Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Flowers for Bees

Options
  • 10-08-2016 9:34pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭

Hi folks,

I'm an absolute novice with all things garden related except walking behind a lawnmower.

I've a small garden out back that I'm getting done up (brother in law is handier with that stuff than me) It's steep at the back roughly a 6' drop in 45 degree angle, then fairly flat.

I'm going to get 3 terraces (Garden is 18' Wide) put in on the slope, then stone/gravel on the flat.

I want to have flowers (in the terraces) that are very bee friendly, but that are not demanding on me, as they'd have no chance if they need me to help them grow.

I've been out to a couple of garden centres having a wee look, but I'm like a cow looking at a radio when it comes to this stuff, not a clue...

I've tried looking at various sites for advice, but don't have enough knowledge as to how easy the plants are to take care off, if they'll take our climate etc...

Can people recommend flowers to put in?

cheers in advance.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭GrumpyMe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Put a cardboard cutout of me in your garden. Every bee in a 2 mile radius seems to hover around my face when I'm outdoors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Bumble bees love geranium pratense/Meadow cranesbill which blossoms in June as a rule, alas you only get about two weeks of glory but the bees will be all over them. They need no help at all - very hardy just stick em in a sunny spot.

220px-Meadow_Cranesbill.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 28,451 ✭✭✭✭looksee