Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***The Official CAO Offers Thread***

• Registered Users Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Possibly, but surly they'll have anticipated for it as it happened last year...;)
    It happens most years for a minute or two ... tbh, they can't justify the cost of building the system up to levels which would prevent it for the sake of that high usage for 5 mins per year.

Just relax, give it a minute, and try again. ;)
    NathanB98 wrote: »
    My first choice is the joint honours in UCD, last year it was 330. I got 440 and I'm still paranoid I won't get an offer.
    Joint hons in ... ?

• Registered Users Posts: 4 NathanB98

It happens most years for a minute or two ... tbh, they can't justify the cost of building the system up to levels which would prevent it for the sake of that high usage for 5 mins per year.

Joint hons in ... ?

English and History

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,402 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Possibly, but surly they'll have anticipated for it as it happened last year...;)

And the year before and the year before and so forth..

I doubt they changed anything for ten minutes of overload every year. It's rarely unavailable for longer than a few minutes.

I can't remember now but I think I logged in exactly at 6 AM and accepted it an 6:01. I couldn't access the site for a few minutes after that due to the loads.

• Registered Users Posts: 946 ✭✭✭daraghwal

Why can't they just release the points with the leaving results!!!!!!!!!!! Next year is going to be so much more stressful with there are point jumps of 12, 11 and 10 instead of jumps of 10,5,5,...

• Registered Users Posts: 175 ✭✭matthew1998

Joint hons in ... ?

Surely is must be possible to rent some extra bandwidth or rent a few extra servers as their website will be operation at possibly 100 times capacity for this one day of the year!

But ah sure , look it, isn't that it!? :rolleyes:

NathanB98 wrote: »
    English and History
    110 points rise in one year?

Jedward will be elected Taoiseach first ... :p:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 ronpotter

Trolly troll. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 855 ✭✭✭TSMGUY

LOL, the trolling's started early this year.:rolleyes:

You must be bored as **** to go through the trouble of compiling such a long fake list though:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 22 shligonian

Lads my friend has 380 points and has DCU arts (390 last year) #3 on his CAO and UCD arts (350) #4, he wants to go to UCD more so than DCU now after the summer and he is wondering if DCU arts points drop by 10 and he receives an offer can he wait it out for round 2 and get a UCD offer? Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Manutd_4life

ronpotter wrote: »
    Trolly troll. :rolleyes:

Very sad of you to do that.

• Registered Users Posts: 15 bateve

Not even midnight yet and the trolls are out

Very sad of you to do that.
    the scary thing is with the demand the way it is engineering could jump by that many points!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭Gallagher1

shligonian wrote: »
    Lads my friend has 380 points and has DCU arts (390 last year) #3 on his CAO and UCD arts (350) #4, he wants to go to UCD more so than DCU now after the summer and he is wondering if DCU arts points drop by 10 and he receives an offer can he wait it out for round 2 and get a UCD offer? Thanks

No, you cannot move down the CAO preferences, only up.

No. Simple as.

You can't go down your CAO preferences. Further rounds only let you go up. If he gets #3 then he can only hope to get #2 or #1 in the later rounds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Manutd_4life

TSMGUY wrote: »
    the scary thing is with the demand the way it is engineering could jump by that many points!

Ikr!! Scary times. Best of luck to you. What are you aiming for?

Gallagher1 wrote:
    No, you cannot move down the CAO preferences, only up.

Thanks, I was pretty sure this was the case but was just 100% making sure

• Registered Users Posts: 199 ✭✭siebey123

I think I missed the troll by like 2 mins ahaha what did they post/claim?

Tell him to read the CAO offers sticky at top of forum ;)
    siebey123 wrote: »
    That TSM is actually a guy ... ;)

Ikr!! Scary times. Best of luck to you. What are you aiming for?

lol English at Cambridge so fortunately tonight's anxiety doesn't apply to me. Still pretty curious about what course I get on the CAO but it's no biggie thank God!

siebey123 wrote: »

Oh, you should have seen it. It was the best thing ever and unlikely to ever happen again.

And you missed it :(

Tell him to read the CAO offers sticky at top of forum ;)

That TSM is actually a guy ... ;)

*Inspects genitals*

By god, you're right!:eek:

*Inspects genitals*
    Same as every other hour / day then ... >_>

By god, you're right!:eek:
    Yeah, yeah, stop trolling :p

Same as every other hour / day then ... >_>Yeah, yeah, stop trolling :p
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hyHWoVvIGXQ

• Registered Users Posts: 39 InTheNight

Forgot to mention this in the OP but just wanted to say good luck to y'all, having repeated myself I know it's 0 banter so I hope ye all get what ye want.

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭TigerIsa

Anyone for science in UCD? Best of luck everyone :)

• Registered Users Posts: 818 ✭✭✭adam240610

TigerIsa wrote: »
    Anyone for science in UCD? Best of luck everyone :)

Seven people from my year are...

Anyone else for engineering ucd? How did you do in the lc?

• Registered Users Posts: 620 ✭✭✭MomijiHime

Same as every other hour / day then ... >_>Yeah, yeah, stop trolling :p

Stop flirting you two, this is a public forum!

• Registered Users Posts: 946 ✭✭✭daraghwal

I'm just going to leave this stress relief/key to staying awake here https://www.youtube.com/user/NewsBeFunny

That never stopped the flirting before, this has just been a very quiet year! ;)

TigerIsa wrote:
    Anyone for science in UCD? Best of luck everyone

Yup, I have 20 points over last year's so here's hoping it doesn't go up too high