Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can Landlord force renter to sign a lease before renovation are completed

Options
  • 25-07-2016 9:12am
    Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭

I've been renting a property for five years with my current landlord. He gave us a notice to terminate to renovate the property. It was obvious this was to circumvent the new rent rules, we went to the PRTB and got an agreement that we would be given the right of first refusal and the house would be ready in a about a month.

The landlord called today and said we would have to sign a lease in a couple of days but the house is not ready for occupation and he is still waiting on a suit I'd furniture to arrive as the previous ones where in a pretty bad state. We told him it's not fair to sign a new lease and pay the rent if the house isn't ready to move in.

His excuse is that they never intended to change the furniture and it was a last minute decision and if we do not sign the lease he would have to reconsider renting the house back to us as it would affect the day the rent is to be paid.

Can he do this? He also said he contacted PRTB and they said this was fine but I don't believe this. Any help on this would be appreciated.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Galadriel

I've been renting a property for five years with my current landlord. He gave us a notice to terminate to renovate the property. It was obvious this was to circumvent the new rent rules, we went to the PRTB and got an agreement that we would be given the right of first refusal and the house would be ready in a about a month.