Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Las Vegas

• 22-07-2016 2:47pm
    Registered Users Posts: 33

I'm heading to vegas in january for 5 nights with my gf to see britney spears . I'm staying in the mgm grand and was wondering is it safe to walk back from planet hollywood to the mgm at night . And I've seen in previous posts there are a lot of panhandlers and cd pushers in your face the whole time is this the case or an over exaggeration? ? Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 3,855 ✭✭✭statto25

Markdmd wrote: »
    I'm heading to vegas in january for 5 nights with my gf to see britney spears . I'm staying in the mgm grand and was wondering is it safe to walk back from planet hollywood to the mgm at night . And I've seen in previous posts there are a lot of panhandlers and cd pushers in your face the whole time is this the case or an over exaggeration? ? Thanks

PH is only down the strip from the MGM so you should be fine. There are people everywhere trying to hand you something from CD's to flyers to strip club cards with nudie ladies on them. Dont stop just keep walking and dont take anything from them

• Registered Users Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Triboro

statto25 wrote: »
    PH is only down the strip from the MGM so you should be fine. There are people everywhere trying to hand you something from CD's to flyers to strip club cards with nudie ladies on them. Dont stop just keep walking and dont take anything from them

10 to 15 min walk in a well policed area. Was there a few years back and never felt unsafe at any time. Enjoy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Safest street in the world to walk on.

Ignore the porn slappers and they won't bother you, they're just poor immigrants doing a job they hate as much as you for the most part. The CD sellers are harmless enough too, you can ignore them too or even have the craic with them if you want.

The worst part about walking that part of the strip is there is a crosswalk to manoeuvre, it's only a narrow enough street to cross, but always wait for the green man, even if it's a chilly January night and everyone else is crossing. Just don't tell anyone you're waiting for the green man, they'll think you're weird.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭Shint0

OP, there are loads of people around Vegas, day and night, so you won't be alone.

• Registered Users Posts: 33 Markdmd

Thanks for all the replys guys just one more question is it possible to have a relaxing time in las vegas in january ??

• Registered Users Posts: 8,615 ✭✭✭grogi

Thanks for all the replys guys just one more question is it possible to have a relaxing time in las vegas in january ??

I would recommend going to Death Valley for a day. It's just 2 hours drive to Furnace Creek from LV, but in January it is a great place to visit :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,855 ✭✭✭statto25

Are you concerned about the time of year or the fact that it's Vegas. Jan will be a bit more quiet but realistically Vegas is never "quiet". It's what you make of it. Some people gamble drink and party. Others like to go over and see what it has to offer and just take in the place. I was there last year with the missus and we took it easy and seen the sights and went to the canyon. I'm going again next year with the lads and it will be far from relaxing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Most of the pools in Vegas are closed in January so keep that in mind. It's warm enough for people who aren't used to warm weather.

January wrote: »
    Most of the pools in Vegas are closed in January so keep that in mind. It's warm enough for people who aren't used to warm weather.

Thanks for they advice . How do you deal with all the panhandlers and cd sellers are they as aggressive as the ones in new york ??

I've never been to New York so I've no experience of those ones, the ones in Vegas usually just took no for an answer, which was great. The time share sellers were a bit more pushy, I used to just tell them we were going home either that night or the next day so there was no point, they usually lost interest pretty quickly when they thought they couldn't get us to go somewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Thanks for they advice . How do you deal with all the panhandlers and cd sellers are they as aggressive as the ones in new york ??

I'd say its certainly one of the safer US cities. Especially on the strip. Las Vegas is tiny compared to new york and it owes its whole existence to visitors, so safety is taken very seriously. It used to be practically run by the mafia and you did NOT EVER cause trouble there. And although the mafia is (probably) gone now they still run it like that. They dont want a bad reputation. (My wife has family who live there, and one of her nephews is an undercover cop on the strip, they're subtle but they're out there all the time.)
    SO I really would'nt worry.

Dealing with street sellers is another matter though. Its usually not people's first instinct to be rude and thats what they reply on but you can do it. Ignore them. Wave them away. Dont engage them ever. Not a single word. Dont be drawn in. And they'll lose interest fast and pass on to the next potential sale.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Hrududu

One of the safest cities in the US that I've been to. Just ignore the cd sellers and co. Don't bother being polite or coming up with any excuses just walk past them

• Registered Users Posts: 8,277 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

I don't find them aggressive at all. Just ignore them, or say no thanks and keep walking

• Registered Users Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Don't make eye contact with them. At all.That's the best way of dealing with them imo. Keep your hands to yourself, in your pockets, by your side, or however u normally walk. If someone tries to hand you something, ignore them & keep on walking.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,610 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Vegas is over rated and boring IMO but I guess it's something everyone should try experience. 5 days would kill me though but that's just me

While there you should do Hoover Dam and Grand Canyon. And as already suggested if you can do Death Valley even better!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,615 ✭✭✭grogi

faceman wrote: »
    Vegas is over rated and boring IMO but I guess it's something everyone should try experience. 5 days would kill me though but that's just me

While there you should do Hoover Dam and Grand Canyon. And as already suggested if you can do Death Valley even better!

Yeah - five days in vegas alone can be a bit too much.

Hotel rates in Vegas are damn cheap - they basically want you to spend the money downstairs in cassinos and bars. If one can skip this - then Vegas becomes a brilliant base, for sightseeing, visiting exhibitions and shows. The best dining can be experienced in Vegas as well.

We did 6 days in Vegas and it wasn't enough for us, we didn't even get to do the Grand Canyon or Hoover Dam last time we went. I want to go for 2 weeks next time...

• Registered Users Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

faceman wrote: »

Vegas is many, many things. "Boring" certainly ain't one of 'em ! ;)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 3,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeloe

How people can say Vegas is boring is beyond me, I've been 7 times in the last 6 years, it's my favorite place in the world, hands down!

Out of all the times i've been, April this year was the first time i ever visited Hoover Dam, i still haven't seen the grand canyon! :)

Of course you can have a relaxing time there, there's so much to see and do tho, i dunno why you would want to relax, make sure to check out groupon and stuff like that for when you're going, try and get a helicopter trip of the strip(at night time is best, to see the place lit up).

If you're in to clubs, the people on the strip offering nightclub entry on the strip are the people to talk to, try and only talk to the people wearing clothing/uniforms for the club you want to attend tho, We got VIP entry and complimentary bottle service at Hakkasan this trip, was pretty cool, if not a little pretentious.

• Registered Users Posts: 705 ✭✭✭Ilovelucy

We're just back from Vegas and I never felt unsafe there. I walked around at different times of the day and night on my own as my husband was there for a poker tournament. 5 days was enough for me and I'm not sure I'd go back again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭Utah

Just back from Vegas. Walked around all times of day and night on my own and in a group, no hassle whatsoever. Panhandlers and the promoters are used to being ignored. If it does worry you, just go to the set down of the hotel and get a cab, will only be 10 dollars max home.

Utah wrote: »
    Just back from Vegas. Walked around all times of day and night on my own and in a group, no hassle whatsoever. Panhandlers and the promoters are used to being ignored. If it does worry you, just go to the set down of the hotel and get a cab, will only be 10 dollars max home.

Thanks for the reply . It's just that when I was in new york to cd sellers became very aggressive and followed me for a half a block claiming that it was because of there racial origin that I didn't ex cep a cd . It didn't bother me to much but It did put a sour note in my day .. u take it from the comments that they aren't as vociferous in there approach

• Registered Users Posts: 8,277 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Thanks for the reply . It's just that when I was in new york to cd sellers became very aggressive and followed me for a half a block claiming that it was because of there racial origin that I didn't ex cep a cd . It didn't bother me to much but It did put a sour note in my day .. u take it from the comments that they aren't as vociferous in there approach

I've never seen that happen on the strip, they just stay in their spot and move on to the next passer by

• Registered Users Posts: 11,358 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

That area of the strip will be heaving with people on the sidewalk day or night, its far safer to walk between mgm grand and wynn than pretty much any major Irish town at night.

The only part of the strip I wouldn't advise walking at night is north of encore/Wynn towards sls/circus circus/stratosphere.. You might run into some strange characters there

As for your other questions no the porn slappers et al will not aggressively target you, they move onto next person. On my last trip to Vegas in mid June I did notice far less porn slappers on the strip compared to previous trips but I did notice the odd homeless person on pedestrian bridges which I can't remember seeing in the past.

If you are staying in mgm grand it won't be quiet. Its a 7,000 room hotel that's 95% fully booked on average and January is a major convention month so have a peek if your stay clashes with any. If the pools are open (some are, some are not) January can be a good month to beat those crowds. Its also a good month for skiing and great time to visit lake mead/hoover dam or hike in red rock canyon or valley of fire

• Registered Users Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭Shint0

Well, yeah, that can happen. Some New Yawkers have a bad attitude and can play that card alright. Just tell them ain't nobody got time for that and keep going. In Vegas there are so many tourists that panhandlers and the lucky lucky men types are used to getting the brush-off.

Seriously, you won't have anything to worry about if you don't engage with them. The ones I felt sorry for were the Disney-style characters in tatty costumes where people pay to have their photos taken with them. They just stand on The Strip all day in the heat and if you see them remove the head from the their costume you catch a glimpse of a jaded and deflated side of humanity.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,099 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

rossie1977 wrote: »
    That area of the strip will be heaving with people on the sidewalk day or night, its far safer to walk between mgm grand and wynn than pretty much any major Irish town at night.

The only part of the strip I wouldn't advise walking at night is north of encore/Wynn towards sls/circus circus/stratosphere.. You might run into some strange characters there

As for your other questions no the porn slappers et al will not aggressively target you, they move onto next person. On my last trip to Vegas in mid June I did notice far less porn slappers on the strip compared to previous trips but I did notice the odd homeless person on pedestrian bridges which I can't remember seeing in the past.

If you are staying in mgm grand it won't be quiet. Its a 7,000 room hotel that's 95% fully booked on average and January is a major convention month so have a peek if your stay clashes with any. If the pools are open (some are, some are not) January can be a good month to beat those crowds. Its also a good month for skiing and great time to visit lake mead/hoover dam or hike in red rock canyon or valley of fire

I stayed in the Strat for a week over new years into januray a few years ago.I never had any trouble and I walked up and down the strip to the strat loads of times.
    I think the hotels get pretty same all slots but its a great party town.
    To the op,its Vegas every one has the hand out to get paid but no one will force you just walk past they wont give a damn.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dar100

I'm heading over in January too, spending a few days in New York first cant wait, bring in the cd sellers I sat😀😀