Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

General Premier League Thread - 2016/2017

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,292 ✭✭✭GreNoLi

Manchester United
    Costa's some laugh.

Manchester United
    Grant poor, Willian with the opener for chelsea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,928 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Leicester
    Dominic Calvert-Lewin scored to put Everton 1 up.

Chelsea
    Peno for stoke

Chelsea
    Johny has got stoke covered 1-1

Manchester United
    Soft one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

Well done Cahill. Great peno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

What on earth was Cahill thinking of?

Leicester
    Costa is form someone is getting a red in this game.

Leicester
    Nasty one on Costa there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,205 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

Dunno how Payet was bored at West Ham this is great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,363 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

I hate Stoke.

Their kit.
    Their nickname (The Potters).
    Their fans.
    Ryan Shawcross.

Hate them.

Their only redeeming quality is Jonathan Walters.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Everton up to 6th as things stand. Liverpool and utd away next two though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Chelsea
    Who's the last player to win back to back titles with two different clubs like Kante is going to do? The last I'm certain of is cantona with leeds and United. Anyone else?

Ashley Cole, Nasri or any of the others who moved from arsenal to a big rival maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Chelsea
    Jayop wrote: »
    Who's the last player to win back to back titles with two different clubs like Kante is going to do? The last I'm certain of is cantona with leeds and United. Anyone else?

Ashley Cole, Nasri or any of the others who moved from arsenal to a big rival maybe?

Mark Schwarzer but don't think he played a game :p.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Chelsea
    Unearthly wrote: »
    Mark Schwarzer but don't think he played a game :p.

The only club medal he has is a league cup. Decent shout though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

noone but Schwarzer. Surprised with that..............but then again, I actually amn't!!

Manchester United
    That's what would be champions are made of.

Manchester United
    Bardsley's a numpty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

SlickRic wrote: »
    I hate Stoke.

Their kit.
    Their fans.
    Ryan Shawcross.

Hate them.

you forgot Phil Bardsley...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

SlickRic wrote: »
    I hate Stoke.

Their kit.
    Their fans.
    Ryan Shawcross.

Hate them.

Their only redeeming quality is Jonathan Walters.

They are from the Potteries what else would they be called? Also Joe Allen, how dare you?!

Manchester United
    Spurs coping comfortably without Kane.

GreNoLi wrote: »

Along with the international break, they couldn't have asked for a nicer run of fixtures to alleviate the pressure his absence may put on the team if, as now anticipated, he is back in time for the FA Cup semi.

• Chelsea
    GreNoLi wrote: »

As much as I despise spurs Im most impressed with there consistency against the weaker teams in the league

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Nearly made it 2-2 then! Currently 2-1

Wanyama would want to watch himself now. Best man to target with runs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,402 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

If United get fourth and win Europa League does fifth place get into CL?

Collie D wrote: »

When.

No but if united finish 5th and win EL & Leicester win CL.
    4th place will miss out.

Ps, I dont think so. Only reason Spain had 5 is because Sevilla finished 5th. So if United finish 5th, 4th place English team enters Playoff Qualifying I think. (like Villareal.....who lost out to Monaco)

Lucas Hood wrote: »
    No but if united finish 5th and win EL & Leicester win CL.
    4th place will miss out.

No, Spain had 5 last year. Think it was due to Seville finishing 5th and winning Europa and nothing to do with Real winning the Champ League.

Real Madrid qualified already through the league Leicester wont.
    If Leicester win the champions league they'll automatically qualify. So will United if they win the Europa league.
    4th will miss out if both of the above finish outside the top 4.

Had Real Madrid finished 10th say last year they'd have qualified because they won it and 4th place would have missed out.

Real Madrid qualified already through the league Leicester wont.
    If Leicester win the champions league they'll automatically qualify. So will United if they win the Europa league.
    4th will miss out if both of the above finish outside the top 4.

Had Real Madrid finished 10th say last year they'd have qualified because they won it and 4th place would have missed out.

Oh, sorry, wasn't thinking there! For some reason I was putting Leicester in the exact same situation as Madrid this year in their respective leagues, if you get me!

Cheers, lads. Think I've got it. Only way there'll be five teams is if United finish outside top four.

Or Leicester win the champions league.

But then fourth would miss out if I've understood your earlier post.

EDIT: Unless it's United in fourth, get ya now. Sorry..between Cheltenham and the long weekend my brain is addled

But then fourth would miss out if I've understood your earlier post.

No you can have 5 teams.
    For 4th to miss out both Leicester & United need to win the CL & EL and miss out on top 4.
    If one of them wins and finish outside top 4 , 4th keeps there spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭brianregan09

Liverpool
    Basically Europa League winning doesn't affect the country's teams

If United finish 5th and win the europa league the top 5 will go through

if Leicester also win the champions league, they will replace the team in 4th simple really

What a load of b*llox!!!!!!

Manchester City manager Pep Guardiola said his side's performance in the 1-1 draw with Liverpool gave him "one of the most special days in his life".

Guardiola has won two Champions Leagues, six domestic titles and four cups in his stellar managerial career.

But he said he took as much pleasure from the way City responded to the "sadness" of their midweek Champions League exit in Monaco.

"I am so proud," he said. "This is one of the most special days of my life."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,948 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

So what? Are you just annoyed because he's not moping so you've nothing to mock City over?

?? ....... jesus, lighten up there boyo! We can talk about the weather if you want! I just thought it was funny statement, but maybe it's just me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

Telegraph Football‏Verified account
    @TeleFootball

"Arsene Wenger will tell Arsenal he wants to stay beyond this season"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,665 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Telegraph Football‏Verified account
    @TeleFootball

"Arsene Wenger will tell Arsenal he wants to stay beyond this season"

I suppose wanting to stay and actually staying are two different things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

I don't see how Lukaku is going to make the step up to a top team.

He'll see less of the ball, have more responsibility with bringing people into play and there'll be far less tolerance for doing **** all in a game and then popping up with a goal.

He seems too mercurial to me.
    He could be part of a title challenge at a lower level club, a bit like how Vardy was (although I do think he's better than that at least), but I don't see how he's consistent enough to play for the elite of Europe.

You look at top attackers across Europe - Suarez, Benzema, Griezemann, Costa, Lewandowski - they're all so consistent, they've buckets of assists even in seasons where their goalscoring isn't quite as good, their all round game is at such a high level.

Lukaku is a good footballer but a world class athlete. At the highest level I think that's found out more than the other way around.

Manchester United
    Chelsea to win, a bold prediction to be sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

Manchester United
    That great Hazard/Fabregas partnership pays dividends with a great goal there 5 minutes in.

Manchester United
    Cesc with a Lampardesque goal for chelsea, 1-0.

Manchester United
    Zaha equalises, good goal.

Manchester United
    Well fup me, Benteke with a lovely dinkerino, 1-2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,948 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

What a start, Benteke 2-1