Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2016 - Mod Note in OP, 13/9

• Registered Users Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

scudzilla wrote: »
    Carrick - Great

Memphis - The usual

As good as Fellaini has been I really hope we get a chance to see Carrick and Pogba playing together today. It's something most want to see how it works and whether it will compliment Pogbas play more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,621 ✭✭✭caviardreams

Have a feeling Bailly & Smalling will probably start because of Leicester's threat and pace but would love to see Blind back in defence - we look so panicky at the back without him sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,404 ✭✭✭xtal191

Rooney dropped

• Registered Users Posts: 6,586 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Well, I hope it works out :)

Stuart Mathieson ‏@StuMathiesonMEN
    Wayne Rooney is on bench for #MUFC #MUFC leicester

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Daniel Taylor running with it too

Are the kate upton gifs at the ready :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,404 ✭✭✭xtal191

Fellaini dropped :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

Unsure about lindgard in there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,597 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Mata #10 hope he takes this chance with both hands :D

Also same for Herrera..

• Registered Users Posts: 862 ✭✭✭unplayable

Very very happy except confused by lingard! Literally no one else I suppose

• Finally

Maybe dropping Rooney will keep a few of the conspiracy theory fans quiet for a while.

Looking forward to seeing the starting lineup, I'm surprisingly optimistic today.

Would have rather seen Fellaini in there with Herrera and pogba in the 10 with Lind and Rashford/Memphis either side.

With that said we've been at our best when Mata has been in the first 11

unplayable wrote: »
    Very very happy except confused by lingard! Literally no one else I suppose

Mhkitaryan must be still recovering as he's not even on the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Unsure about lindgard in there

Other than this, me likey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,656 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

****ing delighted to see Rooney on the Bench

Adamocovic wrote: »
    Maybe dropping Rooney will keep a few of the conspiracy theory fans quiet for a while.

Looking forward to seeing the starting lineup, I'm surprisingly optimistic today.

Maybe it's a little hint from Jose to work on the field and cut the bull**** leaks out.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Scenes when we lose 3-0 today :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Headshot wrote: »
    ****ing delighted to see Rooney fellaini on the Bench

fyp :pac:

Lingard and Rashford wide for their speed according to Jose.. says they can stretch them and the game is going to be intense.. so probably for there Stamina to get up and down too

blind or bailly left back? be worried about mahrez..

"If Wayne Rooney dosent play this one he will play the next one"

Next one is Europa league..

You have been well and truly dropped from the League team Wayne..

We could be fairly open in the middle of the park..

G.Nev saying Rooney hasnt played well for weeks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,656 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

CxdddkejaSwiwwqjw8Jkokpo9oop ooooiotpwwwkoskialopoiiccfcfcoxfCsHikopfddsxokjjlkkaaooooopooocfrop

iouiehahudhajdnfdkfjdifyd8fdyafudshfkadjfjdfdgfdbkdcjo;cyidagfdbfljdodafidl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,161 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Very poor attacking options on the bench if we were to be chasing the game..

• Registered Users Posts: 862 ✭✭✭unplayable

Morgan not even on bench makes him 5th choice center mid at best.oh what could have been! He needs to leave in Jan for his career although I do rate him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Flint Fredstone

Headshot wrote: »
    iouiehahudhajdnfdkfjdifyd8fdyafudshfkadjfjdfdgfdbkdcjo;cyidagfdbfljdodafidl

Janvennegoorofhesselink

Think Gary knows who the leak was :D he usually stands by Rooney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

unplayable wrote: »
    Morgan not even on bench makes him 5th choice center mid at best.oh what could have been! He needs to leave in Jan for his career although I do rate him

Thought he played quite well during the week and all, really rate him myself too.

Other than this, me likey

Not for me. Again we are buying a 90 million pound player and asking him to do something different than what made him the player he is today.

He played at the top of a 3 man diamond for Juve with Pirlo and Marchessio sitting.

He doesn't have the discipline nor the positional sense from what I can see to be part of a 2 man middle.

Pogba is a player that needs freedom to so his thing. He's not getting that with United.

I'd much rather fellani/Carrick and Herrera sitting behind him. Maybe play mata on the right cutting inside which gives valencia the freedom to break.

However jose probably doesn't want to be to high up v Vardy and Co.

With all that said I'm just happy Rooney is out

More specifically he said last 2 maybe 3 weeks in his mind.

He also touched on fans who have this idea that it's in Rooneys contract that he can't be dropped. :pac:

I agree with his assessment that Rooney will soon become like Scholes/Giggs at the end of their careers about less game time.

I still think he is a useful player to have and not starting him every game might even work in his and our benefit.

Also did anyone see when Gary said where else would he go to play and the presenter mentioned states and Gary just scoffed and said "states?" back, was brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,161 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Mourinho: “Rashford plays and Lingard plays. They are quick, the game is going to be intense and fast the way Leicester play and the way they stretch the game, and when our main striker is Zlatan we need fast people to surround him"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Manutd_4life

Rooney dropped
    Herrera starts

:D Praying this works out today!!! Also happy to see Lingard back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭Chris_Bradley

There can be no excuses today - The Rooney issue has been dealt with & nobody can hide behind it now.

Time to stand up & be counted.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

He also touched on fans who have this idea that it's in Rooneys contract that he can't be dropped. :pac:

If nothing else, today's line up should at least put an end to that crock of horsesh*t that people like to come out with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Manutd_4life

Watch Rooney come off the bench and score the winning goal now :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Flint Fredstone

Is this the first time Rooney was dropped since Phil Bardsley?

More specifically he said last 2 maybe 3 weeks in his mind.

I agree with his assessment that Rooney will soon become like Scholes/Giggs at the end of their careers about less game time.

I still think he is a useful player to have and not starting him every game might even work in his and our benefit.

Also did anyone see when Gary said where else would he go to play and the presenter mentioned states and Gary just scoffed and said "states?" back, was brilliant.

Wayne Rooney to his detriment has Just played too much football at the highest level. In number terms he's not as old as Carrick or a few in the squad. But he's played for 17 years with an intensity and work rate that's 2nd to none.

You look at the likes of lindgard who is 23 and was bedded in bit by bit.

Rooney was playing 50 plus games a year at 17.

I've loved him as a player and after scholes he's up there for me in what he's achieved in his United carer. Sadly time has taken its toll.

I think he will leave next season and I'll wish him well but for us he's only useful coming off the bench.

In my opinion

When he does come on I might stick my head into the match thread to see fans giving out :P

astradave wrote: »
    "If Wayne Rooney dosent play this one he will play the next one"

Next one is Europa league..

You have been well and truly dropped from the League squad Wayne..

no he hasn't, he is on the bench today and will probably play at some point

bangkok wrote: »
    no he hasn't, he is on the bench today and will probably play at some point

Apologies.. team..

• Registered Users Posts: 792 ✭✭✭KombuchaMshroom

A win for all really. The ones who wanted rooney dropped got there wish, and those who didn't can either say "see told you" if we get a bad result, or can use fellaini as the scapegoat if we get a good one!

Rooney being dropped obviously takes the headlines,

But it will be interesting to see Blind at left back again and Lingard in the squad. I know people question lingard in particular and at times he can be frustrating but he does possess pace and the ability to take people on.

With Rashford and Lingard out wide we have two wide players with extreme pace and who are always looking to go by people. Mata in at 10 to pull the strings and Zlatan up top.

I'm very optimistic about todays result and performance. Maybe I'm jumping the gun a little but I'm expecting a win.

Ah Jaysus Rashford is a baby!. I feel so feckin old!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

Rooney dropped :)
    Pogba still playing in a deeper role :(

Assumed both changes would go hand in hand.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

Great to see him dropped today, but it is a shame that we are missing the likes of Mickey and Martial as they would be great to throw on when needed.

Today we must have one of the weakest bench of subs ever (that includes Rooney) and you have to hope that we start firing quickly today.

Regardless of the result today, the dropping of Rooney needs to be long term to allow the team to move forward without the baggage.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

S.M.B. wrote: »
    Rooney dropped :)
    Pogba still playing in a deeper role :(

Assumed both changes would go hand in hand.

If it doesn't work, hopefully the first change will be Carrick to allow Pogba to move forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,382 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Whatever about dropping Rooney, still think the balance of the side is way off. Need to swap mata for carrick/Schneiderlin.

Nothing wrong with that. People have been saying that perhaps this aura of never been benched has made him complacent.

Might just be the kick up the arse he needs