Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Newstalk Megathread 22/08/16 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Ah, don’t you know you can’t criticise Dr. Ciara Kelly? She knows everything about everything.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

Is this Ciara Kelly on Newstalk arguing with a vegan on Newstalk??? My god, what a repugnant, toxic, sociopathic c*nt! Go on Sandra give it to the toxic b*tch! How is she a radio presenter...my God. She should be kicked off the show...disgraceful behaviour for a host. She is a nasty piece of work.

eh? wouldn't be a big fan of Ciara's but I thought she was a lot more composed, put forth a logical coherent argument for those that eat meat. The vegan on the other hand seemed to just lose the plot and make some pretty ridiculous comparisons. just to add as a by the way, I have no issues with vegans and respect and admire their commitment and compassion towards all animals...I'm just not one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,199 ✭✭✭artvanderlay

She's a doctor? Good God. Although she is on talk radio, so she's probably a doctor in the same way that Gillian McKeith is a dietician, or Katie Hopkins is a human being!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,199 ✭✭✭artvanderlay

Sandra tried to stay on point before all these ridiculous interrupting comments from Ciara. I just thought Ciara was very rude. If Sandra was making ridiculous points, then let her talk and then present your own views. Don't keep interrupting and trolling her!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Jamiekelly

Love hearing Vegans lose their marbles and act like children. Quality entertainment. Well done Doc.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

i like cuddihy but got help him going up against marion !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,370 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

She's a doctor? Good God. Although she is on talk radio, so she's probably a doctor in the same way that Gillian McKeith is a dietician, or Katie Hopkins is a human being!

No, she was (until recently) an actual GP. I don't mind her most of the time but fcuk Ian O'Doherty. Rent-a-gob.

She used to introduce herself as "DOCTOR Ciara Kelly" all the time with major emphasis on the "DOCTOR". She's a GP - the lowest of the low in the doctor hierarchy. I worked in a very specialist field in pharma for a number of years and you should hear the things hospital consultants say about GPs. The highest level of medical consultant specialists don't refer to themselves or introduce themselves as "Dr." Its use as she used it suggested both a massive superiority and inferiority complex - situation dependent.

When she started her own show the "DOCTOR" was dropped. I posted on this at the time that I suspect she was encouraged/forced to drop it by Newstalk as she was coming across as very aloof. She comes across as an incredibly smug know it all. To paraphrase Ben Stiller in Dodgeball "I'm better than you, and I know it" could be her catchphrase such is her own lofty opinion of herself - at least this is how she comes across.

No matter what the topic she seems to know more about it than her guest, which begs the question as to why have any guests on at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭JPCN1

Chris O'Donoghue cannot catch a break.

Announced last week he was leaving Newstalk to join Simon Coveney and now this Francis Fitzgerald mess is blowing up.

He'll remember 2017 for a while.

He doesn't deserve one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,074 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

She's a GP - the lowest of the low in the doctor hierarchy. I worked in a very specialist field in pharma for a number of years and you should hear the things hospital consultants say about GPs.

The lowest of the low.... SMH.

What are you shaking your head at? I qualified the statement by further adding “within the Doctor hierarchy”, which it is - or are you going to try and state otherwise? I did not say she is the lowest of the low as it appears you’re trying to imply.

Cop on.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

How does she find time to host a 5 day a week radio show and fulfill her GP commitments.

Most GPs I know are run off their feet.

How does she find time to host a 5 day a week radio show and fulfill her GP commitments.

Most GPs I know are run off their feet.

She's not practicing anymore since her media career took off, or at least she's significantly reduced her hours. She has a locum in covering her hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

Hook's show seems to be pre-recorded.

webcam turned off on the website, no reference to who the 9am newsreader was, or a thanks after (and the webcam was on for them), and for some reason after George said that the first half was over (at 8:55am) and they'd take news and sport, Imagine Dragon's song "Believer" played for a few minutes before going to the news, which seems like they finished up recording a few minutes early and had to fill some time, so a producer plonked a song in there to take them up to 9am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

George used to have a show similar to this before.

It could well be pre recorded, maybe the "snowflakes" that are newstalk are afraid that Georgey boy might say something deemed not PC enough for them and they can delete it.

You notice no texts on the show? I would have preferred the interaction between Micky Graham and Georgy, instead of him being allowed to say his piece uncombured.

By the way, I wonder did new Georgys slot make Ciaras weekend show to be scrapped I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Vorenus400

jimmyw wrote: »
    George used to have a show similar to this before.

It could well be pre recorded, maybe the "snowflakes" that are newstalk are afraid that Georgey boy might say something deemed not PC enough for them and they can delete it.

You notice no texts on the show? I would have preferred the interaction between Micky Graham and Georgy, instead of him being allowed to say his piece uncombured.

By the way, I wonder did new Georgys slot make Ciaras weekend show to be scrapped I wonder?

I couldnt see George getting up at the weekend to do an early show. It seems like everyone kicked off the weekeday shows is given an early weekend slot till they move on

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

Hook's show seems to be pre-recorded.

webcam turned off on the website, no reference to who the 9am newsreader was, or a thanks after (and the webcam was on for them), and for some reason after George said that the first half was over (at 8:55am) and they'd take news and sport, Imagine Dragon's song "Believer" played for a few minutes before going to the news, which seems like they finished up recording a few minutes early and had to fill some time, so a producer plonked a song in there to take them up to 9am.

is there not an obligation on a broadcaster to let listeners know that a show is pre recorded according to BAI standards? you hear it quite often that they mention it is pre recorded and not to text, even if it was prerecorded and hook never mentioned the text number you would still get a fair few people texting assuming it was live and that would be totally unethical.

I’m just surmising and being honest, i have absolutely no interest in reading the BAI code of conduct and standards to find out.

very impressed with Kieran Cuddihy's show the last two Sundays. good mix of topics, and presented very well.
    hopefully he'll get a full-time weekday gig soon.

very impressed with Kieran Cuddihy's show the last two Sundays. good mix of topics, and presented very well. hopefully he'll get a full-time weekday gig soon.

He was that good when presenting before the recent shakeup.
    I don't see room for him on the current daily schedule, not sure how suitable he would be for breakfast...
    Himself and Shane Coleman would be too similar if working together I think.

Jess Kelly show had interesting guest in VP of Ticketmaster on Sunday. She's well able host as well as contribute.

I missed her this Sunday gone, but caught the first half of the previous week, and agree, she had no problems hosting her own show. she was always very good as a contributor to the other shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,712 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

It's amazing how often I turn on The Hard Shoulder to hear the very thinly veiled ad for Bobby Kerr "business advice" segment.

I'm doing a sweepstake on how often Jess Kelly starts a sentence with 'So...' from next Monday to Sunday.

I'm taking every opening sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

Birneybau wrote: »
    I'm doing a sweepstake on how often Jess Kelly starts a sentence with 'So...' from next Monday to Sunday.

I'm taking every opening sentence.

Or anyone under 30 on radio...

• Registered Users Posts: 465 ✭✭southstar

Is this Ciara Kelly on Newstalk arguing with a vegan on Newstalk??? My god, what a repugnant, toxic, sociopathic c*nt! Go on Sandra give it to the toxic b*tch! How is she a radio presenter...my God. She should be kicked off the show...disgraceful behaviour for a host. She is a nasty piece of work.

Classy post

Was listening to Pat Kenny earlier, he covered hotels and rural broadband. Ciara Kelly came on talking about what's coming up on her show. I'll let you guess what the first 2 topics she was going to cover were. F'ing joke. I stopped listening to the good doctor a few weeks ago, thank God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,965 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Nice to see Barry Walsh still contributing to the national conversation after losing his FG gig...

Birneybau wrote: »
    Was listening to Pat Kenny earlier, he covered hotels and rural broadband. Ciara Kelly came on talking about what's coming up on her show. I'll let you guess what the first 2 topics she was going to cover were. F'ing joke. I stopped listening to the good doctor a few weeks ago, thank God.

There's a serious lack of joined-up producing across all of Newstalk.

If you feel this, you must listen frequently throughout the day. If you listen frequently throughout the day, they're not doing too bad are they?

If someone listens to just Pat Kenny or say Ivan Yates, they'd be miffed if they didn't cover high interest items on that show. Can expect some overlap thought the day for this reason I'd imagine.

I agree though there should be some knowledge of what other shows have covered. Wouldn't be too hard to share run lists.

If you feel this, you must listen frequently throughout the day. If you listen frequently throughout the day, they're not doing too bad are they?

I agree though there should be some knowledge of what other shows have covered. Wouldn't be too hard to share run lists.

If someone listens to just Pat Kenny or say Ivan Yates, they'd be miffed if they didn't cover high interest items on that show. Can expect some overlap thought the day for this reason I'd imagine.

All true. It's more noticeable some times than others. Doesn't seriously annoy me, as each show/presenter/team take a slightly different tack on each issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Woops....

"In a broadcast, in the ‘Health Matters’ segment of Dr Ciara Kelly’s Lunchtime programme of the 2nd February 2018, Dr. Kelly interviewed Kate O’Connell TD in relation to proposed legislation concerning unproven cancer treatments.

In the course of that interview Dr. Kelly made reference to the medical treatment for heart problems which her late father received from a qualified doctor, being chelation therapy. In doing so, Dr. Kelly stated that the doctor in question had taken her father off his cholesterol and other medications and that her father had subsequently died of a heart-attack. Dr. Kelly stated that she thought her father’s death was caused by the treatment in question.

Newstalk and Dr. Kelly wish to take this opportunity to unconditionally withdraw the views expressed by Dr. Kelly and to apologise unreservedly to the doctor concerned."

http://www.newstalk.com/Apology-and-Clarification

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭Mr Snow

was newstalk ever a 24/7 talk station?

Mr Snow wrote: »
    was newstalk ever a 24/7 talk station?

Well it's never really broadcasted '24' but that aside Tom Dunne is the only presenter who plays any significant amount of music AFAIK, so I guess before he came along.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,227 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Before Tom there was Fionn Davenport who had the show after Off The Ball so yeah I think back then it was all chat.

There was also another guy, who's name escapes me but he had Dr. Phil on, who had a political show that got very heated that used to be on at night too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Before Tom there was Fionn Davenport who had the show after Off The Ball so yeah I think back then it was all chat.

There was also another guy, who's name escapes me but he had Dr. Phil on, who had a political show that got very heated that used to be on at night too.

the green room used to be on Mondays i think, then Mark Coleman on Tuesday and Weds, then Fionn Davenport and his sexy talk on Thursdays. he didn't do it for too long though, can't remember what was on before him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Woops....

"In a broadcast, in the ‘Health Matters’ segment of Dr Ciara Kelly’s Lunchtime programme of the 2nd February 2018, Dr. Kelly interviewed Kate O’Connell TD in relation to proposed legislation concerning unproven cancer treatments.

In the course of that interview Dr. Kelly made reference to the medical treatment for heart problems which her late father received from a qualified doctor, being chelation therapy. In doing so, Dr. Kelly stated that the doctor in question had taken her father off his cholesterol and other medications and that her father had subsequently died of a heart-attack. Dr. Kelly stated that she thought her father’s death was caused by the treatment in question.

Newstalk and Dr. Kelly wish to take this opportunity to unconditionally withdraw the views expressed by Dr. Kelly and to apologise unreservedly to the doctor concerned."

http://www.newstalk.com/Apology-and-Clarification

George was binned for less.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,227 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

the green room used to be on Mondays i think, then Mark Coleman on Tuesday and Weds, then Fionn Davenport and his sexy talk on Thursdays. he didn't do it for too long though, can't remember what was on before him.

Mark Coleman, that's the one.

Jeez himself and Dr. Phil used to have a right cut off each other.

Can't remember if Tom used to play much music on his morning show. Couple of songs and hour maybe, similar to the late G Ryan...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭Billgirlylegs

Thanks be toXXXX Bobby Kerr is off today.
    Tom Dunne presenting.
    Hope it is permanent

• Registered Users Posts: 751 ✭✭✭quintana76

Fann Linn wrote: »
    George was binned for less.

Wrong gender. Can't blame all ills and mistakes on the "patriarchy".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Just a bump to say how much better Newstalk is on an early Sunday morning than RTE.at 7 AM they have a decent documentary - libraries this morning and then a panel discussion about something current Between the Lines. Meanwhile RTE 1 is basically asleep with MOR music and then the useless World Report (a zero budget From Our Own Correspondent) and the appalling Bowman - Sunday- 8.30 bore-fest. Obviously it all goes to hell when Bobby starts babbling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭McDave

With all these T&C ‘changes’ popping up on opening apps these days (because of GDPR?), I decided to dump the NewsTalk app on my phone because it seems to want to use the change to renew me as a target for advertising.

Isn’t advertising through the broadcast enough without threatening to target me with more through the app? Well it is for me. So bye bye NT on my mobile phone.

Any other views on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,712 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

McDave wrote: »
    With all these T&C ‘changes’ popping up on opening apps these days (because of GDPR?), I decided to dump the NewsTalk app on my phone because it seems to want to use the change to renew me as a target for advertising.

Isn’t advertising through the broadcast enough without threatening to target me with more through the app? Well it is for me. So bye bye NT on my mobile phone.

Any other views on this?

I removed the app recently, but listening live on the internet kept cutting out. So I had to get the app again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭McDave

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    I removed the app recently, but listening live on the internet kept cutting out. So I had to get the app again.

I’ve reverted to using an old mobile which has an inbuilt radio. Back to analogue. Don’t ever shut it down!

the TuneIn radio app works grand. no Listen Back features etc. though.

• Registered Users Posts: 921 ✭✭✭benjamin d

I've used the specific radio apps for various stations, the Irish Radio Player app, and TuneIn and have found none of them to be reliable at all. I've given up trying to listen to the radio on my phone. Spotify all the way.

I've just popped in to the threads on Ciara Kelly show, Off the Ball and Ivan yates. So many posts are about how bad each show is or the presenter or the fill in presenter or whatever.

And yet JNLR figures show an increase right across all main shows on the station.

What is it about the internet that leads people to be so negative? Is it the anonymity? Is it begrudgery because some part of them thinks they could be hosting a radio show but haven't had the opportunity.

So few posts are actually discussing the shows content but are just complaining about some element of it. I genuinely don't understand it.

On the JNLR figures. Impressive results by Ivan to be so successful on that slot on his own. Now the most listened to show on the station.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,017 ✭✭✭tsue921i8wljb3

I've just popped in to the threads on Ciara Kelly show, Off the Ball and Ivan yates. So many posts are about how bad each show is or the presenter or the fill in presenter or whatever.

And yet JNLR figures show an increase right across all main shows on the station.

What is it about the internet that leads people to be so negative? Is it the anonymity? Is it begrudgery because some part of them thinks they could be hosting a radio show but haven't had the opportunity.

So few posts are actually discussing the shows content but are just complaining about some element of it. I genuinely don't understand it.

On the JNLR figures. Impressive results by Ivan to be so successful on that slot on his own. Now the most listened to show on the station.

The whole radio forum is a toxic ****hole full of malcontents. I suppose it gives them an outlet and keeps them occupied so best let them at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

I always enjoy the TV on the radio feature on Sean Moncrieffs show. I heard a new lady contributor this week. Along with the other two guys they are all very good.

honeybear wrote: »
    I always enjoy the TV on the radio feature on Sean Moncrieffs show. I heard a new lady contributor this week. Along with the other two guys they are all very good.

yeah that's my favorite of all his regular slots.

i liked hearing them talk about the Kardashians this week too. I know very little to nothing about the show and it's sooooo big so was good to hear them discuss it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

yeah that's my favorite of all his regular slots.

i liked hearing them talk about the Kardashians this week too. I know very little to nothing about the show and it's sooooo big so was good to hear them discuss it.

Her description of The Game was super too