Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cat5e house cabling

Options
  • 29-07-2016 9:06am
    Registered Users Posts: 39

Hello,

I'm not sure if this is the correct place to ask - I have little or no experience with spec'ing / installing or hiring someone to install residential cabling.

What are you experiences with getting a new house cabled for Cat5e?
    There is are no cables run at present.

This is a three storey house, I would like to place a Ubiquity AP on the ceiling on each floor. I'm wondering if its possible to get the required cabling across the ceiling without cutting (ambitious, I know).

Can you recommend anyone?
    I'd also be interested in understanding the standard ballpark price for this:

* Move UPC / Cable socket to terminate elsewhere like a storage closet.
    * 4 cable runs to well terminations running to the attic (preferably terminated on a patch panel for a reasonable cost).
    * 2 Cable runs (one from ground and mid floor) to attic for AP's in ceiling.
    * 1 AP point termination on the 3rd floor ceiling (directly under attic).
    * Would it be completely necessary to open the wall ( I don't believe so).

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 36,167 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Go for 6, you'd be nuts to bury 5e in your cavities in 2016.

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭rugrat69

• Registered Users Posts: 13,995 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

rugrat69 wrote: »

you should read up on the downsides of wifi repeaters. Of which there are many.