Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2016/2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Yeah, the difficult first games could actually really be a positive. Do well there and you're off to a flying start... before opening the new Anfield.

Chelsea reportedly offering £39M for Joao Mario :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

J Mysterio wrote: »

Do we really need a new Midfielder?

• Registered Users Posts: 666 ✭✭✭Speckydodge

Knex. wrote:
    I wouldn't mind if the club did did look for him, but only if its to tell himself and his agent to **** off.

He told that agent to **** off last summer around the time Sterling was ****ing us over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,501 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Don't be sad, decent attacking players are utterly wasted with a manager like Conte.

If Mane's pre-season form is an indication of what he'll be like in the PL for us, he's better than or at least as good as the Joao Mario I've seen at the Euros, and that's saying a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

All I want for Christmas is a left back! No links at all right now, usually there is something to click....:D

Have something for ya this morning actually Harry, here ya go.

A link that never seems to go away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

:mad:

:mad:

I did warn you though, it is indeed a link that never seems to go away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,283 ✭✭✭gucci

Would love is to be looking for Berahino if they are interested in Benteke.

Pretty sure when we look back at some highlights shows of the last few years Berahino will be one of them lads that people will say "bloody hell I forgot about him!" (not that he even has alot to make a highlights reel)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Only 2 days till kick off.

I am excite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Only 2 days till kick off.

I am excite.

Grand, I'm taking Buford then. Its about time I had a new name.

Do I get to wear the hat?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

I am excite and so is my wife

• Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭RainMakerToo

Knex. wrote: »
    Grand, I'm taking Buford then. Its about time I had a new name.

Do I get to wear the hat?

Would it not be Kbuford then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

Fair play to Howard Gayle. He turned down an MBE
    Which unfortunately I had to decline the nomination for the reason that my ancestors would be turning in their graves after how Empire and Colonialism had enslaved them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,928 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Bring back the top knot.

Screen-Shot-2016-08-12-at-09.40.58-1.png?w=672

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

This is how I would line up for Arsenal

Mignolet
    Clyne---Lovren---Klavan---Moreno
    Can
    Henderson
    Mane
    Firmino
    Coutinho
    Origi

I think Lallana will probably start & Firmino moved up front.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I hope that's some weird filter that Firmino has on. Looks ridiculous, although I won't care if he does the business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Fimino has a peace sign tattoo on his arm and a rose tattoo on his hand as well as a crown tattoo on his neck......and he wears diamond earrings.....what I'm basically trying to say is thankfully the top knot is gone....

Bring back the top knot.

Lesbian Firmino pic

Can't wait to see the Dr Phillipe and Ellen DeBrazilian partnership cause some damage this season now.

Seriously though the fcuking state of him. Must be a worst haircut contest at the club and he's still losing to Moreno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

MD1990 wrote: »
    This is how I would line up for Arsenal

Mignolet
    Clyne---Lovren---Klavan---Moreno
    Can
    Henderson
    Mane
    Firmino
    Coutinho
    Origi

I think Lallana will probably start & Firmino moved up front.

Personally, I think Lallana deserves the start. He was outstanding against Barcelona.

Push Firmino up top and bring Lallana in to that central role. He provides a deeper support to Can and Henderson than Firmino would from that position as well, so in theory it would leave the midfield a little more solid from the start.

Anyone know what Milner's story is with regards to his injury?

He couldn't handle Suarez taking p1ss out of the top knot before the Barca game so he went for a better bleach job than Messi to impress Suarez.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Knex. wrote: »
    Personally, I think Lallana deserves the start. He was outstanding against Barcelona.

Push Firmino up top and bring Lallana in to that central role. He provides a deeper support to Can and Henderson than Firmino would from that position as well, so in theory it would leave the midfield a little more solid from the start.

Anyone know what Milner's story is with regards to his injury?
    Lallana has been excellent since Klopp came in. Firmino has to start though. Origi should start because his pace & strength should badly expose Chambers & whoever is the other CB possibly Holden.

Bring back the top knot.

Messi inspired?

18thgc.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

I reckon we could get some joy with a pacy, direct attack against Arsenal - Mané, Firmino, Origi and a fit Sturridge would all do well i'd say.

Presuming Sturridge isn't involved, I'd be happy to see Mané, Firmino and Lallana (pressing is crucial) behind Origi.

I think between fitness and availability, the rest of the side effectively picks itself this week but I'm looking forward to seeing them in action.

My starting XI: Mignolet / Clyne, Lovren, Klavan, Moreno / Henderson, Can / Lallana, Firmino, Mané / Origi

But I expect Coutinho to start ahead of Lallana tbh.

We don't have a great record away to Arsenal, or on the opening day, so a win would be a very nice change of pace on several fronts. Arsenal are also slow starters and have a heap of injuries and that, but any side with Sanchez in it is dangerous, especially as we may have an unsettled/second string defence.

I reckon, regardless of who plays where, this game will have goals in it.

Balotelli's birthday today, only 26 ;)
    Also the birthday of the Lord of Frodsham Manor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭bur

Giles and Dunphy tipping us to do well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Is Sturridge expected to be back for the Burnley game?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭One_Of_Shanks

5starpool wrote: »
    I hope that's some weird filter that Firmino has on. Looks ridiculous, although I won't care if he does the business.

I can't see her allowing him to do the business much with that barnet! :D

Like everyone else I'm looking forward to the big kick-off. Just a bit fearful of how we do defensively against them but no doubt we can certainly create chances and score goals there, with or without Sturridge.

For this particular game Milner would be a bigger loss than Sturridge imo.
    But hopefully both are fit and available on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,945 ✭✭✭dogbert27

kfallon wrote: »
    Is Sturridge expected to be back for the Burnley game?

I like what Klopp says in regard to this, every player has to prove their match ready for the next game.

If you're not match ready there are others waiting to take that place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭Mr.H

I know they will most likely be gone

BUT

If Balo, Benteke, Lazar and anyone else deemed surplus, I hope we give them at least bench time or game time in the cups to allow them to force their way back into the squad.

Obviously if we can get rid of that is better but I hope we dont keep them away from the squad just because we couldnt sell them. Use them to put pressure on the rest of the team to perform. As long as they are not disruptive of course. If they are then they can stay away from the U23's while they are at it.

But whoever is at the club after deadline day I hope they are not ignored. Sure make them work harder to get into the team but if they have a chance we may end up with a Lucas/Allen situation where someone who was ****e ends up being a fan fav

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Ben Gadot

Balotelli's birthday today, only 26 ;)
    Also the birthday of the Lord of Frodsham Manor

Mario and Cisse were born on the same day? ****ing hell, hopefully any future progeny avoid that day.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Can't imagine there will be as many clear cut chances in the game on Sunday as there was in the same fixture last year. Should have been about 4-0 up at half time, and 4-4 at full time. No idea how it ended 0-0.

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭Sheeeeit

Are there any Fantasy Premier League leagues going? I thought I saw a code on this thread but I no longer see the league?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,582 ✭✭✭mormank

martyos121 wrote: »
    Have something for ya this morning actually Harry, here ya go.

A link that never seems to go away.

I wonder if the owner of that web page gets any kind of income from that page being clicked and if that person is at a loss as to why the pennies are still rolling in!! :D:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,582 ✭✭✭mormank

Bring back the top knot.

Someone finally got his top knot!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Damien360

Sheeeeit wrote: »
    Are there any Fantasy Premier League leagues going? I thought I saw a code on this thread but I no longer see the league?

The code quoted for the LFC superthread boards league was not valid. Cannot seem to find another.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

This will set the mood for the weekend

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fEoDkL4PnCk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,480 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Our preseason was in tents
    I expect we will be compact
    We'll be great in tight space
    And Arsenal will fall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭One_Of_Shanks

Actually on 2nd thoughts, I'd do him!

https://twitter.com/lovefutebol/status/764066715701391360
    #lfc's official new capacity for the start of the season is confirmed at 54,167

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,796 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Poor old Danny ings, being lumped in with Mario and Benteke.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭PaddyWilliams

Our preseason was in tents
    I expect we will be compact
    We'll be great in tight space
    And Arsenal will fall

Did they camp out for the whole thing? :pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭prettyboy81

Liverpool v Utd moved to MNF, 17th October, fireworks Neville v Carragher!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

bur wrote: »
    Giles and Dunphy tipping us to do well.

A fair few "stars" tipped us for top 4 in that BBC predictor thing, but 6th overall. More a reflect than nobody genuinely hasn't a clue of what is going to happen.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Liverpool v Utd moved to MNF, 17th October, fireworks Neville v Carragher!

Has it ever been on a Monday night before?
    We've a Friday night match as well against Chelsea IIRC.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭prettyboy81

K-9 wrote: »
    Has it ever been on a Monday night before?
    We've a Friday night match as well against Chelsea IIRC.

Last one I remember was away to Utd & for some reason Steve Finnan sticks in my mind for either scoring or scoring OG. We were in yellow jerseys for what its worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

Poor old Danny ings, being lumped in with Mario and Benteke.

I thought that was really strange. Bet Meh didn't like that. Bit of sly, motivational "mind games" (spit, ugh) out of Klopp?