Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Olympic Road Race - 6th August 2016 Rio

• Closed Accounts Posts: 724 ✭✭✭JK.BMC

MPFGLB wrote: »
    Dan no like cobbles

That group with Cummings should have goen for it...Gilbert & co wonlt get a better chance

On that score: that cobbled section looked crazy. As if they dug up one half of a main road and threw rocks from Northern Europe on a stretch for 2km with a downhill approach and off camber bends. Like digging up the N11 along the coast.
    Was it laid especially for this race?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭MPFGLB

JK.BMC wrote: »
    On that score: that cobbled section looked crazy. As if they dug up one half of a main road and threw rocks from Northern Europe on a stretch for 2km with a downhill approach and off camber bends. Like digging up the N11 along the coast.

I think I read it was

Heat seems to be getting to riders

Our boys being of good Irish stock don't mind the heat :D

• Registered Users Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Subpopulus

JK.BMC wrote: »

It wasn't. The tarmac is new - it was put down for the ITT.

https://www.google.ie/maps/@-23.0501248,-43.5351363,3a,75y,60.97h,77.57t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sLDsfLtYZ3FZpNjHXbKeqBQ!2e0!7i13312!8i6656

• Registered Users Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Team Sky up to their usual

• Registered Users Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭griffin100

Tream GB and Froome really taking the p!ss with the motor pacing back to the group.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

The race falls under UCI rules so the British pair should be thrown off the race for that. Where are the commissaires?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

griffin100 wrote: »
    Tream GB and Froome really taking the p!ss with the motor pacing back to the group.

Absolutely. That would not be tolerated in TDF!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

How are the Irish lads doing?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭NiallBoo

I'm wondering where the they get the soigneurs and mechanics etc. for this?

Would they have folks that are used to doing it at this kind of level?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

Stheno wrote: »
    How are the Irish lads doing?

Both in Peloton

• Registered Users Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

I'm normally fairly forgiving of journalists but the update on the race on rte radio 1 right now was such a cringe fest. Had clearly never watched a bike race in his life.
    This really is a tough parcours.

Far too tough, bit of a circus I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭irishrover99

How are yous watching this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

What in the actual ****. I leave and left the cycling recording, come back, stick it on and see there was only another 5 minutes of cycling before switching to rowing,.judo and sevens. Where the **** did the cycling go?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

NiallBoo wrote: »
    I'm wondering where the they get the soigneurs and mechanics etc. for this?

Would they have folks that are used to doing it at this kind of level?

The commentators said the Irish support team was Stacey Kelly, Neil Martin.Can't remember who they said the mechanic was

• Registered Users Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭irishrover99

Ok, on bbc now

Back on now, you bastards BBC. 83 to go and they have a break of 20 minutes for the news then.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

Ok, on bbc now

Its on the RTE news now channel also if you want to know how cyclists not from GB are doing

How are yous watching this?

Sky channel 578.

Never knew that, ****e picture quality though. My TV has the RTE app and the pic is HD, can't record it though.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭griffin100

Kaisr Sose wrote: »
    Absolutely. That would not be tolerated in TDF!

But you're not supposed to cheat in the olymoics.......

Chris Boardman sayign how terrible the descent is from the major climbs to come

He said he was shcoked when he say it

ThisRegard wrote: »
    What in the actual ****. I leave and left the cycling recording, come back, stick it on and see there was only another 5 minutes of cycling before switching to rowing,.judo and sevens. Where the **** did the cycling go?

RTE News and BBC 1

• Registered Users Posts: 13,761 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

RTE news UPC 200 for the best coverage imo

• Registered Users Posts: 20,055 ✭✭✭✭neris

been out all day and just home and rte are showing swimming???????????? wtf is this it with these bellends in montrose

neris wrote: »
    been out all day and just home and rte are showing swimming???????????? wtf is this it with these bellends in montrose

It's live on RTE News

Steve Cummins seems to have been on the front of the peloton forever

Eamonnator wrote: »
    Steve Cummins seems to have been on the front of the peloton forever

He's ripping it up

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭MediaMan

Cummings breaking up the peleton with his efforts and narrowing the gap on the leaders on the climb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Fair play to Cummings. Just ripped up the peloton.