Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 202 Event Thread: Diaz v McGregor 2 (Information in OP)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,976 ✭✭✭Soups123

thought Nate just edged it

Really Conor easily took first second and forth! 5th was a draw at best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

unjedilike wrote: »
    Fainted before the fight and in hospital, thanks for the updates everyone

Holy crap man, you alright?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Damn close overall but great fight

If I was a judge I'd have scored a draw

Going to rewatch have beer left over had paced to go till half 6

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Ive never been so stressed out watching a fight, 2 true warriors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,360 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Conor winning the 4th round won him the fight. Thought he was done after the 3rd.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭corny

Amazing how many people are on first name terms with these lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,148 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

McGregor clear winner he battered him punch wise Diaz only had real joy in pockets up against the cage.
    Diaz said it himself that he was surprised that Conor didn't finish him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Any psychologists wanna assess that yeah???? :D

• Moderators Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭x PyRo

Such a great fight. Two absolute warriors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Rogan is gutted.

LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

McGregor via Submission
    martyos121 wrote: »
    Broken foot for Conor, MSG in Novemeber is looking unlikely now. :(

Fingers crossed it's not as bad as it seems. Killer when those kicks get checked!

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

How he dug in there I've no idea, but fair play to him.

I personally had 47-47. I never saw a more dominant round than Nate's third. Can't argue with a 48-47 though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,997 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

15% called it right here. Goes to show how anything can happen in an MMA fight.

Both took Savage punishment. Diaz is some brawler and has amazing cardio.

Mcgregor is getting better all the time. This fight will be an amazing learning experience for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Soups123 wrote: »
    Really Conor easily took first second and forth! 5th was a draw at best
    my memory of the 4th is hazzy! Id have to watch it again while fresh and calm to score it better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

McGregor via Submission
    Conor winning the 4th round won him the fight. Thought he was done after the 3rd.

to be fair he basically was, really dug deep to pull it out of the hat what an insane fight, robbie and rory might have to take a step down the list!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭empacher

JustTheOne wrote: »
    empacher wrote: »
    Conor won 1st 2nd and 4th. Diaz the other 2. Mcg wants to have a serious think about his fitness regime.

Seriously?

The mind boggles.
    Yeah i am deadly serious, he lasted a round and a half. In what he said was his best camp ever. Costing 300,000. I am also deadly serious when i say he should relocate his 8 week pre fight camp. To tristar or jacksons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Buzzing here but I'm also cock-eyed from being up 24 hours and 8 minutes. Time to go one on one with the great one (me leaba). Night/morning, lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

McGregor via Submission
    I gave 1, 2 and 4 to McGregor. Where he pulled that round 4 out of i'll never know. Showed great heart, which i think was in question after the last fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

McGregor via Submission
    raging theres no presser now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

I'm not sure if I need to see a third fight between the two. They have nothing to prove....

UNLESS

It's for a lightweight title down the line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Once again I thought conor can't do 5 rounds:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

everlast75 wrote: »
    15% called it right here. Goes to show how anything can happen in an MMA fight.

Im going to be a dick and say I called it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

Regardless of who won the fight, I think it's fair to say that the UFC needed a McGregor win to keep the Notorious Cash Cow mooing.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

Diaz via Submission

• Registered Users Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

Depp wrote: »
    raging theres no presser now!

Why not?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭Officer999

That was a war.. .a real war. Delighted for Conor, by god did he need that win. Was actually expecting a draw from the judges....it was that tight. Incredible fight....kudos to Diaz too.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,976 ✭✭✭Soups123

I'm no expert at this but I see a few saying he needs to work on the fitness

But surely rounds 4 and 5 showed he did and greatly improved the strength he had to stop the take downs too

Super fight, going to rewind and watch again with my fingers not over my face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,053 ✭✭✭D.Q

That_Guy wrote: »
    Any psychologists wanna assess that yeah???? :D

Conor flinched when Rogan approached

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,565 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

McGregor via Submission
    Faugheen wrote: »
    How he dug in there I've no idea, but fair play to him.

I personally had 47-47. I never saw a more dominant round than Nate's third. Can't argue with a 48-47 though.
    10-8 in the third is a stretch imo
    If you never seen a more dominant round you have seen many tbh.

Scorecard should be out soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

A big difference in this one was that he wasn't surprised when diaz didnt fall to his monster shots.

I thought he was a little too cautious when he knocked diaz down a couple times.