Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2016/2017

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

greendom wrote: »
    The FA did say they were going to crack down on this sort of behaviour. I was expecting 6

6 if he hadn't have apologised etc I'd say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Just saw a tweet comparing Xhaka's first sending off and Wenger's last Sunday. Both recipients of a new "crack-down". In Xhaka's case a one time crack-down. Wonder whether the one that Wenger was the recipient of is longer lasting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭BrianJD

I'm kinda gutted. After being a fan for nearly 30 years I'm finally getting to go to see Arsenal play for the first time ever (Hull at home) and I won't see Wenger. Not sure why it disappoints me but it would be nice to see the guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

BrianJD wrote: »
    I'm kinda gutted. After being a fan for nearly 30 years I'm finally getting to go to see Arsenal play for the first time ever (Hull at home) and I won't see Wenger. Not sure why it disappoints me but it would be nice to see the guy.

Not to worry he'll still be there. It's only a touchline ban so you should be able to see him in the directors box

• Registered Users Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭KaiserGunner

The touchline ban shouldn't really hurt the team anyway, I'm sure he will still be picking the team and making the required changes through mobile phone etc. I was expecting a longer ban tbh, based on the uproar in the media during the week. Making it out as though he attacked and committed assault. Was a small push, obviously shouldn't be doing it and I think a slap on the wrist would have sufficed.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭emmetlego

He did the crime, he'll do the time. I admired his expressions of sorrow for what he did in the interviews after. Despite how I've developed and how I feel having him as manager of late, he always keeps his class and dignity. I admire him. If only other pl managers had a shred of what he has!!!

Still think he should step down, but I still admire him greatly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,665 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Will be interesting to see if it has any effect on team's performance. When was the last time Wenger served a ban?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,114 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

BrianJD wrote: »

Hopefully a preview of next season?

Quazzie wrote: »

What? With Bouldy in charge? :D

emmetlego wrote: »
    What? With Bouldy in charge? :D

To Bouldly go...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,729 ✭✭✭Arne_Saknussem

Quazzie wrote: »

Nah, next season will have the same amount of Wenger but less Sanchez & Ozil :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭domrush

Nah, next season will have the same amount of Wenger but less Sanchez & Ozil :(

Without bringing up the subject again, I would imagine Ozil would stay if Wenger does. Sanchez is an enigma, don't think he has a massive attachment to the club to be honest.

I reckon Sanchez is gone, Wenger or No

mansize wrote: »
    I reckon Sanchez is gone, Wenger or No

I think if we somehow managed to beat Bayern and make a CL QF or SF as well as make a convincing league challenge (we won't win but if we're within 5 or so points at the end) as well as 300k a week we might keep him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,273 ✭✭✭Gizmo55

We buying Reus or wha?! :)

Liverpool on the ropes, don't feel confident for later tho

Gizmo55 wrote: »
    We buying Reus or wha?! :)
    Buying Reus only if we sell Alexis apparently

Questionable team from Wenger.

Ospina
    Bellerin Mustafi Holding Gibbs
    Ox Mailtand-Niles
    Walcott Jeff Lucas
    Welbeck

Can't believe he's not giving Coq and Ramsey a chance to play together.

Southampton: Lewis, Martina, Gardos, Stephens, McQueen, Reed, Clasie, Hojberg, Sims, Isgrove, Long

Subs: Taylor, Yoshida, Bertrand, Davis, Romeu, Redmond, Tadic

Arsenal: Ospina, Bellerin, Mustafi, Holding, Gibbs, Oxlade-Chamberlain, Maitland-Niles, The Jeff, Lucas, Walcott, Welbeck

Subs: Martinez, Jenkinson, Mertesacker, Gabriel, Monreal, Iwobi, Alexis

Intresting to see who partners Maitland-Niles in the centre and who plays in the No. 10 role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,943 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

3 double-barrelled names starting....new record?

domrush wrote: »
    Questionable team from Wenger.

Ospina
    Bellerin Mustafi Holding Gibbs
    Ox Mailtand-Niles
    Walcott Jeff Lucas
    Welbeck

Can't believe he's not giving Coq and Ramsey a chance to play together.

Some serious pace in that team. Should be interesting.

Not overly bothered about the midfield partnership of Coq and Ramsey. I think they'll be fine, and am sure they're working together in training. Not worth risking them today when they're playing in 3 days.

Southampton: Lewis, Martina, Gardos, Stephens, McQueen, Reed, Clasie, Hojberg, Sims, Isgrove, Long

Subs: Taylor, Yoshida, Bertrand, Davis, Romeu, Redmond, Tadic

Arsenal: Ospina, Bellerin, Mustafi, Holding, Gibbs, Oxlade-Chamberlain, Maitland-Niles, The Jeff, Lucas, Walcott, Welbeck

Subs: Martinez, Jenkinson, Mertesacker, Gabriel, Monreal, Iwobi, Alexis

Intresting to see who partners Maitland-Niles in the centre and who plays in the No. 10 role.

Ox as the former and Jeff for the latter I would imagine. Bit unnecessary having 4 backs on the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭pudzey101

Delighted Welbeck is getting the start :) lol @ spurs :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

domrush wrote: »
    Ox as the former and Jeff for the latter I would imagine. Bit unnecessary having 4 backs on the bench.

Blitzkrieg perhaps .

What channels this on?

Blitzkrieg perhaps .

What channels this on?

BT Sports 2

pudzey101 wrote: »
    Delighted Welbeck is getting the start :) lol @ spurs :D

You just had to, didn't you :D

Great goal, Welbeck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Welé!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭DarraghF197

Perez yet again making Arsenal fans wonder why on earth he doesn't start!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,161 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Southampton don't look like they're up to much. Should be a comfortable evening... you can blame me later.

and another! Welbeck on fire.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

Love Welbeck we've missed him, a born winner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,161 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

What the utter fúck was Ospina doing there

Chuffed for Welbeck.

Edit: What the **** was Ospina at there??

Soups123 wrote: »
    Love Welbeck we've missed him, a born winner

2 Henryesque goals from Welbeck. Such a wonderful hardworking player. Such a likeable lad and plays with a smile on his face.

Chuffed for Welbeck.

Edit: What the **** was Ospina at there??

Bellerin was piss poor too

Started very well but Long is still a threat.

Southampton don't look like they're up to much. Should be a comfortable evening... you can blame me later.

Message has been received clearly from the stripey St Marys men

Midfield trio doing well so far.

ox delivering better corners than ozil. not hard, really.

2-0 lads wehey

Great pass from Perez to set up Wellbeck for the first goal. He deserves more time in the first team.

Walcott 3-0. Nice work....Perez involved again.

Theo :)

No idea how he got that, defender messed up badly.

Jaysus, Southampton are poor today.

Basil3 wrote: »
    Walcott 3-0. Nice work....Perez involved again.

Look at the run Wele made to the byline though. What a serious athlete he is. A phenomenal pro

• Registered Users Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭KaiserGunner

Brilliant first half there. They can only beat who's in front of them, has been a stroll. Delighted for Welbeck getting two goals. I really like the look of Jeff, has played well and looks comfortable on the ball. Maitland Niles has looked good too. Could be more goals in the second half, no point bringing on Sanchez either, let him rest on the bench.

Get Welbeck off before he knee explodes.

Good stuff so far. #BouldIn :pac:

Ox fancies himself as a midfielder, and to be fair he's pretty decent. Has a good eye for a pass.

Basil3 wrote: »
    Ox fancies himself as a midfielder, and to be fair he's pretty decent. Has a good eye for a pass.

Southampton have been shocking but he's looked good in there. Hasn't done anything stupid or given the ball away cheaply.