Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rio 2016 Olympics Megathread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Well we couldn't compete in every games could we BBC...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Shelga

Gambia girl looked utterly fed up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Said France and the camera zoomed to Holland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,931 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

George deserves a gold medal himself for still sounding a tiny bit interested.

Full of crap- proudest moment- please! A saltire maybe...

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Having seen the social media shots of Team Ireland in the holding area, I can safely say we wont win any fashion competitions with our baseball jackets, polo shirts and trackies. Could we not have stretched to a few blazers or sweaters?!

Penny's???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

Irlande. Douze points

That Georgian flag bearer was the first time George met a foreign sounding surname that didn't agree with him.

There's ugly Betty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Just 10 nations to get through before Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,806 ✭✭✭taytobreath

Shelga wrote: »
    Gambia girl looked utterly fed up!

she looked depressed or something, like she was gonna cry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Just 10 nations to get through before Ireland.

Jesus. Shoot me now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Elliott S

bbc gave out an intersting stat there about thorpe, if he was a country he would become 43rd best country in the world in the medal count

Thought that was Phelps?

Hong Kong have their own team? Could Scotland not do that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,896 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Hungary have some lovely women

Yemen jumps up the list

A lot of world leaders there.
    Security must be insane

A lot of world leaders there.
    Security must be insane

Yep

Hurry on!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,089 ✭✭✭Lavinia

that stadium looks really lovely..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,803 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

mansize wrote: »
    Yep

Dont you mean Iep.

We're after Iraq. :)

Iraq next then us!

Elliott S wrote: »
    Thought that was Phelps?

it must of been, dunno where i got thorpe from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Hope Barnes can hold the flag.

Islamica Republica do IRA. What??

It's us. It's us. It's us....rahoo....rahoo...rahoo...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Hon the lads!

Oh Jesus
    Manky trackies

Did Heatons make our gear???

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 267 ✭✭El Chapo

Christ, they could have decked them out a bit better.

Oh Jesus
    Manky trackies[/Q:D:D:D

Italy got a big cheer

Great. Then they had to totally spoil my buzz, by showing Pat Hickey grinning like the Cheshire bleedin' Cat.

Grand so, I'm ofta bed..thank Christ that's over for another 4 years.

George: "Iran, Iraq. You know where this is heading..."

I dunno George, IS?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

mansize wrote: »
    Did Heatons make our gear???

I hope Bob Geldof wasn't watching, he'd be appalled by their attire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

crap outfits , oh well what can you expect with hickey in place and it aint gonna change with the next guy either.

Time for Zzz

All that expectation and it was over in seconds. Bit like my love life.

Night folks.

Aye, the Liffey Boardwalk look for Equipe Irlandais. Morto.

Really lads, considering so few of the team were even able to make the opening ceremony, a few blazers and slacks/skirts wouldnt have killed the budget in our centenary year of sorts.

Look at what Indonesia did!

he'd be cheering for GB anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

So Indonesia has 256 million people and also like Bangladesh only has a proverbial handful of athletes????

It seems that like everything money means more than talent often.

See paddy Barnes is leading youse. I heard he gets straight into the quarter final. Surely that couldn't be right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,089 ✭✭✭Lavinia

:D:D:D

Nice of George to mention the Israeli athlete "who specialises in the hoop".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 724 ✭✭✭JK.BMC

Ireland are the worst dressed Olympic team in history!
    Countries with the GDP of Longford came out in top-to-toe stylist gear/national dress. We looked like skangers

JK.BMC wrote: »
    Ireland are the worst dressed Olympic team in history!
    Countries with the GDP of Longford came out in top-to-toe stylist gear/national dress. We looked like skangers

in fairness that's national dress to some in Ireland

timthumbni wrote: »

See paddy Barnes is leading youse. I heard he gets straight into the quarter final. Surely that couldn't be right?

We'll let you have that argument to his face.

*real answer, seeded fighters get byes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Bangladesh

156 million people... 7 Athletes (afaik)

Is that the lowest athletes to poulation ratio?

They ate the rest of them.

Coat etc

Is syria in this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Elliott S

Oh Jesus
    Manky trackies

Looked like feckin' onesies! :rolleyes:

Seemed a really small team compared to other Olympics.