Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline thread 12/08/16 to date

• Registered Users Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

I've often seen footage of newsworthy funerals on RTE news?............what's the difference?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Fr John Joe Duffy

• Registered Users Posts: 39,360 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

I really don't see what the problem is - the funeral was a matter of public interest, and it seems the 'tog wasn't shoving his lens in peoples' faces.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Hitchens wrote: »
    We should point out that Ronan Collins always says 'let's hear what MIGHT be on your Liveline today'

- RTE

I get the impression that Ronan Collins doesn't like Duffy, has some kind of contempt for him, he can be a bit subtle about it, but he's done it so often that it's more than just coincidence.
    It's the newspapers fault & the idiots that buy them- bet they weren't in The Irish Times

IT has no issue with doing it if it's in the leafy suburbs of D4. Their coverage of the Berkely balcony accident was overkill on a grand scale. A woman being killed in a car accident in Donegal doesn't really come under their radar.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

its looks like liveline is intruding in their grief just the same as the photographer that is being complained about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

I knew that guy that died in the ambulance last week and I did wonder about if there would be any journalists at the funeral. I think it's ridiculous that reporters show up at the funerals of non-famous people and show the footage on TV or show the pictures on the newspapers. They should have to ask the family for permission.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

The priest - Joe Duffy!!!!!!

Joe doesn't recognise the irony of him being critical of people who intrude in private grief?

I'll bet this wan's not so careful when she takes selfies and plasters them all over Farcebuke. Wharrabout the innocent bystanders who might not want their faces all over social media, then, eh?

Joe Duffys everywhere

• Registered Users Posts: 39,832 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Shortcut through the forest ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭woejus

snubbleste wrote: »
    Joe Duffys everywhere

Mary in Clontarf....

Oh shut up caller.

Joe wants all the details of the people in the photo.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

snubbleste wrote: »
    Joe Duffys everywhere

A misery of Duffys

Joe getting all the details and how much grief there was the langer.

Back after the break *Sigh*

Jaysus aren't you great carmel.

I love my new geeth!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Joe doesn't recognise the irony of him being critical of people who intrude in private grief?

Well, one key difference in this instance is that the family has given permission (Joe mentioned Ciara's father) for this topic to be discussed. The caller has said the family was not approached by the photographer.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

was Ray D'Arcy about to cry at the end of that promo

Tadhg and Ray talking about Hilary Clinton

Jesus tadhg cheer up.

The clinton hillary debate ? the clinton trump debate joe.

"Whoy?"

"The Clinton - Hillary debate in the early hours"

€460,000 folks.

Brian Walsh is a cute hoor, caller.

Divertapolikitasisiasispolikitazis

Joe digs for the pain...

What's your difference, caller?

Tummy pain.

Is the caller, and the host, 8 years of age?

What's your difference, caller?
    Pain in the crap factory