Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

"Women have a right to be topless"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,647 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Jayop wrote: »
    breastfeeding in public is offensive to people too. Should a guard act if they are called to the scene of a woman feeding her child in a restaurant?

Please explain the difference.

Another boob perhaps, they come in pairs you know. I might add that the people I know who breastfeed still do it fairly discreetly, they would have the child and exposed breast covered, so don't see a problem with that at all.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Another boob perhaps, they come in pairs you know.

Twins?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

So if a woman walks by a building site and the builders shout down that she has a right to be topless that's cool now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭HanaleiJ5N

Ah the old chestnut chestnut again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

Nah the person complaining and the guard not having cop on was the burden on the tax payer. You've been the person dissecting the legislation and it seems blatantly obvious that she wasn't breaking any law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

CHEST-NUTS.

*incessant Beavis laugh*

She took her top off at a music festival, have you never taken your top off at a similar event?
    It may be attention-seeking when a woman does it, in the sense that it is very unusual behaviour, but that hardly amounts to 'wasting Garda time'.
    she moved from expressing an opinion to becoming a burden on the taxpayer -- which I'd argue that she doesn't have any intrinsic right to do.
    You could argue that Edna O'Brien was a burden on the taxpayer when she wrote The Country Girls, and the Censorship Board felt they had to ban it for its sexual content.

The woman is presumed innocent, and the relevant law is almost impossibly vague.

I'm sure the Gardai thought they were doing their job, but it's difficult to support their position, rationally or legally.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,592 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Seriously? What a load of BS! The woman should be perfectly able to walk around topless if she wants. She didn't waste the Gardai's time, they wasted their own time defending a complete nonsense law.

With your attitude civil rights would have never advanced beyond serfdom. It takes people standing up for their beliefs to change stupid laws. The public "indecency " laws are stupid, all they do is stigmatise the human body.

I don't care if anyone wears clothes ever, and it wouldn't bother me to see them do it around my children. The more normalised public nudity is the better.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

conorhal wrote: »
    .. you won't see a woman walking about the streets Barcelona or Paris topless.

You're watching the wrong videos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,647 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Its all very well defending the right to be topless but if Scarlett Johansson was walking along the street topless, I would be finding enormous difficulty walking normal.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Public nudity is fine if most people didn't want to see ugly bodies.

Just saying it as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

Source?

do you have a source to dispute his claims?

Depp wrote: »
    do you have a source to dispute his claims?

I'm not the one making the claim am I.

Do you not know how it works? If I made a claim that 99% were happy with it then the burdon of proof would be on me. :rolleyes:

I'm not the one making the claim am I.

Do you not know how it works? If I made a claim that 99% were happy with it then the burdon of proof would be on me. :rolleyes:

whats your source though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

I'll bet all the ones in favour of topless women walking the streets would be horrified if they rounded a corner to see their mothers with their saggy tits out pointing at the ground.

Or would they be happy to see their adult mates having a good auld gawk at their 13 yr old topless sister.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

I disagree. Both are based on the fundamental idea of "choice". And control over one's bodily autonomy.
    So then you do concede that this is quite an important issue if it requires changes to the law, sustained protests and letters to local TDs?
    CatFromHue wrote: »
    So if a woman walks by a building site and the builders shout down that she has a right to be topless that's cool now?
    Yes. And yes, I also agree that proposed legislation against cat calling on construction sites is absurd. And inhuman. As are many incidences of cat calling. Liberal left intervention is often as bad and as dangerous as ultra conservative reluctance to change.

pablo128 wrote: »
    I'll bet all the ones in favour of topless women walking the streets would be horrified if they rounded a corner to see their mothers with their saggy tits out pointing at the ground.
    Irrelevant to the idea of it being legal. That's a personal choice whether to feel horrified or not.
    Or would they be happy to see their adult mates having a good auld gawk at their 13 yr old topless sister.
    Again, that is their choice. The girl. And the mates. And irrelevant to the idea of it being legal to be topless.

Keep trying though.

Ah ffs, this is getting out of hand.

I was just cycling down Harcourt St there when this topless chick walked right out into the road, causing me to almost fall under a Luas.

just a question for the pro nudity crowd, do you think it should be ok for a fully grown man to walk down O'Connell street with his meat and two veg hanging out? as an example?

Purely from a hygiene point-of-view, that's probably undesirable. It wouldn't particularly bother me to see it, though.

It wouldn't bother me one bit at a musical festival.

Is anyone really bothered by the sight of a bare chest at a musical festival? Why?

The truth is, most aren't. But they are bothered by "liberal, lefty, feminzais, hippie, elves" seemingly getting too far ahead of themselves and upsetting the trend. And so will look for every argument under the sun, from "attention seeking" and "more important issues" to "Saudi Arabia" in order to criticise both the girl and the idea.

Then there are others genuinely constricted by Catholic feeling of guilt and shame. Social conditioning and norms essentially. And there are a lot of both groups still around in Irish society. Which is fine. But they wish to force their ideals on others. And that isn't fine.
    Do I think it would be ok? Yes. Maybe. Possibly not. Do I think it should be legal? Absolutely.

And that pretty much sums the thread. Those who would legally enforce their own personal ideals on others. And those who would not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Time and a place. When I was younger and a bit more naive I moved to a coastal town for work. And decided to walk 2-3km shirtless to the beach. I got less than half way and had to turn back because I was berated for my inappropriate dress. I am sure I would have got away with it on the beach. I am a guy btw.

While women can't officially go topless on Irish beaches etc, that is a seperate issue. Nudity in itself as far as I know is not the offence. Either someone seeing it and saying they are offended or seeing it and thinking it might offend someone else is enough. In a case like this the opinion of the cop is enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,922 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

There is moment during the Oasis live album where Liam suggests that someone "lifts their top up & gets them out for the lads". Thousands obliged & were displayed on the big screens - no one was arrested. That was years ago.

Robbie Williams upset the BBC, who were filming a gig, by requesting that the girls "get their Baps out". Again thousands obliged & no one was arrested.

The difference is that both incidents happened in England.

Gardai do have discretion. By not arresting her there might of been a risk of a Garda fail act to prevent exposure shocker headline. I think that it's sad that the Guards couldn't see that the exposure of breasts isn't sexual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Discodog wrote: »
    There is moment during the Oasis live album where Liam suggests that someone "lifts their top up & gets them out for the lads". Thousands obliged & were displayed on the big screens - no one was arrested. That was years ago.

Robbie Williams upset the BBC, who were filming a gig, by requesting that the girls "get their Baps out". Again thousands obliged & no one was arrested.

The difference is that both incidents happened in England.

Gardai do have discretion. By not arresting her there might of been a risk of a Garda fail act to prevent exposure shocker headline. I think that it's sad that the Guards couldn't see that the exposure of breasts isn't sexual.

The main difference is that those thousands of women usually very quickly pull their tops back down. Our protesting Barbie wouldn't and so she was escorted out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 832 ✭✭✭HamsterFace

It's disgusting, I don't go walking down the street with my ass hole hanging out

There's a naked woman forever trying to tempt Oscar Wilde in Merrion Square.

I fear she may be barking up the wrong tree there.

I think that should be entirely his own choice. What's actually wrong with it?

they/them/theirs

It's disgusting, I don't go walking down the street with my ass hole hanging out

Why does it hang?

If your arse hole is hanging out, you need to see a doctor.

they/them/theirs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 855 ✭✭✭TSMGUY

Why does it hang?

Maybe he's a "lapsed" Catholic.

TSMGUY wrote: »
    Maybe he's a "lapsed" Catholic.

Prolapsed Catholic. :)

A person with a prolapsed rectum may feel tissue protruding from the anus and experience the following symptoms: Pain during bowel movements. Mucus or blood discharge from the protruding tissue. Fecal incontinence (inability to control bowel movements) Loss of urge to defecate (mostly with larger prolapses).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭edanto

Interesting that you give that example. Plenty of male bands have played this exact music festival with at least one member on stage completely stark naked. No anonymous complaints were lodged by any members of the public and no evictions were carried out.

On the Sunday of the festival, a lady near me (and 3 generations of my family) on the Wishbone stage during Spoken Word (2-4pm or so) was topless with loud cheers for the Free Carina signs. At least by then, word was out that nipples were completely acceptable at KnockanStockan.

edanto wrote: »
    Interesting that you give that example. Plenty of male bands have played this exact music festival with at least one member on stage completely stark naked. No anonymous complaints were lodged by any members of the public and no evictions were carried out.

On the Sunday of the festival, a lady near me on the Wishbone stage during Spoken Word (2-4pm or so) was topless with loud cheers for the Free Carina signs. At least by then, word was out that nipples were completely acceptable at KnockanStockan.

look ive said this before but my point is ive no problem with nudity above the waist in certain circumstances, what im saying is its not newsworthy or a cause for outrage that theres people in ireland who do have a problem with it. disagree aswel with eegits on here saying its the guards fault, they followed the letter of the law which is their job, they dont make the laws

The truth is, most aren't. But they are bothered by "liberal, lefty, feminzais, hippie, elves" seemingly getting too far ahead of themselves and upsetting the trend. And so will look for every argument under the sun, from "attention seeking" and "more important issues" to "Saudi Arabia" in order to criticise both the girl and the idea.

Then there are others genuinely constricted by Catholic feeling of guilt and shame. Social conditioning and norms essentially. And there are a lot of both groups still around in Irish society. Which is fine. But they wish to force their ideals on others. And that isn't fine.

so your saying people are just using it as an excuse to bash feminists? same could be said that people use topics like this as an excuse for church bashing :rolleyes:
    Do I think it would be ok? Yes. Maybe. Possibly not. Do I think it should be legal? Absolutely.

agree here to a point if im honest, no reason for above the waist to be illegal but only in certain circumstances, but below should be illegal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭HardenendMan

The wife once asked why is it that men think they are getting action when a woman merely removes her brazier. If there was endless topless women in public then us men might calm down a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,521 ✭✭✭✭Esel

The wife once asked why is it that men think they are getting action when a woman merely removes her brazier. If there was endless topless women in public then us men might calm down a bit.

Yeah, that's a sign things are cooling down. :)

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭TheBiz

The lyrics "it's getting hot in here (so hot) so take off all your clothes" have led us to believe that topless women lead to heat stroke.

I don't go walking down the street with my ass hole hanging out

Other than the medical issues this would mean you are suffering from it appears that you think that what you personally do or do not do is the measuring stick of what constitutes disgusting or not? I am curious how you managed to get to this unusual self centric position?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

I didn't think there would be an issue being topless at a music festival tbf

• Registered Users Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

mansize wrote: »
    I didn't think there would be an issue being topless at a music festival tbf

Protest aside, can you imagine trying to get up in front of the stage to see your favourite band with your boobs swinging freely? They'd be black and blue from all the pushing and shoving that goes on, not to mention the odd accidental elbow you'd get :eek:. Totally impractical too imo.

Yeah but if your just chilling at the festival- why not? Live and let live

If one woman goes topless at a festival it's an offence. If hundreds did it then it would instantly become acceptable. Women on European beaches aren't alone so they feel comfortable being topless. Because so many do it the men don't really notice anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 832 ✭✭✭HamsterFace

God, first it's breast feeding, then going topless, they'll be advocating sex in public next

I have no issue with human nudity - no one should be topless in a shop- some old lad was in Dunnes when I worked there, reaching into the open fridges made me wretch

But festivals, beaches etc I don't see an issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Smondie

This guy got 3minths for mooning a garda because there were Spanish students nearby. There is no reason this lady shouldn't be looking at the same sentence.

HOME BREAKING NEWS IRELAND
    Man who mooned garda jailed for three months
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/man-who-mooned-gardai-jailed-for-three-months-747015.html

He has 99 previous convictions. I am going to guess that she has none.

Discodog wrote: »
    He has 99 previous convictions. I am going to guess that she has none.
    But he was jailed for the mooning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Smondie wrote: »

Oh did she moon too? I thought she only had her fun bags out.

Smondie wrote: »

Oh did she moon too? I thought she only had her fun bags out.
    What's the difference? The Arse is for expelling waste and not sexual. Everyone has one.