Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Auction property: mortgage approved

Options
  • 23-07-2016 10:01am
    Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭

Can anyone help? So I'm mortgage approved, saw a house that is due to go for auction. I would be relying on a mortgage to complete. The house needs a good bit of work done to it, which would take several years.

Is this ok or do you need permission from the bank beforehand? Total newbie any help appreciated I will of course ring the bank in advance, but just wondering is there anything else that I should be thinking of.

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

Brioscai wrote: »
    Can anyone help? So I'm mortgage approved, saw a house that is due to go for auction. I would be relying on a mortgage to complete. The house needs a good bit of work done to it, which would take several years.

Is this ok or do you need permission from the bank beforehand? Total newbie any help appreciated I will of course ring the bank in advance, but just wondering is there anything else that I should be thinking of.

You need authorisation from the bank to bid, they should give you a letter which may include your maximum threshold, the auction house will look for this letter.

• Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭Brioscai

Thank you Athtrasna, that is very helpful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,926 ✭✭✭davo10

Brioscai wrote: »
    Thank you Athtrasna, that is very helpful.