Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GEM in Ireland vs. UK

Options
  • 22-08-2016 4:46pm
    Registered Users Posts: 13

I'm a final year science student (zoology in TCD), who's considering doing a GEM course. I'm not sure whether I should stay here though, or do it in the UK. How are existing and past students of GEM courses here and abroad finding the finance? The loans here are a little bit terrifying, and I don't like the idea of asking my parents to sign as guarantors when I'm concerned that I'll struggle with repayments when I qualify. I'm also concerned that the available loan options don't seem to cover the entire cost of the GEM course in RCSI.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

If you live near a university in Ireland then financially it is far better to do GEM in that university than abroad and have to then worry about living costs, rent etc.
    UK GEM is a bit of a non-starter if you intend to come home to work. You won't get an intern spot if you're educated outside of Ireland and their intern (Foundation) programme dates don't align with the start of our training scheme dates which makes it very difficult to transition back to Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 13 Nessa859

Anita Blow wrote: »
    If you live near a university in Ireland then financially it is far better to do GEM in that university than abroad and have to then worry about living costs, rent etc.