Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can't get car insurance

13»

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,115 ✭✭✭893bet

shaunr68 wrote: »
    I'd be in the same boat, just moved from UK. Licence 30 years, three points about to expire. Last claim 27 years ago. I haven't got a NCB because I've been a named driver on the missus' policy for years. She has full NCB. We are paying around £230 fully comp, full EU cover on what I'd say without giving too much away is a reasonably mid-range but non-standard vehicle.

Strictly speaking we should import the vehicle and hunt around for an Irish insurer but no doubt never having had insurance over here before her NCB won't be recognised and we'll be expected to pay through the nose. You know what, the insurance companies can get to f***ery

I'm going to leave the vehicle registered at my parents' house and travel back (or to NI) for an MOT every year.

There's plenty to complain about with rip-off Britain but this is downright extortion.

Leaving the car on the UK plates us where you will get caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

This post has been deleted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭peteb2

shaunr68 wrote:
    Predominantly fronting and large scale fraudulent claims, as already discussed. I am not costing the Irish insurance industry a penny through my refusal to bend over and be shafted by them.

It reflects your bad moral hazard. It's all the same. Regardless of how you frame it.