Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rio 2016 Olympics Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Short and sweet! Apparently, the Rio director had less than half the budget of London 2012. I think he did OK with what he had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,929 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

What we really need now is a bit of David Guetta

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Aka French

No Brazillian Portugese - Hazel said so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I called it in post #143 :(
    Seeing as how this is held in Brazil will we get the classic ladies in thongs and feathers (la carnival) or will the Olympics go all pc and say no no... pacman.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 832 ✭✭✭HamsterFace

Is it always in French?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,296 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

timthumbni wrote: »
    Aye, because London wasn't modern and visually brilliant at all....

Very cut down ceremony this time but in the end who gives a feck about the opening ceremony anyway. Eurovision for sporty types..

The essence of London was safe, these guys were not afraid of the problems they cause and the good stuff. On a hugely reduced budget too. Kudos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

personally i preferred when the athletes dressed well in suits or national dress and marched reasonably formally around with some dignity representing their country ,its all gone a bit happy clappy, sloppy eurovisionny now and fees a bit devalued .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,383 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

mansize wrote: »
    No Brazillian Portugese - Hazel said so

It's French it's going in. Hazel wrong.

Is it always in French?

French is the Olympic language apparently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Arghus wrote: »
    What we really need now is a bit of David Guetta

Think thats where Rio has been let down a wee bit so far. London had a great soundtrack. Maybe Rio will go full scooter hard core in a minute.

namloc1980 wrote: »
    It's French it's going in. Hazel wrong.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/2016_Summer_Olympics_Parade_of_Nations

They are called out in the three language

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

"His seed is all ready to be planted " snigger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Dreadful boring crap opening ceremony. Had to switch off due to boredom. Worst opening in recent games. May as well be back in the 90's right now. Then again after Beijing and London, a triple was too much to ask I suppose.

Is that Pat Hickey we keep seeing???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,383 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

I know! But the order is in French first!

namloc1980 wrote: »
    I know! But the order is in French first!

The order is in Brasillian Portguese

worst ceremony since moscow 1980 IMO, gave only a glimpse of the essence of BRAZIL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Is he is swaddled in a Russian flag?

If so, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,089 ✭✭✭Lavinia

Like this planting seeds initiative.. 11000 plants, great

He's worse than sepp blatter , his ass is welded to that seat on the international olympic committee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

Jaysus, this'll be going on for a while. Not even 10% done.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2016_Summer_Olympics_Parade_of_Nations

Are we near 99 yet???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

Belarus #22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,089 ✭✭✭Lavinia

205 nations apparently lol

The essence of London was safe, these guys were not afraid of the problems they cause and the good stuff. On a hugely reduced budget too. Kudos.

I wouldn't say the London ceremony was safe at all. What did you watch? London was eccentric and unique, Especially the brook side lesbian snog. Feck I remember that one.

Yes I've mentioned the budget. Nobody will give a feck after a day anyway.
    Though it does remind me of my kids youth club yearly play in a way.

To add I think Rio will go full carnival very soon. Sure that's what they are about. A good finish will always make you forget a bad start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭radharc

The order is in Brasillian Portguese

No, no it's not. Just because Wikipedia (or the Telegraph which probably just used Wiki) says so doesn't make it true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭youreadthat

velo.2010 wrote: »
    Short and sweet! Apparently, the Rio director had less than half the budget of London 2012. I think he did OK with what he had.

Although I'm guessing money goes a bit further in Brazil than Londres.... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Afghanistan.... Pray for us
    Australia .... Pray for us
    Belarus ..... Pray for us
    Saudi Arabia.... Pray for us

USA peed off at being on earlier than usual

radharc wrote: »
    No, no it's not. Just because Wikipedia (or the Telegraph which probably just used Wiki) says so doesn't make it true.

Where's your evidence!?!

http://www.nbcolympics.com/news/get-ready-watch-opening-ceremony-parade-nations

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

radharc wrote: »

The Olympic twitter account also tweeted it. That might push it over the edge to being true.

Check out @Rio2016_en's Tweet:

ThisRegard wrote: »
    The Olympic twitter account also tweeted it. That might push it over the edge to being true.

Blessed is he who has not seen yet still believe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Bangladesh

156 million people... 7 Athletes (afaik)

Is that the lowest athletes to poulation ratio?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

Nobody in Brazil is having a better time than the guy at the back on the right for Burundi.

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Bangladesh

India?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Christ on a bike (as opposed to a hawt Brazillian on a rickshaw/tricycle thingamagiggy) are we still only on the B's? God, it's gonna be a looooooong night !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,030 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

A real life oompa loompa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,724 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

I loved the lone female competiter for Bahrain. Ah looks lads we are progressive.

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Christ on a bike (as opposed to a hawt Brazillian on a rickshaw/tricycle thingamagiggy) are we still on the B's? God, it's gonna be a looooooong night !

C!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

RTÉ on a break!!!

W coughs ANKERS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Jesus that was terrible. I didn't even make it to the athletes parading it was so bad. I better wake up to news of world wide condemnation of how utter sh*t the opening ceremony was and not media lies referencing pc culture and environmental crap. F*ck me it was so bad it's unbelievable they got it so wrong. Hello brazil! The world doesn't need a crap lecture on global warming. Welcome to the 1980's ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Christ on a bike (as opposed to a hawt Brazillian on a rickshaw/tricycle thingamagiggy) are we still on the B's? God, it's gonna be a looooooong night !

Sneaky Qatar getting in with the C's to get out of there early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

mansize wrote:
    India?

India have 140 for 1.25 billion
    Bangladesh have 7 for 156 million

I think Bangladesh have a lower ratio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Richard Osman going crazy at home as Central African Republic appear.

Will Cameron be shouting for Caymman islands? And Redacted for Malta?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 267 ✭✭El Chapo

Chad team is badass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    I loved the lone female competiter for Bahrain. Ah looks lads we are progressive.

I'm going to go out on a limb here & predict that she isn't a beach volleyball player, or a swimmer?

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Bangladesh

I missed that. Surely that couldn't be right.

If it is then it easily would be the lowest ratio. I actually googled the population and that is right......

7 athletes?????? Too many vindaloos maybe?...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,606 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Feel sorry for the folks in the sandwich boards along the side who have to dance,look happy and wave for hours.