing against you guys, good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

Winters wrote: »
    I presume Normans RFC became Knocktopher RFC?

Enjoyed playing against you guys, good luck.
    They haven't changed name anyway. Merge this thread into metro thread as well?

No it's already happened. Monkstown were in div 10 before. They pulled that team and kept the div 7 team. It obviously didn't work out.

What I was trying to say is, in the case of some clubs but clearly not others. If a club pulls a team, it has to be their lowest playing team. i.e. the branch would only have allowed Monkstown to pull their Div 10 team last season and keep the Div 7. Maybe in light of how much they struggled there, that has changed and the branch have allowed them to cut the higher team and drop into Div 10. As in it may not have been Monkstowns choice at all last season.

I understand that it was actually the club's decision. If you look at where the walkovers were the year before, they were all at div 10. When they could field, they did okay so the player quality wasn't bad, just the numbers. It makes a sort of sense to think that they'd do a job a few divisions up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

With Terenure gone and only 6 teams left in Div 7, fixtures are redone and we're playing each other 3 times now . 15 games beats the he'll out of only having 10 anyway . I'd have preferred 4 times each and 20 games but sure you take what you can get :)

How'd the decide home and away on that basis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

They only had 11 on Saturday

15 makes for quite a long season. The 8 team divisions have 14 games and that can take it's toll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

15 makes for quite a long season. The 8 team divisions have 14 games and that can take it's toll.

Plus preseason cup and post season cup and relegation /league winners play off and friendlies and you're at a potential 20 games already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

How'd the decide home and away on that basis?

not sure how they did it tbh.

Two walkovers for monkstown now. Looks like div 10 could be a 7 team league too.

I understand that emerald warriors no longer have a home pitch to play out of, let alone train on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

I understand that emerald warriors no longer have a home pitch to play out of, let alone train on.

Huh? Why? Are suttonians gone?

.ak wrote: »
    Huh? Why? Are suttonians gone?

No. Suttonians have limited pitch space and they couldn't accommodate Emerald Warriors anymore. Believe Vincent's are using the pitch adjacent to Suttonians now.

A few clubs have made noises about helping them out. Hopefully one will step forward.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭Tarf1234

Sutton no longer have any access to St Fintans.

Clondalkin in division 11 and Monkstown in division 10 will be swapping places. Previous results involving those teams are null and void.

That's bizarre.. what's the reasoning? Clondalkin didn't seem ahead of the level last season?

Check the scorelines so far in div 11. They scored 113 points in two games, one of which was against a team that was in div 10 last year. It would have been a tough ask for Emerald Warriors to keep it under 100 this weekend.

So what happened? They shifted players down?

Don't think so. They've a few very good players who can't play Sundays and therefore can only play for the thirds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

Tarf played Clondalkin in two preseason games, and if that was there now division ten side, they will still be challenging for promotion at division ten - definitely a mismatch putting them in 11.

Must say i'm delighted to see the branch making these calls to try and even leagues out. Fair play.

Ugh just noticed the games this week clash with leinsters European cup game. :(

shoutman wrote: »
    Tarf played Clondalkin in two preseason games, and if that was there now division ten side, they will still be challenging for promotion at division ten - definitely a mismatch putting them in 11.

Must say i'm delighted to see the branch making these calls to try and even leagues out. Fair play.

They have an opportunity to be champions of divisions 10 and 11 in the one season. ;)

Looks like few more teams have changed divisions..

How are the peoples seasons going so far?

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭cmdrpaddy

Division 7 seems close enough. Most teams seem capable of beating each other.

The DLSP v UCD game last Friday was blown up very late on (around 70 minutes) but it seems to have been rescheduled. Anyone any link to the rules/regulations around how much of a match has to have gone before the result stands?

cmdrpaddy wrote: »
    Division 7 seems close enough. Most teams seem capable of beating each other.

The DLSP v UCD game last Friday was blown up very late on (around 70 minutes) but it seems to have been rescheduled. Anyone any link to the rules/regulations around how much of a match has to have gone before the result stands?
    In an 80 minute game, if 70 minutes of playing time has elapsed the result/score stands.
    Look up the branch regulations.
    http://www.leinsterrugby.ie/domestic/clubs/competition_regulations.php

Division 5 is tighter than it looks I'd say. Clontarf and Wesley remain unbeaten after four games, but both hand come close on a couple of occasions. We got hammered by Clontarf up there but I'd say it will be a very different story when they visit us. For the most part all the results have been pretty close, apart from Naas and CYM, who are struggling, but will both pick up wins along the way at home. I'd mark Wesley out as the favourites, good team they have. But anyone of 4 teams will probably be in the running to win the division.

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭cmdrpaddy

In an 80 minute game, if 70 minutes of playing time has elapsed the result/score stands.
    Look up the branch regulations.
    http://www.leinsterrugby.ie/domestic/clubs/competition_regulations.php

I must be missing something here, I can't find it anywhere in the PDF. :(

Division 5 is tighter than it looks I'd say. Clontarf and Wesley remain unbeaten after four games, but both hand come close on a couple of occasions. We got hammered by Clontarf up there but I'd say it will be a very different story when they visit us. For the most part all the results have been pretty close, apart from Naas and CYM, who are struggling, but will both pick up wins along the way at home. I'd mark Wesley out as the favourites, good team they have. But anyone of 4 teams will probably be in the running to win the division.

That Wesley team is remarkable. They were in division 7 two years ago and only lost 1 game in all of last year.

Yeah that was a very close game with us, total game of two halves, we were 15 nil up at halftime, with a massive wind. But they were very unlucky not to have scored, really well drilled team and had enough to turn us in the second half. You can tell they've played together a lot.

Warriors will be playing their home games out of Templeville road for the remainder of the season.

1 round to go until Christmas how are most peoples seasons going?

Just played our last game of 2016 (clontarf div11) and we're sitting on top of the table, so good so far.

Great game against Normans in castle avenue yesterday. I don't recall ever being this sore the day after a game. I could barely walk today!

Only downside is there seems to be an increase on teams not fielding players this season in div10/11... didn't seem to be as much of an issue in the last couple of seasons.

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭devolution

Division 10 half way through the season is getting tight at the top!
    Should make for an interesting few weeks ahead With a few players will start hitting the 6 game rule !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

devolution wrote: »
    Division 10 half way through the season is getting tight at the top!
    Should make for an interesting few weeks ahead With a few players will start hitting the 6 game rule !

A great four way battle brewing alright. Terenure vs Belvo next week is a very important game.

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭devolution

Belvo are looking very strong , some decent forwards & fancy backs !

Just played our last game of 2016 (clontarf div11) and we're sitting on top of the table, so good so far.

Great game against Normans in castle avenue yesterday. I don't recall ever being this sore the day after a game. I could barely walk today!

Only downside is there seems to be an increase on teams not fielding players this season in div10/11... didn't seem to be as much of an issue in the last couple of seasons.

Numbers are definitely down and there's a few teams playing more for social than the league. They'll pick and choose the games to play and concede the ones they don't fancy. I suspect the Warriors won't be getting any walkovers...

Shame to see more teams not fielding at the lower levels but if the system is working then this is the level where games wont be played as games will be played higher up with clubs bottom sides the ones losing out on a game.
    Numbers are definitely down and there's a few teams playing more for social than the league. They'll pick and choose the games to play and concede the ones they don't fancy. I suspect the Warriors won't be getting any walkovers...
    Shame to see numbers down. Any particular reasons? Good to see teams just playing socially and not interested in league in one sense. Hopefully it'll mean more will be playing the game....
    Still weighing up when to start playing again. May go back J2 in Galway next season if still there and will cert play if in Dublin for next season....

The social teams mess up the league though. They pick and choose what games they'll play and they tend to field when they reckon they've an easy win coming up. It's a social league, not a platform for flat track bullies to hammer teams trying to make a proper first of it.

Social rugby has a lot of meanings. Our J4 team last season was a social rugby team. A lot of players who had played together for 20 years, drank together and socialised together. They didn't train at all, just turned up and played games every Saturday. They won the league comfortably though, I would describe it as a social team though.

• Registered Users Posts: 19 Blizzards

Social rugby has a lot of meanings. Our J4 team last season was a social rugby team. A lot of players who had played together for 20 years, drank together and socialised together. They didn't train at all, just turned up and played games every Saturday. They won the league comfortably though, I would describe it as a social team though.

Would you say they were in the wrong league???Don't think i could play a match with out training, sounds like torture.
    I never really liked the term social rugby and always found it a little insulting. I play in the lower divisions as i am only playing a few years but i train just as hard as the other teams and want to win just as much. I would say most teams socialise together but i don't think that should define the level at which they play rugby. It should based on ability and i reckon for the most part it is.

Blizzards wrote: »
    Would you say they were in the wrong league???Don't think i could play a match with out training, sounds like torture.
    I never really liked the term social rugby and always found it a little insulting. I play in the lower divisions as i am only playing a few years but i train just as hard as the other teams and want to win just as much. I would say most teams socialise together but i don't think that should define the level at which they play rugby. It should based on ability and i reckon for the most part it is.
    I don't think so, the leagues above would be younger and far fitter, think j4 is a reasonable level for a bunch of old lads out for the craic. That's social rugby to me. A lot of the time playing j3 at my age isn't fun and I would consider myself fairly fit. It's a hard line to judge though. No one wants to go out and get hammered, well maybe after the game but not on the scoreboard. But guys in their late thirtys and early 40's don't want to be chasing kids either, they just want a game and a few pints afterwards. If you end up with a really good team, they'll win the league and move up one.

Well that's the beauty of having the new divisions. There isn't a jump from j4 to j3 anymore. There's 11 divisions so the gradient isn't as steep.

I played in both our Division 7 and division 5 teams last year and the difference is still big enough at times.