Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Slane 2017

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭Baraics Pollox

Can feel the excitement building here!

Not getting much done in work, plan on bailing early, getting home, load up the car with the camping sh?te and hitting the road via Tesco to buy ice for the beer and burger storage :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

ILikeBoats wrote: »
    I tend to get a shoulder and some of those empty travel shampoo bottles you get in Boots. Split the booze over the 4 bottles and hide in different places on one's body. The security will more than likely find one and be content with taking that off you. I think in 2011 they found 2 of them!

I'm thinking a zip-lock bag or two.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,053 ✭✭✭D.Q

tesco do these cheap sandwich bags, very light material. No zip locks or anything. Just little small clear sandwich bags. Triple wrap your spirits, place it south.

Because there's no zip locks etc, it's very easy to walk with the bags down the jocks. You can be confident it won't burst, and even if it does, it'd triple wrapped. I generally put just under 500ml

Keep a spare bottle cap in the back pocket.

Once inside buy a pint and a bottle of coke. Drink the pint, drink/pour out the coke. Rip the bags into the empty pint glass. Pour it from the pint glass into the empty bottle of coke.

So youre now left with 500ml of spirits, and an empty glass for mixing. Buy your mixers from the ice cream vans etc that never have long queues.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,440 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

D.Q wrote: »
    tesco do these cheap sandwich bags, very light material. No zip locks or anything. Just little small clear sandwich bags. Triple wrap your spirits, place it south.

Because there's no zip locks etc, it's very easy to walk with the bags down the jocks. You can be confident it won't burst, and even if it does, it'd triple wrapped. I generally put just under 500ml

Once inside buy a pint and a bottle of coke. Drink the pint, drink/pour out the coke. Rip the bags into the empty pint glass. Pour it from the pint glass into the empty bottle of coke.

So youre now left with 500ml of spirits, and an empty glass for mixing. Buy your mixers from the ice cream vans etc that never have long queues.

You are a pro !!
    You won the thread !! Chapeau :D

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users Posts: 6,053 ✭✭✭D.Q

greenspurs wrote: »
    You are a pro !!
    You won the thread !! Chapeau :D

I'll see you in the ice cream van queue haha

• Registered Users Posts: 4,146 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

Buy your mixers from the ice cream vans etc that never have long queues.
    never use to :D

Ill buy yaa a 99 !! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

A seasoned professional.
    I bring the cap and knew about the ice cream vans...sandwich bags are a new concept!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

I was going to have the zip locked liquid in the hood of my rain coat which I will be carrying. Certainly more flexibility without the zip lock itself.

Maybe I'll do both. Throw enough poo at the wall. Some of it will stick :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭con___manx1

threein99 wrote: »
    30 each, that's what I paid

I have two friends that paid for tickets yesterday but thet could only get the 5 o clock bus I'll pm u there number and you can give them a text. I'd say they would take them for sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 RedMarko

tesco do these cheap sandwich bags, very light material. No zip locks or anything. Just little small clear sandwich bags. Triple wrap your spirits, place it south. .....

An old favourite of ours was Capri Suns..... Buy a 10 pack, small hole in bottom & empty them out, refill with syringe from favourite spirit bottle, cover hole with tape and put in a bag with a couple of ham rolls and a packet of crisps. What will security think - innocent picnic or Scotch Fest??! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Le Bruise

RedMarko wrote: »
    An old favourite of ours was Capri Suns..... Buy a 10 pack, small hole in bottom & empty them out, refill with syringe from favourite spirit bottle, cover hole with tape and put in a bag with a couple of ham rolls and a packet of crisps. What will security think - innocent picnic or Scotch Fest??! :D

Only issue with that is that, due to the strive for as much profit as possible, they don't let any food or drink in (bar sealed 500 ml water bottles)!:(

A refillable screw cap capri-sun pouch down the jocks is a fairly fail-safe way of smuggling sauce in.....I say as I get escorted from the venue by security!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 13,164 ✭✭✭✭sammyjo90

Was gonna go with the larger ones with the screw cap lid myself!
    Edit:
    Le Bruise wrote: »
    A refillable screw cap capri-sun pouch down the jocks is a fairly fail-safe way of smuggling sauce in.....I say as I get escorted from the venue by security!
    great minds :D

• Registered Users Posts: 12 RedMarko

Only issue with that is that, due to the strive for as much profit as possible, they don't let any food or drink in (bar sealed 500 ml water bottles)!:(

A refillable screw cap capri-sun pouch down the jocks is a fairly fail-safe way of smuggling sauce in.....I say as I get escorted from the venue by security!:D

Jaysus it really has become more and more of a cash grab as they years go on! How can you hold a public event in Ireland that does not allow hang sangwiches?! :eek::D

I just got a text from our (private) bus company to say Gardai have been on to say they'll be enforcing the drink ban on all busses. Bastards. Need to get it supped up by Drogheda so!

Surely in the days of trying to eliminate drink driving, they should be allowing those of us choosing to take a bus the courtesy of allowing us get bladdered en-route?!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭dbagman

They just did a sound check. I'm working on the building site in the farmyard right next to the castle and we all legged it down to watch. You think they'd let us take a pic. Didn't appear to be anyone actually playing though. Soon as we got down they stopped the music. Miserable sh1tes . Place looks amazing though. Hopefully for anyone going you get the weather. It's unreal today.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭dbagman

As sure enough the minute we bail back up site the music starts again.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,694 ✭✭✭ciaran76

Great idea.

Just read the email they sent there and I notice this...

NO ALCOHOL OR FOOD is permitted to be brought into the venue.

Can you not bring in any food really?

• Registered Users Posts: 483 ✭✭BornIn84

They prefer to maximise their profit.

I'm just hoping i can bring cans onto the bus to be drank outside the venue.

dbagman wrote: »
    They just did a sound check. I'm working on the building site in the farmyard right next to the castle and we all legged it down to watch. You think they'd let us take a pic. Didn't appear to be anyone actually playing though. Soon as we got down they stopped the music. Miserable sh1tes . Place looks amazing though. Hopefully for anyone going you get the weather. It's unreal today.

Still looking ok weather wise for the actual gig. It's the morning's downpours that'll do the damage unfortunately. Hopefully the ground has had enough dry days to take the rain without turning into a complete quagmire (giggity).

• Registered Users Posts: 4,694 ✭✭✭ciaran76

BornIn84 wrote: »

This was also in the email I just got from Ticketmaster!

There will be a strict no alcohol policy implemented on all public transport & private buses travelling to the venue.

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭Baraics Pollox

I have access to sealed caps in work that would appear original when screwed onto a water bottle. The only thing is when they'd unscrew the cap going in they'd wonder where the whiff of spirits came from :P

I think the "package pouch" method sounds solid and doesn't require your spirits to look like water

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭DogSlySmile

I just got a text from our (private) bus company to say Gardai have been on to say they'll be enforcing the drink ban on all busses. Bastards. Need to get it supped up by Drogheda so!

Surely in the days of trying to eliminate drink driving, they should be allowing those of us choosing to take a bus the courtesy of allowing us get bladdered en-route?!

Has this been confirmed? Cant find anything about it online, and no email received from Ticketmaster/mcd about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

I wonder how they enforce it without actually checking every bus.
    I guess the drivers won't be willing to take the chance

I have access to sealed caps in work that would appear original when screwed onto a water bottle. The only thing is when they'd unscrew the cap going in they'd wonder where the whiff of spirits came from :P

I think the "package pouch" method sounds solid and doesn't require your spirits to look like water

Absolutely....and far less conspicuous than a glass naggin or hip flask (that could set off the metal detectors should they scan you)!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 238 ✭✭wacotaco

BornIn84 wrote: »

I hope to bring a big bag of cans on

• Registered Users Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭klose

With the amount of buses going to the concert not a chance they can enforce it.

• Registered Users Posts: 242 ✭✭Goreme

Capslock wrote: »
    Excitement kicking in now, cant wait :)
    I see there are only 3 Bars open though...I haven't been to Slane in a long time, but is 3 enough? :ermm:
    Not according to Bruce's book. He said he was terrified due to the amount of drunken idiots pushing at the front. He was going to walk off at one stage.

For sure, its in his book about how he feared for crowd safety, and on the day you could tell that he was very nervous and concerned about safety in the crowd. He had never played to anything remotely like the size and uncontrolled crowd he saw in Slane. There was 100k+ crowd and no pit/crowd barrier to take the crowd strain. He did ask several times for the crowd to take it easy and move back a bit. As for alcohol, in those days concerts weren't massive drink/drug fests they are not, so lack of large number of pissed up fans may have helped crowd safety in the end and there were no serious casualties in the crowd and the crowd helped each other (don't know about people swimming the river that day though?).

I will say this. I wonder if his concern and the bands concern many have affected them a bit.Whilst the concert was good. Many of the RDS and even last year's Croke Park concerts were better.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭wawaman

klose wrote: »
    With the amount of buses going to the concert not a chance they can enforce it.

yeah they roll this out for every large outdoor gig. unless there is a guard on every bus or an employee on each bus whose job it is to stop a bus load of people drinking then no way can it be enforced

• Registered Users Posts: 242 ✭✭Goreme

wacotaco wrote: »
    I hope to bring a big bag of cans on

I read in the local Meath paper at the time about the Eminem gig, the crowd - being on the young side and used to festivals where they allow each person to bring in a slab of cans - in the end the Guards just gave up and were letting people bring in slabs of cans to Slane :p:)

Is Slane girl going ??

Asking for a friend ........ :P :D