Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The most popular person in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Paul McGrath is the most loved. Every single Irish person I've ever met loves Paul McGrath, aside from the soccer haters, but there's no talking to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Arghus wrote: »
    Paul McGrath is the most loved. Every single Irish person I've ever met loves Paul McGrath.

Good call.

Cant believe anyone didn't mention him until you did

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Kilboor

Has anybody mentioned Paul McGrath yet? SERIOUSLY NO? Wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Good call.

Cant believe anyone didn't mention him until you did

He's mentioned plenty in the thread, just not enough.

This. Enormously respected. In terms of both popularity and influence he was truly incomparable. The 1973 Sunningdale, 1985 A-I Agreement, the 1998 GFA, fair employment legislation/McBride Principles/Sullivan Principles and of course the Peace Process - it is John Hume who pushed all these despite a sustained campaign against him by Independent Newspapers for years because he talked with Gerry Adams. Nobody else had the popular support among all sections of nationalist opinion. His word and judgement was trusted in Washington and Dublin about republican intentions.

He has not been well for years now and when his time comes is certain to have the largest funeral in our living memory.

Hume is certainly no nationalist. When the stoops pulled out of Stormont and to stave off support for a Dáil Uladh in the early 70's, they assembled the short lived Dungiven parliament and styled it the parliament of the northern Irish people as a rival 6 county parliament to Stormont. I can't remember the quote but Hume quoted Edward Carson during its opening session.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭Curly Judge

Hume is certainly no nationalist. When the stoops pulled out of Stormont and to stave off support for a Dáil Uladh in the early 70's, they assembled the short lived Dungiven parliament and styled it the parliament of the northern Irish people as a rival 6 county parliament to Stormont. I can't remember the quote but Hume quoted Edward Carson during its opening session.

Hasn't killed or kneecapped enough in your estimation then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,733 ✭✭✭SlipperyPeople

Paul Mcgrath

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Kilboor

Paul Mcgrath

Has he been mentioned yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

He is dead but St Patrick is still popular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,515 ✭✭✭valoren

Mike Murphy.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

yer man who does the voiceover for the Brennans bread adds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

This is like the "Who's your favourite boardsie?" and "Boardsie Love" threads all over again - not a single mention :(

batistuta9 wrote: »
    if all these people an an event/performance/night/whatever on at the same time, I reckon conor mcgregor or brendan o'carroll would get the biggest attendance
    I'm not a fan of either, but I'd watch them fight.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

valoren wrote: »
    Mike Murphy.

the Great Dermot Morgan would have something to say about Mike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

How about The Man: Joe Duffy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,870 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

He's wildly popular alright, but I don't know how anyone suggesting Conor McGregor has managed to miss the fact that a huge number of people absolutely despise the man.

I'm indifferent to him myself, but there's a passionate dislike for him out there.That should preclude him from being Ireland's most popular person.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

I'd say Michael D is in with a shout there. Not many people have a bad word to say about him

Well I think he's an absolute waste of tax payers money

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Michael O' Muircheartaigh.

Can't stand his accent for one. Saw him on the late late once and came across as a sanctimonious prick while talking about alcohol etc., which apparently he's never tasted. His voice used to put chills in me on Sunday's as bad as the f*cking Glenroe music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,273 ✭✭✭batistuta9

He's wildly popular alright, but I don't know how anyone suggesting Conor McGregor has managed to miss the fact that a huge number of people absolutely despise the man.

I'm indifferent to him myself, but there's a passionate dislike for him out there.That should preclude him from being Ireland's most popular person.

But numourous popular things have huge numbers who hate them; man u, new York Yankees, Floyd mayweather, star wars, the big bang theory (TV show, though I'm not sold on the inflation theory myself :pac: ), iphones, brexit, etc.

In any field at all you'll have the dislikes with the popularity. They don't diminish the popularity.

I think it's a generational thing too. The whole beard and suit look, the tattoos, the brash talk, even what he does for a living, it will appeal to some and not to others. No denying he is popular, I think as one goes up the age chain his popularity would wane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

Yeah, John Creedon was in my mind all along. I really like him and he does round off the day so well. Glad he was mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,996 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

do not think anyone has mentioned Johnny Giles yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

diomed wrote: »
    Pat Hickey

I shall not bestow my valuable thanks upon this post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

I think Cork and Dublin folk are overplaying their hand (as always :))
    So let's rule out The Bod, Roy Keane etc...

Yeah, John Creedon was in my mind all along. I really like him and he does round off the day so well. Glad he was mentioned.

Met him in a pub one night.

He's a thoroughly pleasant person.

Can't stand his accent for one. Saw him on the late late once and came across as a sanctimonious prick while talking about alcohol etc., which apparently he's never tasted. His voice used to put chills in me on Sunday's as bad as the f*cking Glenroe music.

Never understood the hype. Michael O'Heir wannabe

Anyone who had the misfortune of purchasing and playing the Gaelic Football Computer game for the Playstation 2 would hate him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

cml387 wrote: »
    That annoyingly smelly piece of dogsh!t that's stuck to your shoe that you just can't clean off...that's Colm McGregor.

That was the Captains name on our Ryanair flight yesterday. He was nice alright but dunno if he'd be the most popular person in Ireland tbh..

I went to college with his daughter, who was really lovely. I'm still not familiar with John Creedon though, everyone else in college seemed to know who he was. Jesus it's 18 years ago now :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭511

I'd say Michael D is in with a shout there. Not many people have a bad word to say about him

He's a fúcking eejit: http://www.rte.ie/news/2015/0904/725569-ireland-refugees/

Got that one well wrong, considering what happened in Paris, Cologne and Brussels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭MyStubbleItches

I went to college with his daughter, who was really lovely. I'm still not familiar with John Creedon though, everyone else in college seemed to know who he was. Jesus it's 18 years ago now :(

Even if you're not aware of his radio show, you might know him from RTE's Wild Atlantic Way and, more recently, Ireland's Ancient East series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Yeah, Creedo is a good shout. Very popular, wide range of interests.
    Cork City fan.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭Motivator

As far as most popular goes, i'd reckon Michael Lyster from the Sunday Game is right up there. Comes across as very likeable, good at his job, unpretentious, enthusiastic, usually in good form.. I'd find it hard to imagine someone disliking him for any reason.

Met Lyster at the All Stars a few years ago. He's a bollocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,975 ✭✭✭enricoh

Joey Dunlop or Luke Kelly?
    Never heard anyone say a bad word about either - and they'd deserve a clatter if they did!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Wildlife Actor

2 questions being mixed up: who is the most popular person vs who should be. I've met a few of the people mentioned and some comments are way off the mark. Clearly some pr!cks have clearly fooled a lot of people with their pr and some great people could do with a pr agent (if they cared).

Nobody can know who should be the most popular.

In his day, Daniel O Connell was probably more popular than anybody before or since (and the population was higher then too!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Apple's Finance Dept Manager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

Katie Taylor is certainly up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭jpm4

Denis Irwin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Michael Collins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Michael D. Higgins. He had over a million votes by the final count in 2011. And he's done a great job as president.

The fact that the vast majority of those who dislike him are dreadful right-wing cranks and bores is just the icing on the cake.

• Registered Users Posts: 941 ✭✭✭pheasant tail

Dermot Morgan will forever be a legend in this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭shaunr68

Dermot Morgan will forever be a legend in this country

Him, and another genius taken too soon, Phil Lynott

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Wildlife Actor

RayM wrote: »
    Michael D. Higgins. He had over a million votes by the final count in 2011. And he's done a great job as president.
    A quarter of that million were fourth preferences

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,688 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

enricoh wrote: »
    Joey Dunlop or Luke Kelly?
    Never heard anyone say a bad word about either - and they'd deserve a clatter if they did!

50,000 people showed up for Joey Dunlops funeral which really showed what he meant to so many people. I doubt we will ever see a funeral in Ireland so large, I certainly couldnt imagine 50,000 showing up for any of the names mentioned so far on this thread.

Muahahaha wrote: »
    50,000 people showed up for Joey Dunlops funeral which really showed what he meant to so many people. I doubt we will ever see a funeral in Ireland so large, I certainly couldnt imagine 50,000 showing up for any of the names mentioned so far on this thread.

Half a million turned up to Michael Collins but that was to be expected given the times i suppose. :)

In modern times it is tbf hard to envisage who would command such a huge funeral other than Dunlop.

The fact that the vast majority of those who dislike him are dreadful right-wing cranks and bores is just the icing on the cake.

He seems like a nice harmless twit, before the presidential election his political cv was remarkably thin for all his years in politics. I think he recited a few poems on the Late Late and went to Galway United games.

Where did you get the stat about most who dislike him being cranks and bores? It sounds like silly nonsense.

What has he done? Stayed out of trouble, opened a few nursing homes, did not embarrass himself during the Centenary..........

The man is a glorified champagne socialist , a not in my back garden type.

Eh John Hume will get a massive turn out. Hell, even "Jarry" might be able to sell tickets in Anderstown for his,

George Best's funeral took place at Stormont. 100,000 came out along the route, some of it was on BBC tv, LIVE!!!. 25,000 stood outside Stormont during the ceremony.

He seems like a nice harmless twit, before the presidential election his political cv was remarkably thin for all his years in politics. I think he recited a few poems on the Late Late and went to Galway United games.

Where did you get the stat about most who dislike him being cranks and bores? It sounds like silly nonsense.

So was Brian Cowen's and it never stopped him from being Taoiseach, alas, by default and never appointed by the public

Says a lot when Michael Twee was not given a post under the FG Labour Government and was overlooked by a blown in for the 1990 and 1997 Presidential Election

Twee will get credit for his work as the Minister for the Arts - getting the likes of Braveheart etc to Ireland. He will rightly be credited with removing Conor Cruise O'Brien's censorship rules on Sinn Féin, and playing a role in the rise of T na G

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

Lt Dan wrote: »
    Says a lot when Michael Twee was not given a post under the FG Labour Government and was overlooked by a blown in for the 1990 and 1997 Presidential Election

Well as a former FFer, I'm sure he was delighted to serve under a FF Taoiseach :pac:

I don't think it's fair re him being overlooked. In 1990 Mary R was (and still is) streets ahead of him in pretty much every way, it would have been madness to select him. And for 1997 I don't think Labour even put forward any candidate. 2011 was more of a return to what the Presidency has traditionally been, a retirement home for establishment politicians. He fit the bill perfectly and although I spoiled my ballot, he probably was marginally the best of a bad lot. Even so he made heavy weather of it.

Motivator wrote: »
    Met Lyster at the All Stars a few years ago. He's a bollocks.

Haha, the plot thickens :p Possible he had an off day or maybe he is actually not as nice a guy as he seems on tv!

Someone mentioned Denis Irwin, great shout. While he might not be in the public eye much or even well known by people under the age of 23/24, I would guess that among those who know of him, few would have any negative opinions of him. Comes across as a mans man, mild-mannered guy, no fuss or pretension - great footballer too and while people recognise this he seems to get forgotten about a bit - probably what he'd prefer though in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

That docu 'Road' is one of the most amazing I've seen. Not to ruin it for anyone, but the nephew down in the shed straight after the ould lad (Joey's brother) was killed... just couldn't process that. They were so different to the average person.