Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline thread 12/08/16 to date

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    People have obviously actually voted for Mannix. Joe,,,, I dunno how well he'd do in a ballot.

I do be thinking Joe has political aspirations. I wouldn't rule it out.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,860 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Infested leg ? Go on mannix ask Joe about his leg ? Go on please.

Jesus Mannix can talk at some speed.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,386 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

It wouldn't surprise me at all. Even Joe wouldn't be daft enough to use his position to campaign for himself, but a few hints and manipulation in the year or so beforehand...
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Registered Users Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭Hamilcar

Can I just inject there

• Registered Users Posts: 82,341 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

The system clearly doesn't work, they simply give them mehadone and they are sent on their way. It's the same as the famines in Africa.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,860 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

I didn't know that mannix Flynn was a martyr for the drink. I mean fair play to him getting his lives in order.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,677 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

They should be dragged in IMO or prison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭BarryD

Go on, tell us. Who'd he run for?

Apart for himself of course.

M

BarryD wrote: »

I'd love if he ran for Mayor Of Dublin, the campaign would be gas :D

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    It wouldn't surprise me at all. Even Joe wouldn't be daft enough to use his position to campaign for himself, but a few hints and manipulation in the year or so beforehand...

I don't mean for some lowly councillor or TD job where he'd actually have to do some work, I'm thinking more in terms of a Presidential/ceremonial role, where he'd have to do feck all but be a figurehead but would be handsomely rewarded for doing so. And he'd get to live in De Arus, a home befitting a man of his stature.

The system clearly doesn't work, they simply give them mehadone and they are sent on their way. It's the same as the famines in Africa.

But before we gave them methadone, "community experts" demanded it. Now they give out to the govt for the fact they give methadone.

It's not just methadone. It's free money, healthcare, transport.

M

Butters can you call in about the woman who had a ****e beside your car?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

I'd love if he ran for Mayor Of Dublin, the campaign would be gas :D

The thought of Joe running would be gas?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

People watcher = Nosey.

"Don't make eye contact, they'll tear your head off."

• Registered Users Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Maybe the "unwell" should start taking some responsibility for their own lives and not be always blaming 'society' for their problems?

Don't get me wrong, they absolutely should take responsibility but without a constant key worker there because of a lack of funding/resources, they'll continue to be put on a carousel and thrown into various services that have the same (if not worse) problems as the last one.

Trust me, I've gone through a social care degree and a lot of our lecturers worked in these settings and just said that they can only do so much.

Same with fellow peers who have done their placements in these services and just said that they're understaffed and severely under funded to do the job they're being asked to do.

It's a horrible situation from both sides and to be honest, it's understandable to an extent why drug users blame society for their woes but at the end of the day, they have the capacity to turn it around.

It's a horribly depressing catch 22.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,845 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

ie I am a nosey b1tch

• Registered Users Posts: 13,845 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Quite skinny- no calories in heroin

M

Roger_007 wrote: »
    The thought of Joe running would be gas?

Yes and his campaign clothing :pac:

BarryD wrote: »

Independent most likely, but there's a chance he could run for his beloved FF if they called him.

He's so out of touch he probably thinks he'd be wildly popular.

I don't mean for some lowly councillor or TD job where he'd actually have to do some work, I'm thinking more in terms of a Presidential/ceremonial role, where he'd have to do feck all but be a figurehead but would be handsomely rewarded for doing so. And he'd get to live in De Arus, a home befitting a man of his stature.

I can just imagine President Joe rubbing shoulders with the other World Leaders.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,217 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

He was a polite unwell.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Having a bang?.............I thought that meant something else?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,962 ✭✭✭furiousox

...and then I sat down and then I stood up and then I read a paper and then I looked out the window....

CPL 593H

• Registered Users Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

I wish Joe wouldn't say "bang" *shudders*

M

Pure aggression with these scum is the only thing that puts them back in their box, works every time.

Independent most likely, but there's a chance he could run for his beloved FF if they called him.

He's so out of touch he probably thinks he'd be wildly popular.

He could do a Sean Gallagher and be "Independent FF". :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭Hamilcar

This is the short version?????????

Butters can you call in about the woman who had a ****e beside your car?

I'd rather not!

Wonder would he take that call? Honestly though after the amount of complaints I've made about the show and the host I'm pretty sure an alarm would go off in RTE if my number flashed up on the incoming call screen.