Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Olympics daily thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,115 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Stheno wrote: »
    Way too late for me. Is the marathon the last event?

I think the four boxing finals may be the last events. Joe Joyce of Team GB boxes in the very last bout at 7.15pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,705 ✭✭✭Speak Now

fryup wrote: »
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^

and Jamaica were no where to be seen 20yrs ago and lo & behold they're now dominating sprint athletics

hhhhhmmmmm :cool:

Look where the British were 20 years ago compared to now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,187 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Pissing rain for the marathon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,115 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Pissing rain for the marathon.

The runners will actually love this but it's not good for spectators.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,187 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

RTE commentators discussing Miss World! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭nomdeboardie

Skid X wrote: »
    GBNI now guaranteed to win more medals in Rio than they did in London.
    Impressive indeed. Of course it might be argued that there was a bit more medal availability for all players this time due to the virtual absence of Russia. (I suppose there tend to be more events at each Olympics also? though that would propably have little effect here)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭KevinK

Strazdas wrote: »
    I think the four boxing finals may be the last events. Joe Joyce of Team GB boxes in the very last bout at 7.15pm.

Mens Basketball final doesn't start until 19.45

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Impressive indeed. Of course it might be argued that there was a bit more medal availability for all players this time due to the virtual absence of Russia. (I suppose there tend to be more events at each Olympics also? though that would propably have little effect here)

306 possible Gold Medals this time, against 302 in London.

I don't think the reduced Russian team would have had a significant difference, maybe in one or two events. Russia has won 53 medals this year, 82 in 2012.

Whatever you look at it, it's a fine achievement to win more medals at an 'away' Olympics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,599 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Would love to see Ruup do this. Would be the biggest story of the track as regards winner....

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

walshb wrote: »
    Would love to see Ruup do this. Would be the biggest story of the track as regards winner....

Was just thinking the same but looks like he's dropped off

Kipchogue looks very strong. The Ethiopian is chasing him like a demon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Shame it doesn't finish in the stadium on the track.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

Jaysis,did ye see the dog running across the road just before the finish line???��Eff-up no.502 for Rio!

This mountain bike race is unreal. These lads are seriously strong and skilled.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭ahlookit

Timmy is on RTE2 now

As an aside, the mens basketball final is also on. But its all about the Timmy show :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

I'm all Olympicked out at this stage, can do with a break :D

I did a list of Irish Athletes/Teams who finished in the Top 10 in their events (excluding those who got knocked out in the last 16, I suppose they finished =9th, technically)

Is there anyone missing from this list, or any mistakes?

Some fine performances there, and there are more just outside the Top 10

2nd Annalise Murphy Laser Radial

2nd Gary and Paul O'Donovan Lightweight Double Sculls

4th Thomas Barr 400m Hurdles

=5th Katie Taylor Lightweight Boxing (Lost QF)

=5th Michael Conlan Bantamweight Boxing (Lost QF)

=5th Steven Donnelly Welterweight Boxing (Lost QF)

6th Rob Heffernan 50k Walk

6th Sinead Lynch & Claire Lambe Lightweight Sculls

7th Natalya Coyle Modern Pentathlon

8th Arthur Lanigan O'Keefe Modern Pentathlon

8th Oliver Dingley 3m Springboard Diving

8th Clare Abott/ Jonty Evans/ Mark Kyle Eventing Team

9th Jonty Evans Eventing Individual

=9th Ireland Hockey (5th in Group)

10th Matt McGovern & Ryan Seaton 49er

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I did a list of Irish Athletes/Teams who finished in the Top 10 in their events (excluding those who got knocked out in the last 16, I suppose they finished =9th, technically)

Sunita Puspure? Didn't she win the B Final so technically 7th?

And what about Judy Reynolds in the dressage?

Stheno wrote: »
    Sunita Puspure? Didn't she win the B Final so technically 7th?

And what about Judy Reynolds in the dressage?

Sunita won the C Final, so technically 13th

Judy finished 18th

Sunita won the C Final, so technically 13th

Judy finished 18th

Ah sorry, thought she was in the B final.

And I confused Judy, it was a PB for her :)

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

The girls in the rowing got to the final and finished 6th but our boxers are technically ranked tied 5th for a quarter final. I think the rowers was the better performance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Chivito550

I think boxing is the type of sport where it's a medal or nothing. Losing a quarter final doesn't feel like a 5th place finish.

Chivito550 wrote: »
    I think boxing is the type of sport where it's a medal or nothing. Losing a quarter final doesn't feel like a 5th place finish.

or winning one and not being given the decision by the judges

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

Very proud of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,889 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Just watched an interview with Bianca Walkden on Youtube. British Judo bronze medallist.
    She came back from 2 ACL injuries to compete in Rio.
    Loved the accent and down to earth attitude.
    It's people like that I admire wrt to Olympics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Chivito550 wrote: »

Plus some it was their only fight and didn't win any (in the Olympics) to get to that point.

BBC Olympic channels are all finished now apart from the volley ball and a highlights one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Plus some it was their only fight and didn't win any (in the Olympics) to get to that point.

BBC Olympic channels are all finished now apart from the volley ball and a highlights one.

They have to qualify to reach that stage tbf. Less places

All the olympics channels are now showing regular tv - RTE 2, BBC1, 2 & 4:(

This is going to be hard to get used to:(

Ososlo wrote: »
    All the olympics channels are now showing regular tv - RTE 2, BBC1, 2 & 4:(

This is going to be hard to get used to:(

Im hoping RTE News Now will focus solely on Hickey, Delaney, Pro10 and THG for the next fortnight.

Should ease the withdrawal symptoms and tide us over to the Paralympics

ahlookit wrote: »
    Im hoping RTE News Now will focus solely on Hickey, Delaney, Pro10 and THG for the next fortnight.

Should ease the withdrawal symptoms and tide us over to the Paralympics

Yeah let's hope so.

Are the Paralympics shown live on normal tv?