Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CID apply for career break?

Options
  • 22-07-2016 6:23pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2

Hi, I'm a teacher and I am very unfamiliar with contract types in second level schools. I have completed a pro-rata contract of my own hours (16hrs) from Sept- June 2016 this year. As it is a new school staff are growing so i was reinterviewed for the position at the end of the summer and have be successful for this coming Sept. My contract says I will have the same hours 16hrs for next year.

I have spent most of my 20's chasing teaching jobs from subbing to maternity and really want to go travelling before I settle down. I'm 29 now. Does anyone know if I am eligible to apply for a career break or leave of any sort if I am only going into my second year of the contract. I intend to do the full school year next year and not go travelling until Sept 2017? My reason for wanting a year's leave is that my partner cannot take 2.5month off during summer like me. He would have to quit job.

Any information from people who have gone through this I would be grateful.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 213 ✭✭petejmk

Meacle wrote: »
    Hi, I'm a teacher and I am very unfamiliar with contract types in second level schools. I have completed a pro-rata contract of my own hours (16hrs) from Sept- June 2016 this year. As it is a new school staff are growing so i was reinterviewed for the position at the end of the summer and have be successful for this coming Sept. My contract says I will have the same hours 16hrs for next year.