Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2016 - Mod Note in OP, 13/9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Compare this to LVG's time: http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/row-zed/man-united-been-premier-leagues-8933300

Top of the league for shots per 90 minutes.The bus has been put in gear and driven away.

SHOTS PER 90 MINS OF POSSESSION
    1 Manchester United 23.7

2 Southampton 23.1
    3 Crystal Palace 22.5
    4 West Bromwich Albion 22.5
    5 Tottenham Hotspur 22.5
    6 Swansea City 21.9
    7 Everton 21.9
    8 Chelsea 20.9
    9 Liverpool 20.9
    10 West Ham United 20.4
    11 Manchester City 20.4
    12 Watford 18.0
    13 Leicester City 17.6
    14 Arsenal 17.6
    15 Sunderland 16.7
    16 Stoke City 16.4
    17 Hull 16.4
    18 Burnley 15.8
    19 Bournemouth 13.8
    20 Middlesbrough 11.4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

zerks wrote: »
    Compare this to LVG's time: http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/row-zed/man-united-been-premier-leagues-8933300

Top of the league for shots per 90 minutes.The bus has been put in gear and driven away.

1 Manchester United 23.7

2 Southampton 23.1
    3 Crystal Palace 22.5
    5 Tottenham Hotspur 22.5
    6 Swansea City 21.9
    7 Everton 21.9
    8 Chelsea 20.9
    9 Liverpool 20.9
    10 West Ham United 20.4
    11 Manchester City 20.4
    12 Watford 18.0
    13 Leicester City 17.6
    14 Arsenal 17.6
    15 Sunderland 16.7
    16 Stoke City 16.4
    17 Hull 16.4
    18 Burnley 15.8
    19 Bournemouth 13.8
    20 Middlesbrough 11.4

Ands funny where the teams that actually talk about parking the bus are a bit down the table.

Shots don't mean zilch tho unless we start converting more.

zerks wrote: »

1 Manchester United 23.7

2 Southampton 23.1
    3 Crystal Palace 22.5
    5 Tottenham Hotspur 22.5
    6 Swansea City 21.9
    7 Everton 21.9
    8 Chelsea 20.9
    9 Liverpool 20.9
    10 West Ham United 20.4
    11 Manchester City 20.4
    12 Watford 18.0
    13 Leicester City 17.6
    14 Arsenal 17.6
    15 Sunderland 16.7
    16 Stoke City 16.4
    17 Hull 16.4
    18 Burnley 15.8
    19 Bournemouth 13.8
    20 Middlesbrough 11.4

Thats all pogba tbf :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

is Nani/Ronaldo back?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭Korat

Thats all pogba tbf :D

South Korea are interested in him as a ballistic missile defence.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,945 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

is that your own story?

Yeah, all my own, have quite a few more which I'll post once a week, like I said in an earlier post I went to every home game between 87 & 91 and about 50% of the away games

• Registered Users Posts: 506 ✭✭✭D_turbo

Im heading to manchester the weekend,
    What would be the chances of getting tickets to the Stoke game?

Or how would i even go about it?

any help would be great

D_turbo wrote: »
    Im heading to manchester the weekend,
    What would be the chances of getting tickets to the Stoke game?

Or how would i even go about it?

any help would be great

I'm heading back to Wales tonight until late Sunday, gonna drive down to OT on Sunday morning and hang out outside ticket office, should get sorted easily enough

I hate touts.

I wonder why they're in business when fans are so honourable.

Pro. F wrote: »
    Well there have been many of them, a lot more than a few here and there. Maybe you don't think they are posters to take seriously or that they are regulars, but it has not been isolated randomers.

It's not that I didn't think that they were worth taking seriously, I generally haven't noticed it and I do make an effort to read the thread every day. When these posts come to my attention and disrupt my own enjoyment of the thread, I'll definitely take notice then. Obviously we're not talking about live in the match threads, because then we may as well be giving merit and time to Homer Simpson and Peter Griffin discussing the properties of ice while they are both on fire. That's not a slight on any decent posters who go in there, but they'll know the shíte I'm talking about.
    Pro F wrote:
    Nope. You didn't say any of those things. But since I didn't say or imply that you said any of those things there is no reason for us to talk about them.

As to where you have gone ott on this point, I explained that in my post.

Have gone back to your post and am still failing to see where I'm going over the top and how. That's not a request to explain it, cause I really feel I'm not going OTT here. Maybe it's not what you are talking about, but there is a visible difference to me on how Rooney goes about playing 10 and how Mata does, for good and for bad.
    Pro F wrote:
    If you are talking about me then that is not true. I have said that Mata had a good game and have not said that we should expect less than that from our 10. If you are talking about some other posters then take that up with them.

So what are we doing here then? We might be on a similar page. Chapter anyway, if not page. Honestly, I like Mata's personality as well as his game, but that doesn't stop me from saying that we need last Saturday's level from him as a minimum in the team and he is not a certainty for the future of the position. That said, it was visibly better than anything anyone else has offered up at the club as of late.
    Pro F wrote:
    Here:
    "I know Jose said Rooney would not be a 6 or 8, but the captain was occupying those territories at times during the game on Sunday. He wasn't playing as how a traditional 10 operates, and a lot of his play and movement seem to indicate that he enjoys playing deeper. He dropped to take the ball out of defense ffs! Surely he isn't going against his managers instructions is he? But Jose said 'never a 6 or an 8'."

Yes, there's a difference. When I see Mata touch the ball in those spaces, it's because the opposition have been pressuring in our half and naturally about 9 of our players are deep.

That part you've bolded that I was talking about, I just saw it there in the Rooney highlights vs Bournemouth. It's the ball with the United CB without pressure, deep in our own own half with space between the CBs and CM. Rooney is way back there. Unless he has been told to take up those spaces by the manager and/or his position changed by that point in the match, that space in that situation (quite importantly) is highly unnecessary. As I said weeks ago, every team needs that play-maker and someone given free roam but Rooney isn't capable of it at the moment.

The above 'Rooney too deep' moment, that's just an example and isn't even the one I mentioned in another post about 'Rooney bypassing the defense to collect the ball from DDG'. I've gone in search of that, but not all the games so far have those 'Individual highlights' reels. It is possibly from the Southampton match. Rooney doing this is not a rare sight though.

In the search for balance, I just saw Mata do something remotely similar in his highlights v Leicester (similar in that he makes a touch in our own half after a direct pass from a CB while running back), except Herrera (DM) was not available, and the defence needed an option for a pass with Leicester pressing. Mata gave it straight back to the CBs and retreated upfield.

Historically, especially when the game wasn't going our way, Rooney is the one who has made himself busy and present in all areas of the field to try to get something going. Surely you'll have a memory of him doing this where a few moments later, he'll either be throwing his arms and body up in the air in a huff or in a celebration. It's in him, it's always been in him to be that enforcer. It's great that he feels that desire and responsibility but lately, about 16 months, the ability doesn't match the desire in my opinion. When that happens, the player can become as much a hindrance with these 'grab the game by the neck' plays and decisions as he can be a positive contributor.

I'm coming from a place where despite the goal and assist from the earlier matches and looking active in games, Rooney hasn't been playing well. For balance - Martial has been shíte, and I've recently commented on his form and what might be a factor in that. Martial got dropped though, and now Rooney has been too.

The part you quoted above is from a larger post where my overall point was that Jose faced a bit of an equation in figuring out just what kind of player Rooney is at this latter stage of his career. Also that Rooney should be treated just like any other under-performing player in the team, and if he wasn't it's a shame since there's some good, potentially better, prospects going to waste in the squad. I'm happy to see Jose explore those options now. Obviously, time and games will show if Rooney can become a bit more of a refined, specialised contributor rather than someone who feels it's solely his responsibility to kick-start something from anywhere on the field, which I still see him trying to be.

Wow that's a read.

See you and I raise you.

Maith an fear.

Korat wrote: »
    I hate touts.

Genuine fans rarely have a shout. The 'general on-sale' process is a sham where choice and price breakdown is an illusion, borderline lying.

With popular gigs, your best hope of value and fairness is a fanclub pre-sale. In sports, your best hope is being a season ticket holder or knowing someone who is one.

Former Ticketmaster CEO Nathan Hubbard wrote a tell-all article earlier in the year where he explained how the ticket business really works. It's a bit eye-opening to see that the general punter, you and me, are the bottom of the barrel. We're even lower than touts on the ticket-chain. Good fúcking luck to anyone trying to get UFC 205 tickets in the general on-sale.

https://theringer.com/ticket-industry-problem-solution-e4b3b71fdff6#.16u0whr1j

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Korat wrote: »
    I hate touts.

Never said I'd buy a ticket from a tour, will be plenty of regular fans trying to shift tickets

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Shall we put out milk cartons with Darmian's face on them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

Lord TSC wrote:
    Shall we put out milk cartons with Darmian's face on them?

Yea Darmian is done for
    Pity about it
    Had a great start but when he's not even on the bench tonight you know his time is up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

Honestly think darmian is our best RB I don't know how he's not playing more. Fosu mensah is not a rb at all and while Valencia has started ok I think he's badly exploited by better teams lke against city

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Flint Fredstone

Herrera getting a good rest for Sunday? Good stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,228 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

You'd think the first half against Northampton would have put an end to Mensah at right back.

Rip into these lads and put them away early

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,477 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

Woyld have liked to seen likes of depay Carrick Schneiderlin starting. I thought the September cup games were being really looking forward to by Jose to give good game time to these type players (paraphrasing I admit)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Woyld have liked to seen likes of depay Carrick Schneiderlin starting. I thought the September cup games were being really looking forward to by Jose to give good game time to these type players (paraphrasing I admit)

He said the other day that losing the first match of the EL put him in a position where he needs to win match two to ease pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,949 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Jose looking particularly handsome this evening.

Is Micky Ryan injured or just ditched after the City game? Because that would be a crying shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Is Micky Ryan injured or just ditched after the City game? Because that would be a crying shame.

Still got a niggle, hope to see him in Sundays squad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

Mars Bar wrote:
    Jose looking particularly handsome this evening.

#vile
    You're not allowed say stuff like that...

stankratz wrote: »
    Genuine fans rarely have a shout. The 'general on-sale' process is a sham where choice and price breakdown is an illusion, borderline lying.

With popular gigs, your best hope of value and fairness is a fanclub pre-sale. In sports, your best hope is being a season ticket holder or knowing someone who is one.

Former Ticketmaster CEO Nathan Hubbard wrote a tell-all article earlier in the year where he explained how the ticket business really works. It's a bit eye-opening to see that the general punter, you and me, are the bottom of the barrel. We're even lower than touts on the ticket-chain. Good fúcking luck to anyone trying to get UFC 205 tickets in the general on-sale.

I only pay for rugby or GAA tickets these days.

I'm on a moral highground. :rolleyes:

So to hell with knacker horsetrading.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

Jose pissed off before a ball is kicked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,949 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Bailly will decapitate another player at some point in his career

• Jesus Christ that lad on Eir sport is doing my head in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭Chris_Bradley

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    Jesus Christ that lad on Eir sport is doing my head in

I like Dempsey but who's the other plonker?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Toobz

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    Jesus Christ that lad on Eir sport is doing my head in

Watching BT the same way Gary Neville does....not much better!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

Not often I say this, but I agree with Robbie Savage. Everything is just too slow, but Zorya defending in numbers. Hard to break down.

• Not often I say this, but I agree with Robbie Savage. Everything is just too slow, but Zorya defending in numbers. Hard to break down.

Fellaini isn't having a good game
    Alot coming tough him and he's too slow in possession at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

All too slow and plodding from united. Very Louis like game

Savage hates Fellaini. Just making stuff up about him.

Is bangkok robbie savage?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,347 ✭✭✭Quandary

Zorya sitting very deep. Utd looked better as the half wore on. Pogba, Mata Rashford playing well.

Zlatan has been average. Fellaini has been off the pace. lingard has been very poor IMO. He goes missing far too often.

I'd like to see Lingard off after 60 mins for depay or martial.

Savage hates Fellaini. Just making stuff up about him.

Fellaini didn't have a great half despite getting on the ball and making successful passes, but Savage is looking to knock him down at any opportunity.

Not many make me long for the commentary of Michael Owen, Savage pushes me there.

I think Herrera's energy is missing big time tonight

I would get Carrick on for Fellaini,better passer of the ball and moves it quicker

Lingard has been getting worse and worse. Needs to come off IMO.

He'll probably score now :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

What a difference a team that's capable of defending corners makes.

• ^lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Manutd_4life

What's up with this commentator?? He's talking as if the entire United team shagged his wife. He needs to chill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,228 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

First shot on target of the game on 66 minutes, goes to Zorya.

This is some hot garbage.

Pure quality from Mata

Rooney's blushes spared...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

That was some quality assist from rooney... world class ;)

• Rooney's blushes spared...

Quality assist :P

Great play from mata to unlock the defence

Was waiting for Savage to praise Rooneys vision :D