Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2016/2017

Alonso said it best himself, he didn't want to leave when Benitez wanted Barry but a year or whenever later when he did want to leave Benitez did want him to stay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,199 ✭✭✭Talisman

Vicxas wrote: »
    The worst part was that Benitez thought Gareth Barry was a better midfielder.

GARETH

BARRY
    No he didn't. Benitez needed the money to strengthen the team, Alonso was a saleable asset. Alonso explained this himself in a recent interview.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Please don't get into this again.

Please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,280 ✭✭✭Glico Man

5starpool wrote: »

Please.

Net spend anyone?

I've created a highly detailed match thread to distract people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Just looked at LFC's twitter to see had they tonights team up.

The background photo is fecking awful!

J Mysterio wrote: »
    Just looked at LFC's twitter to see had they tonights team up.

The background photo is fecking awful!

The team is never announced until an hour from kick off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Milkers

kfallon wrote: »

As if the goal itself wasn't good enough, it was preceded by a total boss tackle and an attempt by the ref to get in his way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Sappy404 wrote: »
    It's incredible how quickly predictions change.

Opening round: Liverpool put 4 past Arsenal, they're contenders. Wenger needs to go. Spurs only drew with Everton? They don't have enough players for CL and a league push. With Pep and Mourinho, City and United surely favourites for the league.

Round 2: Liverpool lose 2-0 to Burnley - fooked. Lucky to get 4th. Same old problems. Conte has Costa banging them in again. Chelsea will defo get top 4. Mourinho and Ibra will win United the league. Arsenal only managed a draw with relegation candidates Leicester? They're gone.

Round 3: Decent LFC performance v Spurs, who look poor. They won't make top 4 this season. Harry Kane is a busted flush. Chelsea really are back. United winning in Fergie time again, of course. Mourinho knows how to win them the league. They'll hold off City now and go top after that. Arsenal only beat Watford, big deal.

Round 4: Liverpool hammer the Champions. We're BACK. Chelsea robbed vs Swansea, slight dent in their title push. Arsenal scraped a win v Southampton? Jammy. 2-1 City in the derby - Pep is the only chink in Mourinho's armour. They'll just edge United to the title this season then. But their dodgy keeper will cost them a few points.

Round 5: Pep is unstoppable - how ever will they drop points? They'll win the quadruple and go unbeaten. United are imploding, typical Mourinho. Spurs lose Kane? They're gone. So it's between Liverpool and City, then. Liverpool have already played all the top teams in the toughest opening fixture list ever. This will go right to the wire.

Current top 4:

1 Manchester City
    2 Everton
    3 Tottenham Hotspur
    4 Arsenal

The journos thought the season was mapped out after 3 games and the big 3 would run away with it, which means they all forgot last season!

City are being over hyped and the over reaction to Mourinho and united is crazy. I want him to fall as much as anybody but then I'm not supposed to be objective as a Liverpool fan!

All the football podcasts were at it yesterday, was waiting for Andy Mitton from the United fanzine to tell them to cop the feck on.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Cs0JwBFWIAA-n8S.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Colemania

7 changes, didn't expect so much but can't complain about that team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

J Mysterio wrote: »
    Cs0JwBFWIAA-n8S.png

Lucas holding and Grujic and Henderson doing box to box.

Wish I could have seen the match, not home till well after it finishes.

Im looking for a good performance from Coutinho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Milkers

Sturridge and Wijnaldum not on the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,710 ✭✭✭54and56

Feckin Arab commentary on my river is cracking me up!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Feckin Arab commentary on my river is cracking me up!!

Fair play to BEIN, up and running with proper queens English now ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Safe to say Karius has overtaken Mignolet as the best keeper in the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,930 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

When did we sign Messi or is it Neymar to be our LB?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,945 ✭✭✭dogbert27

Glico Man wrote: »

Please.

Net spend anyone?

Spare me your net spend, I still don't have closure on zonal marking and rotation policies!!!

Delighted with that. He needed it.

What a cracking finish by Origi. Stonker!

New chant:

Here come your Can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

I love goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

I think Can looked just as rubbish when he came back in after injury towards the end of last season but I think it was only a few games later he was brilliant in Dortmund away or something like that.

He needs some time but I don't think we'll have to wait for months.

Tom Ince really did go far listening to his old man.

Are we still buying Will Hughes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

A clean sheet?? I need a lie down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Boring boring 3-0. Not much to pick out of that really other than Karius looks fine, Matip continues to impress me a lot and Origi needed that goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

No particular reason to bench Mignolet after that.

Karius is a young lad.
    He'll get chances and Migs will probably drop a bollock sooner or later.
    Flapped at a few crosses so in the absence of any compelling arguments against, Mignolet stays put for the moment for me.

The high starting position as a tactical change might be the one thing that forces Jurgen's hand. It was a close thing but it was a good interception at the end of the first half.

Good solid stuff at the start of the second half to wrap things up.

On we go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Great match for the youngsters but Klopp must be taking the cup seriously.

Roll on Saturday :)

Good result although you'd expect no less considering we played with 12 after Lucas snuck onto the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭JonnyM

Good to see Can back, Origi goal and a clean sheet.

Looking forward to Saturday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Donestic treble still on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

happy momentum

ricero wrote: »
    Donestic treble still on

Will be tough with Everton able to focus on winning the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Will be tough with Everton able to focus on winning the league.

Mighty nice of them to leave us the League Cup, in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

Good result although you'd expect no less considering we played with 12 after Lucas snuck onto the pitch.

Can't see Klopp being too pleased with that after publicly stating he wasn't part of his plans for this season.

Or did I dream that? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭passremarkable

Is there any station showing highlights of tonight's games?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭xabi

We've played really well in 6 from 7 games so far this season (although a couple of dodgy patches, especially vs Arsenal) which is great. Hopefully we can keep up that type of return through out the season. There will always be bad games, but I'm hoping there is more good than bad.

There is a clear structure and pattern of play which all the squad seem to be 100% drilled on and comfortable playing. The cherry on the cake is the playing style is fast attacking football which is both skillful and creative. Very easy on the eye and more importantly very effective both home and away particularly with Matip and Lovern building what looks like a decent partnership and Karius and Can back fit again.

It's early days but we'd all have settled for the points we have and the way we're playing at this stage of the season.

Exciting times ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,366 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Managed to steal himself a captain's armband too by the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Is there any station showing highlights of tonight's games?

Channel 5 have it in the UK tomorrow night but the highlights (or the whole game) are available now online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,490 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Would like a handy home draw next two rounds .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,490 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

• Registered Users Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭passremarkable

thanks folks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj