Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Antifa Galway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Jaysus.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,272 ✭✭✭jh79

Your Face wrote: »
    Jaysus.

Is that in reply to me calling them militant?

• Registered Users Posts: 15 BraziltoGalway

jh79 wrote: »
    Are these guys a militant anti fascist group?

This is what I was concerned about but now people want to start being snide...

Sorry for having concerns but they go around in balaclavas like this in Brazil spray painting as well... And then they beat people up...

Why do they have balaclavas if they are all so peaceful and university students?

If someone wants to, they can visit my town in Brazil, perhaps then you can stop throwing insults for my concern in a place where I at this point know literally no one that would help me should something happen.

For gods sake man, how many times have you been told you will be quite safe, why bother asking for advice if you are going to ignore it? Why the hell would you have anything to fear from this group anyway?

I already outlined what I have to fear - some people have said the opposite - that photo is reminiscent of the issues in Brazil

These are all questions you could have answered just reading instead of being rude.

Jaysus.

This is what I was concerned about but now people want to start being snide...

Sorry for having concerns but they go around in balaclavas like this in Brazil spray painting as well... And then they beat people up...

Why do they have balaclavas if they are all so peaceful and university students?

If someone wants to, they can visit my town in Brazil, perhaps then you can stop throwing insults for my concern in a place where I at this point know literally no one that would help me should something happen.

Who do they beat up and why?

In Brazil they beat people up for the colour of their skin or if they wear jerseys from Europe...

The are supposed to be against prejudice or whatever but that's the truth, they terrorize communities because of what they look like and it gives them an almost free card to do what they want... Now it doesn't let them get away with it because they also deal a lot of drugs and are involved in a lot of illegal activity (like a underground casinos) as well their attacks are usually very brutal... So the police don't go easy on them there...

So I have my concerns here as they post similar content and look the same...

In Brazil they beat people up for the colour of their skin or if they wear jerseys from Europe...

The are supposed to be against prejudice or whatever but that's the truth, they terrorize communities because of what they look like and it gives them an almost free card to do what they want... Now it doesn't let them get away with it because they also deal a lot of drugs and are involved in a lot of illegal activity (like a underground casinos) as well their attacks are usually very brutal... So the police don't go easy on them there...

Are you sure you have not got them mixed up with fascist groups?

As a potential immigrant to this country a militant anti fascist group would be more palatable than a militant fascist group would it not?

In your shoes I would be more concerned that the presence of antifa could mean that fascist groups might exist in galway. Really confused with your stance on this group.

• Registered Users Posts: 332 ✭✭Bogsnorkler

OK but there have never been any hint of violence from them in Galway. In fact, most people don't even know they exist, I'd never heard about them until you brought them up.

Can I ask why you're more afraid of them than say random drunken attacks on foreigners, which would also be rare in Galway, but actually do happen?

The context of militant left and right wing groups in Ireland is set by the very recent history of republican paramilitaries, based mostly in the north but in parts of the south too. Have you anytknowledge of this?

I guess what I'm trying to say is, it's fine for you to fear for your safety in what is an incredibly safe city, and relative to Brazil, and incredibly safe country, but do educate yourself as to the real potential dangers, as opposed to assuming that the groups dangerous in Brazil would be dangerous in Ireland.

FYI I'm moving to Sao Paulo in a month. I'm aware of the dangers from some groups of people in some parts of the city, but I'm not worried and I'm not going on message boards to ask whether I should be afraid, and then ignoring any assurances that I shouldn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 748 ✭✭✭topcat77

I'd say you're actually giving them exposure through this thread and maybe inadvertently helping their cause. Never heard of them before myself. It'd be good to have the thoughts of a member of this group.

Are you sure you have not got them mixed up with fascist groups?

As a potential immigrant to this country a militant anti fascist group would be more palatable than a militant fascist group would it not?

In your shoes I would be more concerned that the presence of antifa could mean that fascist groups might exist in galway. Really confused with your stance on this group.

No we barely have any "fascist" group in Brazil they are very small in comparison and no one ever hears about them doing anything illegal - only if they are hurt by the others or hurt antifa...

It is not like Europe here where fascist and bigotry from them is a big threat, we don't have a many fascist but the bigotry comes from the other side.

OK but there have never been any hint of violence from them in Galway. In fact, most people don't even know they exist, I'd never heard about them until you brought them up.

Can I ask why you're more afraid of them than say random drunken attacks on foreigners, which would also be rare in Galway, but actually do happen?

The context of militant left and right wing groups in Ireland is set by the very recent history of republican paramilitaries, based mostly in the north but in parts of the south too. Have you anytknowledge of this?

I guess what I'm trying to say is, it's fine for you to fear for your safety in what is an incredibly safe city, and relative to Brazil, and incredibly safe country, but do educate yourself as to the real potential dangers, as opposed to assuming that the groups dangerous in Brazil would be dangerous in Ireland.

FYI I'm moving to Sao Paulo in a month. I'm aware of the dangers from some groups of people in some parts of the city, but I'm not worried and I'm not going on message boards to ask whether I should be afraid, and then ignoring any assurances that I shouldn't.

I assume you're not a young as me and actually have contacts - where I have none here.

So I don't think you're so "brave" as to not do this I just think you're not in a position to do the same.

I took everyone's assurances well until the recent post where I had to ask again. And even then people had differing opinions on how safe it is.

If I see a standard dog in Brazil and it barks I should be able to assume that something that looks and does exactly the same in another part of the world is exactly the same unless I'm old otherwise.

Likewise if this is a stupid fake group I don't understand why they bring this culture here, graffiti, wear balaclavas etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭irishgrover

Me thinks there is something not right about this whole thread...... But am not sure what...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

Just wrap the OP in bubble wrap. He'll be grand

I'm very suspicious of this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,144 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

I already outlined what I have to fear - some people have said the opposite - that photo is reminiscent of the issues in Brazil

These are all questions you could have answered just reading instead of being rude.

You've been given answers on multiple occasions by a multitude of posters, you seem to be ignoring those answers. That's why the poster is in your opinion being 'rude'.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭Whereisgalway

You've been given answers on multiple occasions by a multitude of posters, you seem to be ignoring those answers. That's why the poster is in your opinion being 'rude'.

Aren't are great at patting each other on the back saying how helpful we all are when it suits us. Some people have given positive opinions and others have given negative ones. If you were relocating to a new country that didn't speak your native language and seen something like pro IRA dotted around the city you'd ask questions Aswell, give the OP a break

• Registered Users Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

What a bizarre thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭GalwayGrrrrrl

I saw one antifa graffiti near the canal parallel to Henry street- thank goodness for this thread or I wouldn't have known what it was. it was next to a bigger graffiti saying "welcome all refugees" :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,172 ✭✭✭Wompa1

84 likes on their FB page....I wouldn't worry about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭beardybrewer

VDQR5kM.gif

http://www.cso.ie/px/pxeirestat/Statire/SelectVarVal/Define.asp?maintable=CJQ03
    http://www.numbeo.com/crime/city_result.jsp?country=Ireland&city=Galway
    http://www.movetoireland.com/movepag/misccrim.htm
    http://itas.ie/?page_id=187

Let the stats speak for themselves. Nobody saying Galway is crime-free but it is a small university town, population 77k. Serious crimes happen but are rare. On the whole the number of assaults isn't unusually high as you can see above. Be smart and aware of your surroundings during your time here especially when it's late and alcohol is involved. You might find an alternative to walking the canals at night for example. That said, if you're from a big city in Brazil I would suspect the level of crime is considerably less. Most people regard Galway as a safe city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭traprunner

In person I've yet to see someone walking down a street wearing a balaclava. I think you are over reacting about nothing.

I think I'll have to check my next holiday destination to see if there are any UVF/IRA/INLA/UFF etc sympathisers living there. I might not actually leave Ireland again as a result :(

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I feel this thread is bringing unnecessary attention to fringe movements.
    Violent groups like Antifa are not welcome here, even if they're just a small insignificant group.

Brazil, you're worrying over nothing.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

http://www.numbeo.com/crime/city_result.jsp?country=Ireland&city=Galway

This should give you an idea on how safe Galway is. It scores considerably better than any of the Brazilian cities I looked up. I'm not sure where these differing opinion are, everybody has said that Galway is a very safe city.

• Registered Users Posts: 804 ✭✭✭Casshern88

The only reason I'm aware of them is because of this thread. OP you are worrying about nothing, I can't stress that enough. Ironically by starting this thread you have almost certainly given these people a much wider exposure than they could have previously hoped for.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

Hi, I am moving to Galway to attend the university very soon but I had one thing that bothered/worried me

When I came to visit I saw a lot of graffiti/stickers/vandalism with antifa flags etc...

In Brazil the antifa act like a criminal organization and often attack innocent people for the colour of their skin...

So police and civilians often take down their work in Brazil so they don't keep fostering fear but here it seems that no one cares

Who are these people?

Are there a lot of them?

Are they dangerous?

I was attacked a year ago in Brazil because I was wearing a German football jersey - can I expect the same here?

Thanks in advance,

G

Antifa are a feature of Irish politics (they are a fringe element like the far right) antifa anywhere in Europe don't pose a threat to anyone other than fascists (I've seen a few neo nazi stickers on wood quay) even then afa have to my knowledge have never seriously hurt anyone unlike the far right groups they oppose

• Registered Users Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

Antifa are a feature of Irish politics (they are a fringe element like the far right) antifa anywhere in Europe don't pose a threat to anyone other than fascists (I've seen a few neo nazi stickers on wood quay) even then afa have to my knowledge have never seriously hurt anyone unlike the far right groups they oppose

Which violent far right groups are you referring to?

The closest thing we have to far right in Ireland is Renua....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

I think they were present when the Pegida Ireland lads (Far right polish skin heads mostly) turned up in Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

Red_Wake wrote: »
    Which violent far right groups are you referring to?

The closest thing we have to far right in Ireland is Renua....

pegida and identity ireland are the ones people have probably heard of, there are also irish branches of neo nazi groups like sons of odin

• Registered Users Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

pegida and identity ireland are the ones people have probably heard of, there are also irish branches of neo nazi groups like sons of odin

Identity Ireland have no widespread support, and are a political party, is there any evidence of them having a militant wing?

Sons of Odin has a branch in Dublin, is there any evidence of them being violent?

And why do you refer to them as neo nazis - are they national socialists? They're islamophobic, but I don't see anything online indicating they're fascist, socialist[itself not a trait of the right wing] or anti semitic?

And do any of these groups engage in violent activities that necessitate the formation of a militant group to oppose them?