Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

UFC 204 - Manchester - Travel/Meet Ups/Fight Club etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭but1er

bigmc23 wrote: »
    The print works is a bit rough. Go to the northern quarter!

I'm happy wherever tbh I just want cheap gargle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Anyone know what the Shambles Tavern up the road is like? Looks decent. I'm sure we'll sort it all at the airport. Haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Met a rake of the fighters lads Maia,Larkin,Struve,Stann,Bektic,OSP

just watched the Q&A with Dan Hardy and Maia.... good stuff, a few dumb questions thrown in, but good stuff. Maia seems like the nicest guy to ever walk the planet.

• Registered Users Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Deadst4r

Met a rake of the fighters lads Maia,Larkin,Struve,Stann,Bektic,OSP
    Where did you meet them all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,387 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

Deadst4r wrote: »

Well Oxford Road has a lot of needs on it cash machine by Sainsburys, food outlets, offy till 3am just to name a few.

I like my craft beers so was on my way to Brewdog when I saw fellas in fight gear across the road Brewdog was dead anyways so said I'd go in to hotel for a pint, low and behold I spotted Mike Brown so knew I'd possibly struck gold.

Chatting to fellas there it was confirmed as the fighter hotel. Had one or 2 beers no fighters about but came back today...after the last post I've since met Moussasi and Mike Goldberg.

Short answer Radisson on Oxford Road across from Brew Dog, Manchester Central where the weigh ins were held is directly behind it.

Well Oxford Road has a lot of needs on it cash machine by Sainsburys, food outlets, offy till 3am just to name a few.

I like my craft beers so was on my way to Brewdog when I saw fellas in fight gear across the road Brewdog was dead anyways so said I'd go in to hotel for a pint, low and behold I spotted Mike Brown so knew I'd possibly struck gold.

Chatting to fellas there it was confirmed as the fighter hotel. Had one or 2 beers no fighters about but came back today...after the last post I've since met Moussasi and Mike Goldberg.

Short answer Radisson on Oxford Road across from Brew Dog, Manchester Central where the weigh ins were held is directly behind it.

I'd like to meet maia. Might go for a nosey since I'll probably be at brew dog as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

I'd love to meet Maia. Absolute hero.

D.Q wrote: »
    I'd love to meet Maia. Absolute hero.

Absolute gent, Mousasi left a good impression as well he was around for a good bit sat down for a Vodcast with either Severe mma or the UG or perhaps a combo of the 2.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭Porthallian

Anybody any ideas on dress code for the arena?
    Are football/soccer jerseys allowed?

Was thinking about wearing my Donegal jersey for a laugh

Anybody any ideas on dress code for the arena?
    Are football/soccer jerseys allowed?

Was thinking about wearing my Donegal jersey for a laugh

Attach a Reebok logo over the O Neills and your sorted :D

In all honesty it won't be a problem plenty of Mank United jerseys etc at weigh ins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,460 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

At the airport now.

Going to be feckin knackered tomorrow on the way home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭stephenl15

Flying out at one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Whelo79

I stayed up until 3am this morning hoping that I would sleep late today before heading to the airport. Hasn't worked out like that. I might need some matchsticks for the eyes come the main card!

DrPhilG wrote:
    Going to be feckin knackered tomorrow on the way home.

You getting the 8am back too?

Whelo79 wrote:
    I stayed up until 3am this morning hoping that I would sleep late today before heading to the airport. Hasn't worked out like that. I might need some matchsticks for the eyes come the main card!

A big can of Monster at 2am will do the trick.

You getting the 8am back too?

No, flying Liverpool into Derry so it's around 2pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

3 nights on beer including last night gonna be a long day. At airport getting 1340 flight. A few shirts around and excitable guys. I'm gonna conserve as much as possible

The weigh ins were a bit flat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Dave0301

On the train up to Manchester now. Coming from South West England. Really looking forward to it now, although I know I am going to be a zombie come tomorrow and probably Monday too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 431 ✭✭Killergreene

On the 6pm aer lingus flight . Travelling to the airport now. Hoping for an early finish in the main event so we all make our flight home! :)

What's the best way to get into town/ the arena from the airport ? Does the free metroshuttle tun/go there?

Got train to Piccadilly 5 quid single

There's some queue at airport security here in Dublin. Biggest I've ever seen it in T1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,253 ✭✭✭ooter

What's the best way to get into town/ the arena from the airport ? Does the free metroshuttle tun/go there?

I've flown in to Manchester loads of times and the best way to get in to the city centre is by train in my opinion, no idea about getting to the arena though.

Funny. Drinking at the airport and looking around wondering who's a boardsie. Haha

Are u on aer lingus 6pm swash?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭davywalsh7

Haha same too. Just boarding now

Are u on aer lingus 6pm swash?

4.40pm Ryanair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭davywalsh7

Any meet ups? Just landed in Manchester

Box office is already open for collection.

Just about to get off the train at Piccadilly myself. I might go collect my ticket first before hitting a pub.

Upstairs in Yates printworks a few bordsies there I'm getting a grub first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,945 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Just been speaking to a mate of mine who's in Manchester, he reckons it will get pretty ugly tonight, thousands of guys out on the lash already in Manchester and the card doesn't start for another 5hrs

scudzilla wrote: »
    Just been speaking to a mate of mine who's in Manchester, he reckons it will get pretty ugly tonight, thousands of guys out on the lash already in Manchester and the card doesn't start for another 5hrs
    I think it's going to be a **** show judging from the people at my hostel.

Hope there's a lot of security on..

The arena is right at Victoria station in case anyone was wondering

JoeyJJ wrote: »
    Upstairs in Yates printworks a few bordsies there I'm getting a grub first

I'm just next door in the hard rock getting some food. Will head to Yates next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,945 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

I think it's going to be a **** show judging from the people at my hostel.

Hope there's a lot of security on..

I went to all UK/Irish events from 38 up to 93 and not bothered since, mainly due to poor card/top prices.

Worst event i went to for crowd trouble was 75 in London, the amount of supposed hardmen there was astounding, fights all over the place after the event, that totally put my wife off and she loved going to events

In some harvester place across from it getting steak in

• Registered Users Posts: 48 cashcow

I witnessed a guy so drunk at the box office pick up that he was struggling to put the tickets into his pocket so kind of made me a bit wary of what's to come. On a lighter note I've bumped into the same group of lads from the plane 3 times,think they were just as lost as Me !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭but1er

Over in northern quarter with family friends

No craic

This is going to be rough

• Registered Users Posts: 139 ✭✭ItsAnEasyGame

According to ufc on twitter they've just released a further 200 tickets.

Box office is swarming with touts, I'd say they're not pleased...

Mousasi still hanging around chatting to folks

I just met him there. You must have been near me.

Seen Pickett as well but didn't speak to him.

I just met him there. You must have been near me.

Seen Pickett as well but didn't speak to him.

Must have been hope he wins I'm almost at the arena now

That 8am flight was a piece of piss. Had two pints waiting. Happy days.

Jaysus I need to sleep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

It has been emotional. See you all in Belfast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Emotional indeed, waiting around for the train wasn't fun.

Funny thing happened, we just found ourselves in the back of the walkabout, one of the lads said "look it's Jay from the inbetweeners".......nope Paddy Pimblet..... and he doesn't like being called Jay from the inbetweeners!