Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline thread 12/08/16 to date

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

The shower of cults that are the Palmarians and Joe Duffy's total obsession with them.
    This is their pope and his new bride, both of whom will be stripping off for some magazine this weekend.

picture-of-the-pope.jpg?w=468

Driving in the armageddon that will be Dublin tomorrow, Joe sounds angry already.

And some intelligible garble about dangerous buses at the end...(serious WTF moment there) :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

He got very stuttery near the end there. He hadn't a clue what he was trying to say.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    Probably wearing his Grandad's Lucky Socks, that lay mouldering in the dresser top drawer for years, until just a short while ago, when his Granny pulled them out and made him a gift of them.
    Unbeknownst to anyone, the preservative mothballs were a particularly poisonous variety, long since banned, and the fumes from them affected the KK players in subtle and mysterious ways, causing them to miss balls, footing, and the cup.

I don't think any trick like that will help Mayo. They are still one funeral away from winning the All-Ireland. All the Dubs have to do over the next week and a half is forget training and keep an eye on the death notices.

Today...
    Pal Mer E Fooking Church again...Joes pet topic, perhaps he should do a book on it and research it on a beach in Spain.
    Dublin Bus
    Dashcams, what do you do if a bus is driving dodge, who do you complain to so to speak...Joe of course.

You don't complain to anyone. You just wait until the bus driver is close enough to hear you and then shout "Scab!"

• Registered Users Posts: 8,007 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Dublin Bus Driver, quite a responsible job - €50,000 pa

RTE Telephonist, zilch responsiblty - €417,000 pa

welcome to bizzaro world :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Hitchens wrote: »
    Dublin Bus Driver, quite a responsible job - €50,000 pa 37.5 hours a week, 48 weeks a year + takes abuse daily from members of the public

RTE Telephonist, zilch responsiblty - €417,000 pa 7.25 hours a week (incl. breaks), 40-ish weeks a year, gives abuse daily to members of the public

FYP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Hitchens wrote: »
    Dublin Bus Driver, quite a responsible job - €50,000 pa

RTE Telephonist, zilch responsiblty - €417,000 pa

But Hey!!

He's here all summer dontacha know. :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 13,845 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Red Kev wrote: »

And some intelligible garble about dangerous buses at the end...(serious WTF moment there) :confused:

probably digging up the time when the bus drove up on the path at Ushers Quay or somewhere- we have an eye witness on line 1- how did that make you feel, X years ago & what colour was the bus

• Registered Users Posts: 8,007 ✭✭✭Hitchens

probably digging up the time when the bus drove up on the path at Ushers Quay or somewhere- we have an eye witness on line 1- how did that make you feel, X years ago & what colour was the bus

was de buz youedge, caller ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

I'm not sure that somebody who can run faster than 99.999% of able bodied people should qualify for the paralympics. I think what Jason Smith has going is that very irish thing... a racket.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

Right, how will Joe begin the programme?

"Condolences, Maura. It happened in 1956 ....",

• Registered Users Posts: 39,853 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

I'm not sure that somebody who can run faster than 99.999% of able bodied people should qualify for the paralympics. I think what Jason Smith has going is that very irish thing... a racket.
    Isn't it his lack of sight that qualifies him for the Paralympics ?

Good start!

• Registered Users Posts: 82,338 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Ffs research team, get yis are **** together.

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Isn't it his lack of sight that qualifies him for the Paralympics ?

I've never seen him cross lanes.

M

Whoy caller does a young man have to get up? What about her fellow women?

They have badges in London- I am Preggers, innit

M

How does she know the lads didn't have heart conditions or were ill?

Did she get on at Clontarf?

Caller: That's right joe. Nearly 8 o clock.
    Joe: back after deeze.

Caller: That's right joe. Nearly 8 o clock.
    Joe: back after deeze.

Oh get up the f**king yard, if they did offer the seat the woman probably would have taken offence at them offering the seat because she's a woman.

As a man, you just can't win these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,435 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

era feck off you old bag !!

perhaps your daughter should just move to London

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

I know a man who got abused by a "lady" for offering her his seat on a bus.

M

How topical, the DART on a day before the bus strikes, Liveline the pulse of Ireland so to speak.

I used to have a huge gripe with public transport, feckers taking up two seats etc

My solution: I now get the 650am train- lovely comfort, always get a table to myself!

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭PathMatcher

Did Joe just say "Dort" with a D4 accent?

I live by the logic of I'll stand for the national anthem and pregnant women on public transport.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Living Off The Splash

What age is elderly these days?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

They have badges in London- I am Preggers, innit
    Am I bovvered thoooou ?