Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How can I pick a car that's likely to have a low premium?

Options
  • 23-07-2016 7:17pm
    Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭

I'm a learner driver with only two months worth of named driving experience and am currently getting lessons for my first test which will probably/hopefully be in September/October. Before I go any further I'd just like to make it clear that I am fully aware that whatever I do, my own policy will be very expensive but I need to try to make every saving on my insurance that I can when deciding what car to buy. Unfortunately being a named driver on the car I have been using is no longer an option so I need to buy my own to practice in and hopefully use after (again, hopefully) passing test.

In general, what are the levels at which these criteria start to really drive up a premium for a used car?
    - Engine size in L
    - Mileage
    - How far back the year of registration was
    - Price

If anybody could please offer some guidance on the above I'd be very grateful.

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Duffman'05 wrote: »