Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 202 Event Thread: Diaz v McGregor 2 (Information in OP)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

McGregor via Submission
    martyos121 wrote: »
    I'm not denying that McGregor would want the Alvarez fight, in fact I said as much in my post, I'm saying the circus needs to stop and number one contenders need to get their shots. Aldo rematch is still the bigger fight though IMO, that's a real grudge match, Alvarez is trying to start a beef out of nothing and it's extremely obvious and fake. I get the whole 2 division champ thing but I'd rather he was a legitimate fighting champion in one division before he holds two belts with zero title defenses.

Think about it, if Alvarez beats Conor, you think he won't want to avenge that loss too? Of course he will, and they'll let him, leaving the FW division in a right state and a bit of a slap in the face to all the guys in it.

He has to fight Aldo next, simple as that. I know you're not completely disagreeing with me but it's clear cut the way I see it. Eddie can wait, or do the right thing and fight Khabib.

That's all well and good but its not the way it works nowadays. The bigger PPV fight, which would make both McGregor and Alvarez the most amount of money is the LW Title fight, and I don't disagree with you saying Khabib should fight him but to say the Aldo rematch is the bigger fight is wrong as McGregor has the chance to be only the third fighter in UFC history to win a belt at two weight classes.

If he goes up to fight Alvarez he should relinquish the Featherweight belt but it doesn't take away from his accomplishments in that division.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,400 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

McGregor via Submission
    TimRiggins wrote: »
    That's all well and good but its not the way it works nowadays.

I think people are really overstating "the way it works nowadays".
    It's happened once, Hendo v Bisping. The rest of the title fights in the last year have been pretty standard imo.

McGregor via Submission
    Mellor wrote: »
    I think people are really overstating "the way it works nowadays".
    It's happened once, Hendo v Bisping. The rest of the title fights in the last year have been pretty standard imo.

After he beat Aldo he should have fought Frankie Edgar. Woodley wanting GSP or Diaz over fighting Wonderboy. There has been a change in fighter mentalities with big money fights over belts and the legitimate contender and McGregor seems to get to pick his fights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

McGregor via Submission
    No appetite for it?

McGregor Aldo II would be the biggest fight of all time at 145.
    The only ever champion UFC FW champion.
    Beaten in seconds by McGregor.
    Bounces back with a demolition of Frankie Edgar for the Interim title.

The unification fight is massive.

Biggest 145lb fight of all time?

Yeah.

What was the previous biggest?

Mcgregor v Aldo!

And that circus ran for a year. They did it to death with the promotion and it lasted 13 seconds.

You're free to disagree clearly lol - but there's very little appetite amongst fans out there to watch Conor bounce back and forward between Aldo and Nate.

People are getting sick and tired of rematches (in general) .

There would be far more appeal in seeing conor try take the LW strap than beat Aldo again.

More to the point, let's suppose for a second Conor beats Nate and then loses to Aldo.

Rubber matches with both men?

It's insulting to fans intelligence to try serve up 2 trilogy fights during the peak of someone's career.

Anyway, conor has been far more vocal these days about "f**k the belt".

Gunni has Been vocal about conor not cutting down. Kavanagh doesn't want it either. Sean Shelby wants Conor at 155.

Vacate the belt. Take on Alvarez.

Simple. Then he has the bail out option of going down to FW if he loses.

If you believe for one second Conor doesn't get an immediate title shot at LW you're deluded. If he's going to 155 it's straight for the strap.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭dashoonage

I believe its his next fight. RDA vs Tony has been announced. Alvarez has said the UFC have not contacted him about fighting Khabib yet. Eltappo beats Diaz and he gets a shot at that belt...whether he is still FW champ when that happens i dunno...i kind of get the feeling he will be.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,736 ✭✭✭ASOT

Diaz via Submission
    dashoonage wrote: »
    I believe its his next fight. RDA vs Tony has been announced. Alvarez has said the UFC have not contacted him about fighting Khabib yet. Eltappo beats Diaz and he gets a shot at that belt...whether he is still FW champ when that happens i dunno...i kind of get the feeling he will be.

The fact rda is fighting Tony pretty much confirms Khabib will be fighting Alvarez he won't be sitting out and he won't be fighting anyone else it's faitly obvious. I do agreed the route of having McGregor face whoever at the time will be the Lw champ after beating Diaz does make sense though, before he vacates the belt he can say he's the first two weight champion of he wins.

Also Eltappo is the cringest thing ever how old are you man hahaha

McGregor via Submission
    Biggest 145lb fight of all time?

Yeah.

What was the previous biggest?

Mcgregor v Aldo!

So you agree that it would be the biggest at 145.
    So the idea that there's no appetite for it is nonsense.

You know he can rematch Aldo, and then fight for the LW belt right.
    Rubber match? :confused:

Fights Nate,
    Fights Aldo
    Moves to 155 regardless
    No rubber matches.

You are the only one who mentioned a trilogy tbh.
    Anyway, conor has been far more vocal these days about "f**k the belt".
    Conor says a lot of things. You are insane if you think he doesn't care about a belt he spent years working towards. He is pissed off they took back his CW belts, he not giving up the FW strap without a fight (unless he has no option).
    If you believe for one second Conor doesn't get an immediate title shot at LW you're deluded. If he's going to 155 it's straight for the strap.
    Where did I say anything of the sort?

He moves to 155 when he moves, you can't plan months in advance. Alvarez might not be the champ for long. Nate could beat him and go after the 155 title. Khabib might be champ.
    Conor could lose to Nate and Aldo. There's a **** load that can happen before Conor books a fight at the end of the year. Not sure why people try and plan do far ahead when the game is played one step at a time.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Press box might might not be row one for this one.

Ah heeyor!...Because it's a different arena?

McGregor via Submission
    zuutroy wrote: »
    Ah heeyor!...Because it's a different arena?

I've gotten press passes to aussie events. Including the 55k seater Etihad event and press tickets section was back in the tier.

You'll get press room access. They have food in there.
    Pretty sure the chicken had me spewing up at 5am though

ASOT wrote: »
    Also Eltappo is the cringest thing ever how old are you man hahaha

I know....it really upsets the fanboys though!

I want to see Eddie vs Khabib as well huge Khabib fan. I just think the UFC are gonna play everything they can to have "Eltappo" holding both belts at once.

McGregor via Submission
    dashoonage wrote: »
    I know....it really upsets the fanboys though!
    Does it really upset people? I find that odd.
    It makes you look really ignorant of the sport, and anyone would who was really upset by that needs to came down.

I wonder do they also get upset when people say the grappling looks like gay porn. Maybe it's only when it's McGregor related

Does it really upset people? I find that odd.
    It makes you look really ignorant of the sport, and anyone would who was really upset by that needs to came down.

I wonder do they also get upset when people say the grappling looks like gay porn. Maybe it's only when it's McGregor related

I think its only mcgregor related to be honest. I started it in a Whatsapp group and it drove a mate completely insane. Huge mcgregor fanboy...zero knowledge of anything other than mcgregor.

I'll stop it on here.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

McGregor via Submission
    Does anybody have, or have a link to the official scorecard for the first fight with the first round scores from the judges?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,183 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Diaz via Decision
    John_D80 wrote: »
    Does anybody have, or have a link to the official scorecard for the first fight with the first round scores from the judges?

Haven't seen them but I can tell you for pretty certain barring a judge being a bit, strange, they would have all had the round 10-9 to McGregor

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

McGregor via Submission
    Haven't seen them but I can tell you for pretty certain barring a judge being a bit, strange, they would have all had the round 10-9 to McGregor

I've looked everywhere I can think of and not seen anything. Unusual, as they usually surface pretty quickly after the fights.

Diaz via Submission
    I've looked everywhere I can think of and not seen anything. Unusual, as they usually surface pretty quickly after the fights.

Spent the last 45 minutes looking I work couldn't find a thing, there now angry at me for not being on my phone cheers John.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

McGregor via Submission
    Straight outta Stockton.

Couple of great videos, think they are like trailers to something longer they have in the works. 1 video is some buildup to 196 and the fight, 2nd picks up after the fight. Can't post videos here as they're embedded on following link.

Well worth 15 mins as some footage in them I've not seen before.

http://smackhisface.com/2016/08/10/straight-outta-stockton-scene-nate-diaz-is-a-****ing-superstar/

edit - oh ffs, you'll need to edit the url and change ****ing to fu cking

McGregor via Submission

They appear pretty quick for decision results. Fights that don't go the distance are less common. It's it's a 5th round stoppage, somebody will grab it, for the sake of what would have happened. Holm v Tate, Rory v Lawlor, etc
    But with only one round scored, the McGregor v Diaz one might have went into the bin.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

"Eltappo"

McGregor via Submission
    So you agree that it would be the biggest at 145.
    So the idea that there's no appetite for it is nonsense.

You know he can rematch Aldo, and then fight for the LW belt right.
    Rubber match? :confused:

Fights Nate,
    Fights Aldo
    Moves to 155 regardless
    No rubber matches.

You are the only one who mentioned a trilogy tbh.

Where did I say anything of the sort?

Conor himself is the one talking Trilogy "once he beats Nate". So that's at least one rubber match that will happen at some point (if he wins). And, again, you're delusional if you think Conor wouldn't demand a trilogy with Aldo in the event of a loss.

As for the "where did i say anything of the sort" comment.....:confused::confused::confused:

You said:

"He fights Aldo next.....
    Then he moves to LW. He fits into the queue/rankings where ever he fits in at that time. Could be anywhere from no.1 to no.5 imo"

Saying Conor "fits into a queue" means you feel he doesn't get an immediate title shot. So not only did you say anything of the sort but you spelled it out explicitly you don't think he gets an immediate title shot.

Backpeddling much?

After Nate, if Conor wants it he gets immediate shot at Alvarez.

For multiple reasons. Biggest draw still. Alvarez is not the worst matchup for Conor at 155. It'd be a different selling point - Conor going for a title in a 2nd division.

Your comment suggests he goes into some sort of queue. And that's delusional.

I've seen hibernating bears more active than Khabib.

And Tony Ferguson is managed by Audie Attar (Conors manager).

Neither are draws. Alvarez wants Conor and Conor will plump for that over a rematch with Aldo.

So he definitely jumps straight to title shot.

No "queue".

• Registered Users Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

With the new owners paying $4Billion for it, I'd say you'll see a lot more of the flashy matches. Money has to be made. Yachts have to be paid for.

Should Nate win, what is the big money fight that comes next? It'd have to be Aldo. The previous champ, laid out in 13 seconds. Will Aldo regain his title, and put the Clown Prince of UFC back in his box, after 2 straight losses? Or will McGregor stop Aldo in his tracks again? Think of the verbal onslaught of the pressers. The MacLife videos. The ad revenue. The sponsorship. It'd be huge. People seem to forget the following that Aldo has. They'd all want to see that fight. It'd be their turn to tap the Credit Union.

I think this fight will do a lot of injury to Conor. Win or lose, Nate is going to hurt him.

McGregor via Submission
    Spent the last 45 minutes looking I work couldn't find a thing, there now angry at me for not being on my phone cheers John.

I'm nearly sure I saw a tweet from Ariel or the like saying that all 3 judges had it 10-9 McGregor.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,183 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Diaz via Decision
    TimRiggins wrote: »
    I'm nearly sure I saw a tweet from Ariel or the like saying that all 3 judges had it 10-9 McGregor.

It really couldn't have been anything but 10-9 McGregor x3

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

McGregor via Submission
    Saying Conor "fits into a queue" means you feel he doesn't get an immediate title shot. So not only did you say anything of the sort but you spelled it out explicitly you don't think he gets an immediate title shot.

Backpeddling much?

After Nate, if Conor wants it he gets immediate shot at Alvarez.

After a Nate win and straight to LW, it would probably be Alvarez.
    But I'm talking about all possibilities. Include a loss to Nate. And/or Aldo.
    They could be a title fight booked at LW when he makes the move.
    I've seen hibernating bears more active than Khabib.

And Tony Ferguson is managed by Audie Attar (Conors manager).

Neither are draws. Alvarez wants Conor and Conor will plump for that over a rematch with Aldo.

So he definitely jumps straight to title shot.

No "queue".
    You are assuming that Eddie will hold the title long, I don't think he win.

Eddie is beatable for Conor. Khabib is a nightmare match up.

Also, Conor doesn't need to be ranked at number 1 to get the fight. It's a matter of timing

Diaz via Submission
    After a Nate win and straight to LW, it would probably be Alvarez.
    But I'm talking about all possibilities. Include a loss to Nate. And/or Aldo.
    They could be a title fight booked at LW when he makes the move.

You are assuming that Eddie will hold the title long, I don't think he win.

Eddie is beatable for Conor. Khabib is a nightmare match up.

Im the biggest Khabib nut hugger in the forum but I was just watching his last couple of fights and Conor will absolutly tear into him with a counter left if he even attempts to throw his lunging right uppercut that he constantly throws, obviously I'm sure he knows this aswell and will probably suplex Conor into the next dimension but it's a bit of food for taught that it's not as one sided as I originally taught it could be.

McGregor via Submission
    Im the biggest Khabib nut hugger in the forum but I was just watching his last couple of fights and Conor will absolutly tear into him with a counter left if he even attempts to throw his lunging right uppercut that he constantly throws, obviously I'm sure he knows this aswell and will probably suplex Conor into the next dimension but it's a bit of food for taught that it's not as one sided as I originally taught it could be.
    Yeah I think Khabib has to change up his striking, he can't bull rush Conor.
    But if it ends up in the clinch, Khabib goes to work

McGregor via Submission
    Dan Hardy made an interesting point on his Tea KO podcast.

He basically said:

Instead of Conor weighing in around 168lbs like the first fight, that if he was in the McGregor camp he'd like to see Conor cut some weight. To perhaps 165 or even weigh in at 160.

I.e. That he feels the process of cutting weight keeps a fighter hungry, in that fight-or-flight mindset. He felt Conor was too comfortable, rubbing his belly, lacking any real edge during the weigh ins for 196.

I've heard a few fighters say they felt not cutting any/much weight was a negative for the 1st fight, as fighters are so accustomed to getting into that state of mind for a fight.

If we are to assume his walk around weight currently is no more than 175lbs (seems a fair assumption) then it might not be the worst idea to actually do a smaller cut to 165 or 160, just to get back into that "place". Ready to fight.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

He basically said:

Instead of Conor weighing in around 168lbs like the first fight, that if he was in the McGregor camp he'd like to see Conor cut some weight. To perhaps 165 or even weigh in at 160.

I.e. That he feels the process of cutting weight keeps a fighter hungry, in that fight-or-flight mindset. He felt Conor was too comfortable, rubbing his belly, lacking any real edge during the weigh ins for 196.

I've heard a few fighters say they felt not cutting any/much weight was a negative for the 1st fight, as fighters are so accustomed to getting into that state of mind for a fight.

If we are to assume his walk around weight currently is no more than 175lbs (seems a fair assumption) then it might not be the worst idea to actually do a smaller cut to 165 or 160, just to get back into that "place". Ready to fight.

He should cut to 145 for the craic

• Registered Users Posts: 21,391 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

McGregor via Submission

He basically said:

Those are all fine points, but Hardy must've missed this interview from John Kavanagh because he says almost the exact same thing months ago:

http://www.mmamania.com/2016/6/22/12000182/conor-mcgregor-coach-accepts-blame-for-nate-diaz-loss-blames-weigh-gain-mma

Still though, if two people with great MMA brains are saying it, I'm sure there's plenty of substance to it. Dan Hardy is a smart man, love his fight breakdowns with Robin Black especially.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

He basically said:

Ah here. Both conor and John kavanagh have said this already and John said the exact same thing in his book.

Good man Dan.