Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2016/2017

Penalty to feck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Penalty?

No. We had 1 shot on target all afternoon. We scored from it thankfully.
    That is not good enough at home against Southampton.

That's true, but it's not due to lack of effort, like some people are saying. I think a lot of our players have worked their arses off, but it just hasn't happened. These days are way too common, unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,512 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Put the ball away now. I'm not holding out much hope.

PENO!!!!

Don't mess this.

Guys at the Beeb say no peno

Koscielny got a kick to the face!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭wonga77

Jaysus that looks sore for Kos

Bet this is a miss.

Get in!'n

Get out of Jail!!!

Thank feck! 2-1

Twitter ahead of my feed....took the anxiety out of that one :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,676 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

What who??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

YESSSSSS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Thank our Lucky Stars.
    Poor performance but 3 points.:D:D

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    What who??

Santi Pen

Straight down the middle from Cazorla! Risky but thank god for that

Take that!!!

Christ BBC hate Arsenal!

Thank our Lucky Stars.
    Poor performance but 3 points.:D:D

That is what makes you league contenders. When we play well, there's no doubt we will put teams to the sword. We need to sneak wins when we play like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Pah ha ha ha ha ha. Get in

Apparently that's the most likely to score

That's all he ever does! Keepers clearly don't study him.

Anyway Southampton poxed one last season

Basil3 wrote: »
    That is what makes you league contenders. When we play well, there's no doubt we will put teams to the sword. We need to sneak wins when we play like this.

We also need to rely on sneaking goals rather than penalties, on another day another ref wouldn't have given that.

Yesssssss

Poor kos.

We also need to rely on sneaking goals rather than penalties, on another day another ref wouldn't have given that.

Every team gets them, Leicester got plenty of soft ones last season with steptoe going to ground easily

Basil3 wrote: »
    That's all he ever does! Keepers clearly don't study him.

I'd say they do study him.
    Probably too hard though and expect him to change his placement now and then :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Undeserved but I don't care. Southampton are a real bogey team for us and we actually beat them.

Fairly uninspiring tbf.

Giroud won the peno, good man!

3 points is 3 points.

Take them, say nothing lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭wonga77

Lucky, no other real way of describing that. Never a penalty so we got out of jail but il take it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

Loved Mustafi today, looks like a great signing.

That was a great pen, goalie went early

I don't care how we win.
    Jose would have been happy with that if it were United.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭the untitled user

Wasn't a penalty, but given the foul and kick to the face on Koscielny a minute earlier I don't think Southampton should be complaining. ****e performance, but we were bedding in two new players into the spine of the team which can be really disruptive. It's a good three points all in all.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭emmetlego

There was a jersey pull on Giroud, no doubt about it. Referee saw it and gave it, defo penalty, however in the build up, Monreal fouls Shane Long in the far corner. That's why Saints should feel aggrieved, and it happened in front of the assistant referee.

Now, putting that aside, I thought we played very well in patches, especially when Alexis came on. Ox should just stay seated for me. Theo was ok, worked hard and out in tackles, instead of jumping out of them! Kos was very good, as was Mustafi, but for me, motm was Santi. His peno aside, I thought he controlled the game well.

All in all, 3 points. Much better than we did last year against these!

Jugs being salty on Twitter- love it!

Santi could get MOTM in every game that he plays, only Ozil could stop him IMO.

emmetlego wrote: »
    There was a jersey pull on Giroud, no doubt about it. Referee saw it and gave it, defo penalty, however in the build up, Monreal fouls Shane Long in the far corner. That's why Saints should feel aggrieved, and it happened in front of the assistant referee.

Now, putting that aside, I thought we played very well in patches, especially when Alexis came on. Ox should just stay seated for me. Theo was ok, worked hard and out in tackles, instead of jumping out of them! Kos was very good, as was Mustafi, but for me, motm was Santi. His peno aside, I thought he controlled the game well.

All in all, 3 points. Much better than we did last year against these!

Didn't they say they were clamping down on Jersey pulling???

mansize wrote: »
    Didn't they say they were clamping down on Jersey pulling???

PL denies it.
    refs have to be brave and actually decide!

https://www.thesun.co.uk/sport/football/1685844/jurgen-klopp-admits-he-has-no-idea-what-the-rules-are-as-premier-league-referees-clamp-down-on-shirt-pulling/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

Four games in a couple of changes in bold after todays match! League goals and assists in brackets. Looks like Santi is top for both at the moment :pac:

Goals
    Cazorla (2) 2
    Walcott (1) 1
    Chamberlain (1) 1
    Chambers (1) 1
    Sanchez (1) 1
    Ozil (1) 1
    Koscielny (1) 1

Assists
    Cazorla (2) 2
    Iwobi (1) 1
    Walcott (1) 1
    Sanchez (1) 1
    Perez (1) 1

Wasn't it Long that scored after he should have been sent off last season? Karma! :-P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Match after international breaks usually suck.

Last three times we played Saints we didn't score.

I'm taking that result all day long.

We are really going to have to improve in the final third of the pitch.
    2 shots on target today and 2 goals sounds great, 100%.
    But 2 shots on target is not going to win you many games.

• Registered Users Posts: 357 ✭✭DanC90

I have no complaints with that win, too many times in the past we bottled games like this so for them to stay in it and then go on to win it is only a positive, that type of mentality that has been missing from us a lot in recent years.. With that said we were very lucky not to concede from the Shane Long chances but that's another thing I feel we've lacked is a bit of luck in tough games so I'm delighted with the 3 points.

Also really liked the look of Mustafi today, seemed to settle quickly and communicated well with the others, Perez also showed some good signs but maybe a tough game to make an impression on.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭KaiserGunner

Just delighted to get a win out of it, we were poor for a lot of the game but got the three points. Forster was doing his usual time wasting thing against us, so always feels great to sneak a win like that.

Phil Thompson pretty bitter on soccer Saturday there about the win. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭FixitFelix

Just delighted to get a win out of it, we were poor for a lot of the game but got the three points. Forster was doing his usual time wasting thing against us, so always feels great to sneak a win like that.

Can't stand Thompson man absolutely hates us so it's great getting a late winner to stick down his neck, now Leicester stuff the pool and it will top the day off

Ah poor Phil. He delights when he's reporting on a goal against us. You can see it in his eyes. The hurt is still there 27 years later.

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭ezekel

3 points earned the hard way but i will take them.
    Mustafi impressed me today and Cazorla played well, now we just need to get Koscielny to teach that technique to our strikers.
    Definate peno for me, looked like Fonte tangled his leg between Girouds after the shirt pull.