Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline thread 12/08/16 to date

• Registered Users Posts: 39,360 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Ah, feck the clock - Ray can wait.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Registered Users Posts: 5,558 ✭✭✭baldbear

Joe is fuming he got the Last word in.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

• Registered Users Posts: 3,676 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

Wish he hadn't said that.

Now 400k Joe will think he's left wing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭Living Off The Splash

Will Duffy be "disappeared" next week while today's show is investigated?

snubbleste wrote: »
    Do we have refugees from the USA?

I wonder if we might have, soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,200 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

The last 5 mins are, otherwise no.
    Ah now, Mammy defending to the hilt her grand youngfella who was caught rotten contravening all sorts of bits of the Road Traffic Act was up there.... for sheer brass neck if nothing else.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,433 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

RustyNut wrote: »
    Ah lads I missed the show today. Is it worth downloading for work tomorrow?

just listen to the last 10 or 12 minutes , GOLD

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Del.Monte wrote: »
    Should we just open up the country to everybody that can get here?
    Joe thinks we should http://www.broadsheet.ie/2013/10/09/space-invader/

• Registered Users Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

RayM wrote: »
    That's true, he's only saying what a lot of other racist pricks are afraid to say.

And direct them to Clontarf...

• Registered Users Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Why.

Because joe hates him. Why ?

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Considering especially what he allows from his Funny Friday mates etc.

I haven't seen it, but there's a racist scene in Mrs. Browniz Boyiz De Mooooovie so to speak involving an impersonation of a Chinaman/Ninja or something like that. But that's hilarious because it's one of Joe's Showbiz Pals.

No, but we have a legal and moral obligation to listen to people who tell us they are being persecuted.

If we cannot do that in a timely manner, that's our problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

That Joe chappie is some bollix for putting words in his callers mouths. He should be taken off the air and let dizzy Derek Mooney have the live line!

• Registered Users Posts: 29,200 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    Ah, feck the clock - Ray can wait.
    I'd say Joe (not to mention the researchers, Yew Ormonde and the entire legal department of RTE) was NEVER so glad to see 15.00 roll around :eek:

RayM wrote: »
    That's true, he's only saying what a lot of other racist pricks are afraid to say.

It's not being a racist prick to wonder about the larger, long-term picture, and the genuine desire of some to undermine western society. It's being a bloody fool to bury one's head in the sand and throw the doors open to all and sundry.
    Somewhere, there's a compromise position to be reached, without being gullible cnunts or nasty cnunts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

No, but we have a legal and moral obligation to listen to people who tell us they are being persecuted.

If we cannot do that in a timely manner, that's our problem.

We will listen to them but only on the phone from long distance.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,962 ✭✭✭Greenman

RustyNut wrote: »
    Ah lads I missed the show today. Is it worth downloading for work tomorrow?

Don't bother, very boring, mainly talked about Micro Brewing. Just listen from 2:55pm till the end. :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Greenman wrote: »
    Don't bother, very boring, mainly talked about Micro Brewing. Just listen from 2:55pm till the end. :-)

So Joe had his usual couple of pints of ballyer bile then.

vicwatson wrote: »
    Because joe hates him. Why ?

Fair enough.

It just seemed like the fella from Monaghan was somewhat accurate in his criticism of Joe's bias, and his party might not be relevant.

Anywho, he's an Independent councillor.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Just received this reply to my complaint over Brazilgate, must be trying to reply before complaints come in for todays show. -

Thank you for your email regarding the Liveline programme of the 25th of last month.

The interview with Commissioner Falcao began - on a less than ideal phone-line - with the participants at cross purposes. Joe Duffy trying to establish why the arrest was filmed and the Commissioner to explain why Mr Hickey was arrested.

As you know, the arrest itself was high profile and Liveline had covered many of the issues surrounding it. The interview was the first with a representative of the Brazilian legal system. It was right that it was robust and that Joe Duffy question why the arrest itself was filmed. He quoted Irish politicians saying this was not the way we do things here. He asked if the Commissioner understood that. None of that constituted a judgement on the Brazilian system.

I use the term robust advisedly. The Commissioner was questioned inway that is to be expected of Liveline - as indeed someone from Ireland or Britain would be in similar circumstances.

If any member of the public is of the opinion that a programme or segment of a programme broadcast on RTÉ has breached a provision of Section 39(1)(a), (b), (d) or (e) of the Broadcasting Act 2009 or failed to comply with a provision of the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland Codes and is not satisfied with RTÉ’s response they are entitled to make a complaint to the BAI. Information on codes and on the complaints procedure can be found on the BAI website at http://www.bai.ie/en/viewers-listeners/complaints/.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

Greenman wrote: »

:D Ha that's all I got today :pac:

pc7 wrote: »
    Just received this reply to my complaint over Brazilgate, must be trying to reply before complaints come in for todays show. -

Thank you for your email regarding the Liveline programme of the 25th of last month.

The interview with Commissioner Falcao began - on a less than ideal phone-line - with the participants at cross purposes. Joe Duffy trying to establish why the arrest was filmed and the Commissioner to explain why Mr Hickey was arrested.

As you know, the arrest itself was high profile and Liveline had covered many of the issues surrounding it. The interview was the first with a representative of the Brazilian legal system. It was right that it was robust and that Joe Duffy question why the arrest itself was filmed. He quoted Irish politicians saying this was not the way we do things here. He asked if the Commissioner understood that. None of that constituted a judgement on the Brazilian system.

I use the term robust advisedly. The Commissioner was questioned inway that is to be expected of Liveline - as indeed someone from Ireland or Britain would be in similar circumstances.

If any member of the public is of the opinion that a programme or segment of a programme broadcast on RTÉ has breached a provision of Section 39(1)(a), (b), (d) or (e) of the Broadcasting Act 2009 or failed to comply with a provision of the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland Codes and is not satisfied with RTÉ’s response they are entitled to make a complaint to the BAI. Information on codes and on the complaints procedure can be found on the BAI website at http://www.bai.ie/en/viewers-listeners/complaints/.

"cross purposes. Joe Duffy trying to establish why the arrest was filmed and the Commissioner to explain why Mr Hickey was arrested."

Cross purposes? Oh that's it. There was everyone thinking Joe was a douche.

"I use the term robust advisedly. The Commissioner was questioned inway that is to be expected of Liveline - as indeed someone from Ireland or Britain would be in similar circumstances."

Well this is complete horse s@#t.

In fact Joe has a policy of either never questioning Irish authorities, never asking revelant and robust questions( and as regards Britain - well they're only on if they can damage Sinn Fein.)

Joe defers to authorities, unless his friends Pat Hickey or Ivor Callely are in the dock.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭Fujitsu10

snubbleste wrote: »
    Thread facing closure, above 10k posts

10k posts and we have past page 666..... were Fcuked, Fcuked I tell ya!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Well at least you got a reply, you're ahead of me on that front.

• Registered Users Posts: 899 ✭✭✭FrKurtFahrt

I just received this also:

The arrest was high profile. It was widely commented on in Ireland and abroad. Liveline had covered the wider issues at length - in particular with relevance to the lack of tickets made available to the athlete's families. This was the first interview with a representative of the Brazilian system. It is entirely appropriate that he was questioned on what had happened in Rio de Janeiro. Joe Duffy quotes Irish politicians, including the leader of the Labour Party, who have said this is not the way we do things. He asks the Commissioner if he understands that? In asking that and other questions he was not making a value judgement on the Brazilain legal system. He does not ask why Mr Hickey was not allowed out on bail - he asks about the Brazilian system and whether the police would oppose bail.

The Commissioner said he wasn't happy that the media were there when Mr Hickey was arrested. Joe Duffy's ad-lib reference to the Commissioner carrying a gun, referred to the Commissioner as the source of authority in the room. He could have asked the reporters to leave.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭Living Off The Splash

How can RTE continue to allow Joe Duffy to misquote callers to his programme. Duffy completely lost it in today's programme when a caller dared to question his handling of his previous days shows.

He actually shouted at this caller.

Who does Joe Duffy think he is?

He needs to be removed from this show immediately.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭woejus

:D Ha that's all I got today :pac:

Would you believe it's not available on the player...

Dear Mr

Thank you for your email about the Liveline programme of the 25th of last month. We value all interaction with listeners about our programmes.

Joe Duffy's ad-lib reference, at the end of a long interview, to the Brazilian Police Commissioner carrying a gun did not imply that the Commissioner should use the weapon. It was a reference to the Commissioner, who had told the programme that he was uncomfortable with the media presence, as a source of authority at the scene of the arrest - who might have asked the media to leave.

Your own reference to Section 42 (2) (d) of the Broadcast Act .... programmes broadcast by the broadcaster......, the privacy of any individual is not unreasonably encroached upon - that section cannot reasonably be taken to apply to a person in authority - the Commissioner - on a matter of clear public interest, the arrest of Mr Hickey.

Regards

• Registered Users Posts: 82,321 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Wonder what tha BAI would think of those RTÉ reponses to the complaints?